Skip to main content
CredNet

Maine Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Maine nurse anesthetists must complete 50 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Maine State Board of Nursing.

Maine licenses the nurse anesthetist as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse; 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) names the certified nurse anesthetist as one of the four APRN types. A first Maine nursing license runs at least one year and no more than two years depending on the licensee's birth date. After the first renewal the license is renewed every two years on or before the licensee's birthday, expiring on the anniversary of birth under 32 M.R.S. 2206. There is no grace period: a license not renewed on or before the birthday in the year it is due lapses, and practice must stop until the lapse is resolved with the board. Online renewal is mandatory. National certification is a condition of licensure, so a CRNA whose NBCRNA certification expires may not practice even with a current Maine APRN license until recertification is granted and documented to the board.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
50
CEUs
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Maine nurse anesthetists must complete 50 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Maine State Board of Nursing. Maine licenses the nurse anesthetist as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse; 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) names the certified nurse anesthetist as one of the four APRN types. A first Maine nursing license runs at least one year and no more than two years depending on the licensee's birth date. After the first renewal the license is renewed every two years on or before the licensee's birthday, expiring on the anniversary of birth under 32 M.R.S. 2206. There is no grace period: a license not renewed on or before the birthday in the year it is due lapses, and practice must stop until the lapse is resolved with the board. Online renewal is mandatory. National certification is a condition of licensure, so a CRNA whose NBCRNA certification expires may not practice even with a current Maine APRN license until recertification is granted and documented to the board. Maine also mandates specific subjects. Pharmacology CEUs for an APRN who has not prescribed: 15 CEUs every renewal cycle (scope for a nurse anesthetist is not settled by the sources read. The board's APRN continuing education answer is written for APRNs generally and says an APRN who has not prescribed since the last renewal, or since initial Maine licensure at a first renewal, must provide proof of 15 pharmacology CEUs completed in the last 24 months. The board's separate prescriptive practice answer states the rule only for NPs and CNMs, and 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) grants prescribing and dispensing authority only to a certified nurse practitioner or certified nurse midwife, not to a nurse anesthetist. A Maine CRNA should confirm with the board whether this applies). The first renewal is exempt.

Maine Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth dateFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle50 CEUs
Category 1 minimum30 CEUs
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesCategory II activities, up to 20 of the 50, documented as specific activities with dates and time spent rather than described generally

This is the shared APRN rule and the figure matches the Maine nurse practitioner record: the board's APRN FAQ writes the requirement for all four APRN categories together, naming CRNA, NP, CNM and CNS. An APRN seeking renewal must have completed, during the two year period, a minimum of 50 CEUs in nursing, medicine or allied health in the area of practice for which the person is licensed as an APRN. At least 30 of the 50 must be Category I; the board tells audited licensees not to submit fewer than 30 Category I credits. Education must be targeted at the APRN's level of practice and fall within the board approved clinical specialty, and general professional development does not count. An APRN licensed in two advanced practice categories accumulates 50 CEUs per specialty in principle, but the board states that overlapping content applies to both, so two specialties does not automatically mean 100. Credits must fall inside the two year period of licensure. The board writes the unit as CEUs and states no conversion to contact hours, though it uses the phrase contact hours interchangeably in its prescribing answer. At the first renewal the online system recognizes that the APRN has not been licensed for a full two years and does not ask about continuing education. The Maine registered nurse license carries no continuing education requirement, so nothing is layered underneath: the 50 CEUs are the whole obligation. Maine does not adopt NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as its requirement; it requires current national certification as a condition of licensure and counts state CEUs separately, and the four year NBCRNA cycle does not line up with the state's two year cycle.

Required CE topics for Maine certified registered nurse anesthetists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Pharmacology CEUs for an APRN who has not prescribedRecorded because the board's general APRN answer could be read to reach nurse anesthetists, and flagged because the board's specific answer does not. It functions as an alternative demonstration of pharmacology currency for a non-prescribing APRN rather than a subject mandate on every advanced practice nurse. Non-canonical topic key.15 CEUsEvery renewalScope for a nurse anesthetist is not settled by the sources read. The board's APRN continuing education answer is written for APRNs generally and says an APRN who has not prescribed since the last renewal, or since initial Maine licensure at a first renewal, must provide proof of 15 pharmacology CEUs completed in the last 24 months. The board's separate prescriptive practice answer states the rule only for NPs and CNMs, and 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) grants prescribing and dispensing authority only to a certified nurse practitioner or certified nurse midwife, not to a nurse anesthetist. A Maine CRNA should confirm with the board whether this appliesNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersContinuing education is requested as part of an audit rather than filed with the renewal. An APRN selected during online renewal may upload the documents or mail, email or fax them. The submission lists Category I and Category II topics, with certificates for Category I and outlines where a topic needs clarification, and a list of specific Category II activities including the date and the time spent on each. The board tells licensees not to generalize Category II activities, not to submit education completed for general professional development, not to submit education outside the board approved clinical specialty, not to submit fewer than 30 Category I credits, and not to submit credits falling outside the two year period of licensure. Examples of qualifying education are in Maine State Board of Nursing Chapter 8, Section 8. An APRN who does not meet the requirement at renewal writes an explanation and the application goes to the board for review.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Maine CRNA need to renew?
Maine nurse anesthetists must complete 50 CEUs every two years to renew their license with the Maine State Board of Nursing. This is the shared APRN rule and the figure matches the Maine nurse practitioner record: the board's APRN FAQ writes the requirement for all four APRN categories together, naming CRNA, NP, CNM and CNS. An APRN seeking renewal must have completed, during the two year period, a minimum of 50 CEUs in nursing, medicine or allied health in the area of practice for which the person is licensed as an APRN. At least 30 of the 50 must be Category I; the board tells audited licensees not to submit fewer than 30 Category I credits. Education must be targeted at the APRN's level of practice and fall within the board approved clinical specialty, and general professional development does not count. An APRN licensed in two advanced practice categories accumulates 50 CEUs per specialty in principle, but the board states that overlapping content applies to both, so two specialties does not automatically mean 100. Credits must fall inside the two year period of licensure. The board writes the unit as CEUs and states no conversion to contact hours, though it uses the phrase contact hours interchangeably in its prescribing answer. At the first renewal the online system recognizes that the APRN has not been licensed for a full two years and does not ask about continuing education. The Maine registered nurse license carries no continuing education requirement, so nothing is layered underneath: the 50 CEUs are the whole obligation. Maine does not adopt NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as its requirement; it requires current national certification as a condition of licensure and counts state CEUs separately, and the four year NBCRNA cycle does not line up with the state's two year cycle.
How often does a Maine CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Maine renew every two years. Maine licenses the nurse anesthetist as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse; 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) names the certified nurse anesthetist as one of the four APRN types. A first Maine nursing license runs at least one year and no more than two years depending on the licensee's birth date. After the first renewal the license is renewed every two years on or before the licensee's birthday, expiring on the anniversary of birth under 32 M.R.S. 2206. There is no grace period: a license not renewed on or before the birthday in the year it is due lapses, and practice must stop until the lapse is resolved with the board. Online renewal is mandatory. National certification is a condition of licensure, so a CRNA whose NBCRNA certification expires may not practice even with a current Maine APRN license until recertification is granted and documented to the board.
What specific CE topics are required for Maine nurse anesthetists?
Pharmacology CEUs for an APRN who has not prescribed: 15 CEUs every renewal cycle (scope for a nurse anesthetist is not settled by the sources read. The board's APRN continuing education answer is written for APRNs generally and says an APRN who has not prescribed since the last renewal, or since initial Maine licensure at a first renewal, must provide proof of 15 pharmacology CEUs completed in the last 24 months. The board's separate prescriptive practice answer states the rule only for NPs and CNMs, and 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) grants prescribing and dispensing authority only to a certified nurse practitioner or certified nurse midwife, not to a nurse anesthetist. A Maine CRNA should confirm with the board whether this applies).
Do Maine nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Continuing education is requested as part of an audit rather than filed with the renewal. An APRN selected during online renewal may upload the documents or mail, email or fax them. The submission lists Category I and Category II topics, with certificates for Category I and outlines where a topic needs clarification, and a list of specific Category II activities including the date and the time spent on each. The board tells licensees not to generalize Category II activities, not to submit education completed for general professional development, not to submit education outside the board approved clinical specialty, not to submit fewer than 30 Category I credits, and not to submit credits falling outside the two year period of licensure. Examples of qualifying education are in Maine State Board of Nursing Chapter 8, Section 8. An APRN who does not meet the requirement at renewal writes an explanation and the application goes to the board for review.
Is the first Maine CRNA renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Maine does not require continuing education for a CRNA's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Maine does not issue a distinct CRNA credential. 32 M.R.S. 2102(4-A) defines advanced practice registered nurse to include a certified nurse anesthetist alongside the certified nurse practitioner, certified nurse midwife and certified clinical nurse specialist, and the board's APRN FAQ writes the 50 CEU requirement for all four categories together, naming CRNA first. So the hour count is the shared APRN figure and matches the Maine nurse practitioner record. Two places where a nurse anesthetist differs are recorded. First, prescriptive authority: 32 M.R.S. 2102(2-A) grants prescribing and dispensing only to a certified nurse practitioner or certified nurse midwife, and the board's prescriptive practice answers name only NPs and CNMs, so the 15 pharmacology CEU rule for a non-prescribing APRN is recorded with its scope flagged as unsettled for CRNAs rather than inherited from the nurse practitioner record. This is a gap in the sources rather than a disagreement between them: the board's general APRN answer is silent on roles and its specific answer addresses only two of the four, so confidence stays high on the core figures and the ambiguity is carried in the topic's applies_to. Second, supervision: the board states that an anesthesiologist does not need to be on site when a CRNA administers anesthesia, and that for aspects of anesthesia practice requiring execution of the medical regime the CRNA is responsible and accountable to a physician or dentist. A CRNA applicant must pass the Council Certification Examination within 12 months of graduation, and one who fails the initial examination must practice under the supervision of an anesthesiologist or a CRNA and identify as a graduate nurse anesthetist. The 50 CEUs, the 30 Category I floor, the two year period, the per specialty principle, the first renewal treatment and the audit mechanics were read on the board's APRN FAQ; the biennial birthday renewal, first license length and absence of a grace period on the board's license FAQ and in 32 M.R.S. 2206. The board's underlying rule, Chapter 8, is published only as a PDF, which the no download rule excludes, so no rule section is cited and no statutory citation is recorded for the pharmacology entry. One topic key is outside the canonical list: pharmacology. The unit is recorded as ceu because that is the board's own word; the board states no contact hour conversion, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. No carryover rule and no self study cap are stated.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Maine State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.