Maine Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements
Maine physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine.
Licenses are issued for two years and expire on the last day of the physician's birth month. A physician born in an even numbered year renews in even numbered years and a physician born in an odd numbered year renews in odd numbered years. The board notifies each licensee at least 60 days before expiration. A license that is not renewed by the expiration date immediately and automatically expires; it can be reinstated within 90 days on payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee, and after 90 days it lapses.
Summary
Maine physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine. Licenses are issued for two years and expire on the last day of the physician's birth month. A physician born in an even numbered year renews in even numbered years and a physician born in an odd numbered year renews in odd numbered years. The board notifies each licensee at least 60 days before expiration. A license that is not renewed by the expiration date immediately and automatically expires; it can be reinstated within 90 days on payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee, and after 90 days it lapses. Maine also mandates specific subjects. CME on the prescribing of opioid medication: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (licensees whose scope of practice includes prescribing opioid medication; the statute makes the training a condition of prescribing opioid medication).
Maine Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 40 CME credits |
| Category 1 minimum | 40 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | ABMS specialty board certification or recertification within the 24 months preceding renewal: 25 credit hours; Papers or articles published in peer reviewed medical journals indexed in Index Medicus: 10 credit hours per article, one article per year; Poster preparation for an exhibit at a meeting designated for AMA Category 1 credit, with a published abstract: 5 credit hours per poster, one poster per year; Teaching or presentation in activities designated for AMA Category 1 credit: 2 credit hours per hour of preparation and presentation of new and original material, up to 10 hours per year; Medically related degrees such as an MPH or PhD: 25 credit hours per year; Postgraduate training such as an internship, residency, or fellowship: 50 credit hours per year; AMA Physician's Recognition Award, membership in the American Academy of Family Physicians, or the ACOG Professional Development Program completed in the 24 months preceding renewal: 25 credit hours per year |
Each physician with an active status license must complete a minimum of 40 credit hours of Category 1 CME during each biennial licensing period, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Category 1 means programs sponsored or co-sponsored by an organization accredited by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the ACCME, or the Committee on Continuing Medical Education of the Maine Medical Association, plus the equivalencies listed in alternatives_accepted. Interstate Telemedicine Consultative Registration holders are excepted. CME is prorated during the first licensure period. An applicant for relicensure who has not completed the CME is issued an inactive license unless the board Secretary grants an extension or deferment of up to six months for prolonged illness, undue hardship, or other extenuating circumstances. CME requirements are stayed for physicians called to active military duty, and active duty National Guard or Armed Forces Reserve members are exempt during a deployment longer than 30 days and for six months after release. Carryover of unused hours is not addressed in the rule and is left null.
Required CE topics for Maine physician (md)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CME on the prescribing of opioid medicationThree hours of Category 1 CME every two years on the prescribing of opioid medication. The hours count toward the 40 hour biennial total. | 3 CME credits | Every renewal | Licensees whose scope of practice includes prescribing opioid medication; the statute makes the training a condition of prescribing opioid medication | 32 M.R.S. 3300-F(4); 02-373 C.M.R. ch. 1, sec. 11(1)(B); Board Rule Chapter 21 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Category 1 CME must be sponsored or co-sponsored by an organization or institution accredited by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the ACCME, or the Committee on Continuing Medical Education of the Maine Medical Association, and be identified as such by the sponsor. Certificates are not filed with the renewal application: board staff perform random audits and the board audits 10 percent of renewal applicants each month, at which point a certificate of completion must be produced. The rule does not state how long records must be kept. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Maine MD need to renew?
- Maine physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine. Each physician with an active status license must complete a minimum of 40 credit hours of Category 1 CME during each biennial licensing period, so category_1_minimum equals the total. Category 1 means programs sponsored or co-sponsored by an organization accredited by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the ACCME, or the Committee on Continuing Medical Education of the Maine Medical Association, plus the equivalencies listed in alternatives_accepted. Interstate Telemedicine Consultative Registration holders are excepted. CME is prorated during the first licensure period. An applicant for relicensure who has not completed the CME is issued an inactive license unless the board Secretary grants an extension or deferment of up to six months for prolonged illness, undue hardship, or other extenuating circumstances. CME requirements are stayed for physicians called to active military duty, and active duty National Guard or Armed Forces Reserve members are exempt during a deployment longer than 30 days and for six months after release. Carryover of unused hours is not addressed in the rule and is left null.
- How often does a Maine MD license need to be renewed?
- Physician (MD) licenses in Maine renew every two years. Licenses are issued for two years and expire on the last day of the physician's birth month. A physician born in an even numbered year renews in even numbered years and a physician born in an odd numbered year renews in odd numbered years. The board notifies each licensee at least 60 days before expiration. A license that is not renewed by the expiration date immediately and automatically expires; it can be reinstated within 90 days on payment of the renewal fee plus a late fee, and after 90 days it lapses.
- What specific CE topics are required for Maine physicians (MD)?
- CME on the prescribing of opioid medication: 3 CME credits every renewal cycle (licensees whose scope of practice includes prescribing opioid medication; the statute makes the training a condition of prescribing opioid medication). Citations: CME on the prescribing of opioid medication (32 M.R.S. 3300-F(4); 02-373 C.M.R. ch. 1, sec. 11(1)(B); Board Rule Chapter 21).
- Do Maine physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Category 1 CME must be sponsored or co-sponsored by an organization or institution accredited by the AMA Council on Medical Education, the ACCME, or the Committee on Continuing Medical Education of the Maine Medical Association, and be identified as such by the sponsor. Certificates are not filed with the renewal application: board staff perform random audits and the board audits 10 percent of renewal applicants each month, at which point a certificate of completion must be produced. The rule does not state how long records must be kept.
- Is the first Maine MD renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Maine applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- License FAQ, Maine Board of Licensure in MedicineState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- MD License, Maine Board of Licensure in MedicineState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- 32 M.R.S. 3280-A, Biennial renewal of licenses; qualification; fees; reinstatement after lapseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- 32 M.R.S. 3300-F, Requirements regarding prescription of opioid medicationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- 02-373 C.M.R. ch. 1, sec. 11, Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirements and Definitions (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
Maine runs two separate physician boards. This record covers only the Board of Licensure in Medicine, which licenses MDs under 32 M.R.S. ch. 48; DOs are licensed by the Maine Board of Osteopathic Licensure under 32 M.R.S. ch. 36 and have a different CME total (100 hours per two years, with 40 hours of osteopathic medical education), so the two records share no values other than the birth month renewal structure and the three hour opioid prescribing requirement. The 40 hour Category 1 total and the opioid requirement were read on the board's own License FAQ page and confirmed in Board Rule Chapter 1 section 11; the biennial birth month schedule was read in 32 M.R.S. 3280-A. The board's rules are posted on maine.gov only as PDFs, so the rule text was read from the Cornell LII mirror of the Code of Maine Rules and is cited as a third party summary. The scope of the opioid CME (prescribers only) comes from the statute; the board rule states it without a scope limit, so a non prescribing physician should confirm with the board. Record retention period and carryover were not stated in the sources read. The two Maine physician boards have a merger feasibility workgroup underway, noted on both board websites.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.