Skip to main content
CredNet

Maine Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Maine does not require continuing education for PT license renewal, which happens every year.

The physical therapist license renews annually on March 31 through the OPOR online renewal system; the annual renewal fee is $25 and reminders are emailed at least 30 days before expiration. A license not renewed by March 31 expires; it can still be renewed for 90 days with a $50 late fee, after which the applicant must meet the requirements for a new license (32 MRSA 3116).

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Maine does not require continuing education for PT license renewal, which happens every year. The physical therapist license renews annually on March 31 through the OPOR online renewal system; the annual renewal fee is $25 and reminders are emailed at least 30 days before expiration. A license not renewed by March 31 expires; it can still be renewed for 90 days with a $50 late fee, after which the applicant must meet the requirements for a new license (32 MRSA 3116).

Maine Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

The board's FAQ states: Maine Law does not require continuing education for this profession. No CE hours are required to renew a Maine PT license. Note that 32 MRSA 3116-B (enacted by PL 2023, c. 317) directs the board to establish continuing education requirements by rule; as of this verification the board's rule chapters (02-393 Chapters 1 through 7) contain no CE chapter and the board's licensing and FAQ pages still state none is required. Licensees should watch for future rulemaking.

Required CE topics for Maine physical therapists

The Maine Board of Examiners in Physical Therapy (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Maine PT need to renew?
Maine does not require continuing education for PT license renewal, which happens every year. The board's FAQ states: Maine Law does not require continuing education for this profession. No CE hours are required to renew a Maine PT license. Note that 32 MRSA 3116-B (enacted by PL 2023, c. 317) directs the board to establish continuing education requirements by rule; as of this verification the board's rule chapters (02-393 Chapters 1 through 7) contain no CE chapter and the board's licensing and FAQ pages still state none is required. Licensees should watch for future rulemaking.
How often does a Maine PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Maine renew every year. The physical therapist license renews annually on March 31 through the OPOR online renewal system; the annual renewal fee is $25 and reminders are emailed at least 30 days before expiration. A license not renewed by March 31 expires; it can still be renewed for 90 days with a $50 late fee, after which the applicant must meet the requirements for a new license (32 MRSA 3116).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Superseded text noted: the board's 1999 fee chapter (02-393 Ch. 7) lists the PT renewal fee as $60.00 biennially, while the board's current licensing page says the license renews annually on March 31 for $25. This is not treated as an open conflict because the Secretary of State's special notice states that board fee chapters are superseded by 02-041 Chapter 10 under 10 MRSA 8003(2-A)(D). Renewal date, fee, and late-fee terms come from the board's PT/PTA licensing page and 32 MRSA 3116; the no-CE statement comes from the board FAQ and is consistent with the absence of any CE chapter among the seven 02-393 rule chapters listed on the Secretary of State rules page. 32 MRSA 3116-B (2023) authorizes future CE rulemaking; no adopted rule was found. Chapter 3 states the 90-day late renewal window with a $10 late fee, which conflicts with the $50 late fee on the board page; the board page figure is used because the rule chapter dates from 1999 and fees are now set departmentally. Documentation fields are null because no CE is required; Chapter 6 (Code of Ethics) still refers to providing documentation of CE when requested, which appears to be legacy text.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Maine Board of Examiners in Physical Therapy (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.