Maine Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Maine nurse-midwives must complete 50 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Maine State Board of Nursing.
Maine licenses the nurse-midwife as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse. 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) states that advanced practice registered nurse includes a certified nurse practitioner, a certified nurse midwife, a certified clinical nurse specialist and a certified nurse anesthetist licensed under the chapter. A first Maine nursing license runs at least one year and no more than two years depending on the licensee's birth date. After the first renewal, the license is renewed every two years on or before the licensee's birthday, and 32 M.R.S. 2206 states that the renewed license runs two years expiring on the anniversary of the applicant's birth. There is no grace period: a license not renewed on or before the birthday in the year it is due lapses, and practice may not continue until the lapse is resolved with the board. Renewal is online only and has been mandatory since January 1, 2020. Separately from the renewal date, national certification must stay current: the board states that a nurse who does not recertify by the expiration date of the certification is not permitted to practise even while holding a current APRN license, because certification is a requirement for licensure, and practice may resume only once the recertifying body has granted recertification and documentation reaches the board. That exception does not apply to an APRN initially approved by the board before January 1, 1996.
Summary
Maine nurse-midwives must complete 50 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Maine State Board of Nursing. Maine licenses the nurse-midwife as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse. 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) states that advanced practice registered nurse includes a certified nurse practitioner, a certified nurse midwife, a certified clinical nurse specialist and a certified nurse anesthetist licensed under the chapter. A first Maine nursing license runs at least one year and no more than two years depending on the licensee's birth date. After the first renewal, the license is renewed every two years on or before the licensee's birthday, and 32 M.R.S. 2206 states that the renewed license runs two years expiring on the anniversary of the applicant's birth. There is no grace period: a license not renewed on or before the birthday in the year it is due lapses, and practice may not continue until the lapse is resolved with the board. Renewal is online only and has been mandatory since January 1, 2020. Separately from the renewal date, national certification must stay current: the board states that a nurse who does not recertify by the expiration date of the certification is not permitted to practise even while holding a current APRN license, because certification is a requirement for licensure, and practice may resume only once the recertifying body has granted recertification and documentation reaches the board. That exception does not apply to an APRN initially approved by the board before January 1, 1996. Maine also mandates specific subjects. Pharmacology continuing education for a non-prescribing nurse-midwife: 15 CEUs every renewal cycle (A certified nurse midwife who has not prescribed since the last renewal, or since initial Maine licensure in the case of a first renewal. A nurse-midwife who does prescribe is not asked for it.). Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.
Maine Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth dateFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 50 CEUs |
| Category 1 minimum | 30 CEUs |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Category II activities, up to 20 of the 50, documented as specific activities with the date and the time spent on each rather than described generally |
The Maine registered nurse license carries no continuing education requirement of its own, so nothing is layered underneath and nothing runs on a parallel clock: the advanced practice figure is the whole state obligation for a nurse-midwife. An APRN seeking renewal must have completed, during the two year period, a minimum of 50 CEUs in nursing, medicine or allied health in the area of practice for which the individual is licensed as an APRN. At least 30 of the 50 must be Category I, since the board tells audited licensees not to submit fewer than 30 Category I credits toward the 50. Education must be targeted at the APRN's level of practice and must fall within the board approved clinical specialty; general professional development does not count, and neither does education outside the specialty. Credits must fall inside the two year period of licensure, so nothing carries forward. An APRN licensed in two advanced practice categories accumulates 50 CEUs per specialty in principle, but the board states that overlapping content applies to both, so holding two specialties does not automatically mean 100 CEUs. The board writes the unit as CEUs and states no conversion factor to contact hours, although in its prescriptive practice answer it describes the same pharmacology requirement as 15 contact hours, so the two words appear to be used interchangeably rather than at the common 1 CEU to 10 contact hours ratio. At the first renewal the online system recognizes that the APRN has not been licensed for a full two years and does not ask about continuing education. The one exception is the pharmacology requirement below, which the board says a nurse-midwife who has not prescribed since initial Maine licensure will still be asked for at that first renewal. American Midwifery Certification Board certification is required continuously to hold the license, and Maine does not credit it against the 50 CEUs, so AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded here.
Required CE topics for Maine certified nurse-midwifes
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacology continuing education for a non-prescribing nurse-midwifeMaine grants prescribing authority to the nurse-midwife automatically: 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) says a certified nurse practitioner or a certified nurse midwife who qualifies as an advanced practice registered nurse may prescribe and dispense drugs or devices in accordance with board rules, and the board states that NPs and CNMs receive authorization to prescribe when they are licensed. Because the authority is granted whether or not it is used, the board requires a nurse-midwife who does not prescribe to keep the pharmacology current instead: if an NP or CNM does not prescribe, they must submit documentation of 15 contact hours of continuing education in pharmacology every two years when they renew. The board states this requirement for nurse practitioners and nurse-midwives by name in its prescriptive practice answer, which is what makes the scope certain for this credential. The hours must have been completed in the last 24 months. | 15 CEUs | Every renewal | A certified nurse midwife who has not prescribed since the last renewal, or since initial Maine licensure in the case of a first renewal. A nurse-midwife who does prescribe is not asked for it. | 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Continuing education is requested as part of an audit rather than filed with the renewal. An APRN selected during online renewal may upload the documents or mail, email or fax them to the board. The submission lists Category I and Category II topics, with certificates for Category I and outlines where a topic needs clarification, and a list of specific Category II activities including the date and the time spent on each. Category II activities must not be generalized. Examples of education that qualifies are in Maine State Board of Nursing Chapter 8, Section 8. An APRN who does not meet the requirement at renewal writes an explanation and the application goes to the board for review. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Maine CNM need to renew?
- Maine nurse-midwives must complete 50 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Maine State Board of Nursing. The Maine registered nurse license carries no continuing education requirement of its own, so nothing is layered underneath and nothing runs on a parallel clock: the advanced practice figure is the whole state obligation for a nurse-midwife. An APRN seeking renewal must have completed, during the two year period, a minimum of 50 CEUs in nursing, medicine or allied health in the area of practice for which the individual is licensed as an APRN. At least 30 of the 50 must be Category I, since the board tells audited licensees not to submit fewer than 30 Category I credits toward the 50. Education must be targeted at the APRN's level of practice and must fall within the board approved clinical specialty; general professional development does not count, and neither does education outside the specialty. Credits must fall inside the two year period of licensure, so nothing carries forward. An APRN licensed in two advanced practice categories accumulates 50 CEUs per specialty in principle, but the board states that overlapping content applies to both, so holding two specialties does not automatically mean 100 CEUs. The board writes the unit as CEUs and states no conversion factor to contact hours, although in its prescriptive practice answer it describes the same pharmacology requirement as 15 contact hours, so the two words appear to be used interchangeably rather than at the common 1 CEU to 10 contact hours ratio. At the first renewal the online system recognizes that the APRN has not been licensed for a full two years and does not ask about continuing education. The one exception is the pharmacology requirement below, which the board says a nurse-midwife who has not prescribed since initial Maine licensure will still be asked for at that first renewal. American Midwifery Certification Board certification is required continuously to hold the license, and Maine does not credit it against the 50 CEUs, so AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded here.
- How often does a Maine CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Maine renew every two years. Maine licenses the nurse-midwife as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse. 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) states that advanced practice registered nurse includes a certified nurse practitioner, a certified nurse midwife, a certified clinical nurse specialist and a certified nurse anesthetist licensed under the chapter. A first Maine nursing license runs at least one year and no more than two years depending on the licensee's birth date. After the first renewal, the license is renewed every two years on or before the licensee's birthday, and 32 M.R.S. 2206 states that the renewed license runs two years expiring on the anniversary of the applicant's birth. There is no grace period: a license not renewed on or before the birthday in the year it is due lapses, and practice may not continue until the lapse is resolved with the board. Renewal is online only and has been mandatory since January 1, 2020. Separately from the renewal date, national certification must stay current: the board states that a nurse who does not recertify by the expiration date of the certification is not permitted to practise even while holding a current APRN license, because certification is a requirement for licensure, and practice may resume only once the recertifying body has granted recertification and documentation reaches the board. That exception does not apply to an APRN initially approved by the board before January 1, 1996.
- What specific CE topics are required for Maine nurse-midwives?
- Pharmacology continuing education for a non-prescribing nurse-midwife: 15 CEUs every renewal cycle (A certified nurse midwife who has not prescribed since the last renewal, or since initial Maine licensure in the case of a first renewal. A nurse-midwife who does prescribe is not asked for it.). Citations: pharmacology continuing education for a non-prescribing nurse-midwife (32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A)).
- Do Maine nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Continuing education is requested as part of an audit rather than filed with the renewal. An APRN selected during online renewal may upload the documents or mail, email or fax them to the board. The submission lists Category I and Category II topics, with certificates for Category I and outlines where a topic needs clarification, and a list of specific Category II activities including the date and the time spent on each. Category II activities must not be generalized. Examples of education that qualifies are in Maine State Board of Nursing Chapter 8, Section 8. An APRN who does not meet the requirement at renewal writes an explanation and the application goes to the board for review.
- Is the first Maine CNM renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Maine does not require continuing education for a CNM's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) FAQs, Maine State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- License FAQs, Maine State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- License Renewal and Reactivation, Maine State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- 32 M.R.S. 2102, definitions including advanced practice registered nursing and the certified nurse midwifeStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- 32 M.R.S. 2206, renewalsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Certified Midwife and Certified Professional Midwife licensing, Maine Board of Complementary Health Care Providers, Office of Professional and Occupational RegulationState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Maine State Board of Nursing home pageState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Maine names the certified nurse midwife in statute as one of the four APRN types, in 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A), and the board's APRN pages treat CNM as one of the four advanced practice categories it licenses. There is no separate state nurse-midwife license and no separate hour count for the role: the 50 CEU figure is the shared APRN figure. Maine is a state where reading the wrong midwifery rule would be easy, because the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation's Board of Complementary Health Care Providers licenses the Certified Midwife and the Certified Professional Midwife, a completely separate board from the Board of Nursing with its own laws, rules and continuing education pages. Nothing from that board was used. Every figure here came from the Maine State Board of Nursing's own APRN and licensure pages and from Title 32 Chapter 31, the nurses and nursing chapter. The clearest nurse-midwife specific finding is the scope of the pharmacology requirement, and it resolves a question the existing me-crna record had to leave open. That record notes that the board's general APRN continuing education answer states the 15 pharmacology CEUs for APRNs at large while the board's prescriptive practice answer states it only for NPs and CNMs, and that 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) grants prescribing and dispensing authority only to a certified nurse practitioner or certified nurse midwife, leaving a nurse anesthetist's exposure unsettled. For the nurse-midwife there is no ambiguity in either direction: the statute grants the authority and the board's answer names the CNM explicitly, so the requirement applies, scoped to a nurse-midwife who has not prescribed. This record therefore records that topic with a settled scope rather than a caveat. Two other board answers are nurse-midwife specific and worth a reader knowing: the board states that Maine law does not require physician or nurse practitioner supervision of a CNM, unlike the 24 months of supervised practice a nurse practitioner must complete, and a CNM may apply for a DEA number on licensure and choose which of schedules II through V to prescribe. AMCB certification is required continuously rather than credited as hours, and lapsing it bars practice even on an unexpired APRN license. Advanced practice continuing education in Maine neither stacks nor runs in parallel, because the registered nurse license carries no continuing education at all. Nothing read contradicts the existing me-rn, me-np or me-crna records on cycle, basis, unit or hour total. Several fields are null because no source stated them: there is no cap on self study or online CEUs, no stated licensee record retention period, and no stated live or interactive minimum. The unit is recorded as the board writes it, CEU, and contact_hour_equivalent is left null because the board states no conversion; its interchangeable use of CEU and contact hour in the pharmacology answer is described in the notes rather than treated as a formula. The board's Chapter 8 rules, which contain the examples of qualifying education, are published as a document rather than a web page and were not downloaded under the no download rule. Source URL corrected 2026-09-10: the /professions/complementary-health-care-providers path returns 404. The board now sits at /professions/board-of-complementary-health-care-providers, and the citation was moved to that boards Certified Midwife and Certified Professional Midwife licensing page, which is the page that actually establishes the point this source is cited for, that Maines non-nurse midwives are licensed by a different board than the nurse-midwife.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Maine State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.