Kansas Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Kansas nurse-midwives must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Nursing.
Kansas licenses the nurse-midwife as an advanced practice registered nurse in the nurse-midwife role, and the board's own license counts list Nurse Midwife as a separate Kansas license type. K.A.R. 60-11-113 renews the advanced practice registered nurse license on the same biennial cycle as the registered professional nurse license set by K.A.R. 60-3-108, and the board restates both rules on its information center page. The expiration date of each license is the last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs. A licensee born in an odd-numbered year renews in odd-numbered years and a licensee born in an even-numbered year renews in even-numbered years, so the cycle is two years. The renewal window opens 90 days before the expiration date. Because Kansas issues the registered nurse license and the advanced practice license separately, and because of changes made for the Nurse Licensure Compact, the board states that an APRN who also holds a Kansas RN license must file a renewal application for both licenses and should confirm that the checkout cart contains every license being renewed.
Summary
Kansas nurse-midwives must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Nursing. Kansas licenses the nurse-midwife as an advanced practice registered nurse in the nurse-midwife role, and the board's own license counts list Nurse Midwife as a separate Kansas license type. K.A.R. 60-11-113 renews the advanced practice registered nurse license on the same biennial cycle as the registered professional nurse license set by K.A.R. 60-3-108, and the board restates both rules on its information center page. The expiration date of each license is the last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs. A licensee born in an odd-numbered year renews in odd-numbered years and a licensee born in an even-numbered year renews in even-numbered years, so the cycle is two years. The renewal window opens 90 days before the expiration date. Because Kansas issues the registered nurse license and the advanced practice license separately, and because of changes made for the Nurse Licensure Compact, the board states that an APRN who also holds a Kansas RN license must file a renewal application for both licenses and should confirm that the checkout cart contains every license being renewed. Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Kansas Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Instructor credit, up to 15 of the 30 contact hours, counted once per course for preparation and presentation; College courses approved in advance through the board's Individual Offering Approval process, at 15 contact hours per college credit hour |
The board states the advanced practice figure on its own continuing nursing education page: 30 contact hours of approved continuing nursing education related to the advanced practice registered nurse role during the most recent prior license period. The same page states 30 contact hours for renewal of an RN or LPN license, with no subject restriction. Kansas licenses and renews the two credentials separately, so a nurse-midwife files two renewal applications, and no page read states whether one set of advanced practice hours satisfies both requirements. That is the open question in this state: the total obligation for a nurse-midwife holding both Kansas licenses may be 30 or 60 hours depending on how the board applies it. What the board does say is that the advanced practice hours must be role related, which general registered nurse continuing education does not necessarily satisfy, and that an advanced practice nurse's certificates must show the education was approved for advanced practice nurses or be accompanied by learning objectives. One contact hour is 50 minutes of learning. K.A.R. 60-11-113 states that contact hours above the 30 hour requirement do not carry over to the next renewal period, that an offering not previously approved by the board needs an Individual Offering Approval granted before the renewal application is submitted, that identical offerings completed within the same renewal period are not both approved, and that up to 15 hours may come from instructor credit. Continuing medical education is not acceptable for a Kansas nursing requirement unless approved through the Individual Offering Approval process. The board's first renewal exception, which waives the 30 hours when a license expires within 30 months following the initial licensure examination or within the first 9 months following reinstatement or endorsement, is written on the board's page under the RN and LPN heading rather than the advanced practice heading, so it is not recorded as applying to the advanced practice license. American Midwifery Certification Board certification is how a Kansas nurse-midwife qualifies for the license: AMCB is one of the seven national certifying organizations the board approves. Certification is a licensure condition rather than a continuing education substitute, and AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded here.
Required CE topics for Kansas certified nurse-midwifes
The Kansas State Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | The board accepts continuing nursing education from any provider approved by another state board of nursing, any provider approved by a national nursing credentialing association, and any provider approved by the Kansas State Board of Nursing (single offering providers carry an SP number, long term providers an LT number), plus individually approved offerings through the board's Individual Offering Approval process. Renewal is by attestation with hours produced on audit: the board's renewal checklist asks whether the licensee has 30 hours of continuing nursing education ready to submit if audited. If audited, the certificate or transcript must show the offering name, the provider or accrediting organization name and number, the offering date, the hours awarded, and the licensee's name and license number, and an advanced practice nurse must show the education was approved for advanced practice nurses or supply learning objectives. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Kansas CNM need to renew?
- Kansas nurse-midwives must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Nursing. The board states the advanced practice figure on its own continuing nursing education page: 30 contact hours of approved continuing nursing education related to the advanced practice registered nurse role during the most recent prior license period. The same page states 30 contact hours for renewal of an RN or LPN license, with no subject restriction. Kansas licenses and renews the two credentials separately, so a nurse-midwife files two renewal applications, and no page read states whether one set of advanced practice hours satisfies both requirements. That is the open question in this state: the total obligation for a nurse-midwife holding both Kansas licenses may be 30 or 60 hours depending on how the board applies it. What the board does say is that the advanced practice hours must be role related, which general registered nurse continuing education does not necessarily satisfy, and that an advanced practice nurse's certificates must show the education was approved for advanced practice nurses or be accompanied by learning objectives. One contact hour is 50 minutes of learning. K.A.R. 60-11-113 states that contact hours above the 30 hour requirement do not carry over to the next renewal period, that an offering not previously approved by the board needs an Individual Offering Approval granted before the renewal application is submitted, that identical offerings completed within the same renewal period are not both approved, and that up to 15 hours may come from instructor credit. Continuing medical education is not acceptable for a Kansas nursing requirement unless approved through the Individual Offering Approval process. The board's first renewal exception, which waives the 30 hours when a license expires within 30 months following the initial licensure examination or within the first 9 months following reinstatement or endorsement, is written on the board's page under the RN and LPN heading rather than the advanced practice heading, so it is not recorded as applying to the advanced practice license. American Midwifery Certification Board certification is how a Kansas nurse-midwife qualifies for the license: AMCB is one of the seven national certifying organizations the board approves. Certification is a licensure condition rather than a continuing education substitute, and AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded here.
- How often does a Kansas CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Kansas renew every two years. Kansas licenses the nurse-midwife as an advanced practice registered nurse in the nurse-midwife role, and the board's own license counts list Nurse Midwife as a separate Kansas license type. K.A.R. 60-11-113 renews the advanced practice registered nurse license on the same biennial cycle as the registered professional nurse license set by K.A.R. 60-3-108, and the board restates both rules on its information center page. The expiration date of each license is the last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs. A licensee born in an odd-numbered year renews in odd-numbered years and a licensee born in an even-numbered year renews in even-numbered years, so the cycle is two years. The renewal window opens 90 days before the expiration date. Because Kansas issues the registered nurse license and the advanced practice license separately, and because of changes made for the Nurse Licensure Compact, the board states that an APRN who also holds a Kansas RN license must file a renewal application for both licenses and should confirm that the checkout cart contains every license being renewed.
- Does Kansas require specific CE topics for nurse-midwives?
- The Kansas State Board of Nursing does not list mandated subject areas for CNM renewal on the pages we verified; the 30 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do Kansas nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. The board accepts continuing nursing education from any provider approved by another state board of nursing, any provider approved by a national nursing credentialing association, and any provider approved by the Kansas State Board of Nursing (single offering providers carry an SP number, long term providers an LT number), plus individually approved offerings through the board's Individual Offering Approval process. Renewal is by attestation with hours produced on audit: the board's renewal checklist asks whether the licensee has 30 hours of continuing nursing education ready to submit if audited. If audited, the certificate or transcript must show the offering name, the provider or accrediting organization name and number, the offering date, the hours awarded, and the licensee's name and license number, and an advanced practice nurse must show the education was approved for advanced practice nurses or supply learning objectives.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Nursing Education, Kansas State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- KSBN Information Center, Kansas State Board of Nursing (license expiration FAQ and Kansas license counts by type)State board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Renewal Application, Kansas State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- APRN Initial Application, Kansas State Board of Nursing (approved national certification organizations)State board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- K.S.A. 65-1130, advanced practice registered nurse licensure, roles and prescribingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- K.S.A. 65-28b02, independent practice of midwifery act definitionsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- K.S.A. 65-28b03, standards and requirements for the independent practice of midwifery authorizationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- K.S.A. 65-28b04, expiration and renewal of the independent practice of midwifery licenseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- K.S.A. 65-28b07, rules and regulations and standards of care for independent practice of midwiferyStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- K.A.R. 60-11-113, advanced practice registered nurse license renewal (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 10, 2026
Kansas does license the nurse-midwife distinctly. The credential is an advanced practice registered nurse license in the nurse-midwife role issued by the Kansas State Board of Nursing, and the board's own license count table lists Nurse Midwife as its own license type alongside Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist and Registered Nurse Anesthetist. The rule behind the figures governs nurses rather than midwives generally: K.A.R. 60-11-113 sits in Article 11, Advanced Practice Registered Nurses, of the nursing board's regulations, and K.S.A. 65-28b02(b) defines a certified nurse-midwife as a person educated in the two disciplines of nursing and midwifery who is currently certified by a certifying board approved by the state board of nursing and currently licensed under the Kansas nurse practice act. No non-nurse midwifery rule was used. Kansas has a second regulator for this credential and it is the most important thing on this record. Under the independent practice of midwifery act, K.S.A. 65-28b01 et seq., a certified nurse-midwife who wants to practice without a collaborative practice agreement with a physician must also hold an authorization from the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts, the medical board, on top of the nursing board's APRN license. K.S.A. 65-28b03 requires the applicant to hold the nursing license, the APRN license and the nursing board's nurse-midwife authorization before the healing arts board will grant it, and K.S.A. 65-28b06 makes independent practice without both boards' credentials unlawful. K.S.A. 65-28b04 says that authorization expires on a date set by the healing arts board's own regulations and that the board may require evidence of continuing education as a condition of renewal. Those healing arts regulations could not be read: every page on ksbha.ks.gov and www.ksbha.ks.gov returned an Akamai 403 to every automated client, including the board's own Independent Certified Nurse Midwife page, and that URL is listed in the report for a person to open. So this record covers the nursing board credential every Kansas nurse-midwife holds, and a nurse-midwife who also holds the independent practice authorization has a second renewal whose cycle and continuing education this record does not state. Note also that under K.S.A. 65-1130(g) a certified nurse-midwife engaging in independent practice is governed by the midwifery act rather than by 65-1130 for prescribing, which is a scope difference from the other Kansas advanced practice roles. K.A.R. 60-11-113 itself was read on the Cornell LII mirror and is cited as a third party summary, because the Kansas administrative regulations the board publishes are PDF files that were not downloaded; the two values taken from it, no carryover and the 15 hour instructor credit cap, are not contradicted by anything on the board's site, and the two figures that drive confidence, the 30 role related contact hours and the biennial birth month cycle, were both read on the board's own pages. No mandated subject is recorded: none appears on the board's continuing nursing education page, in K.A.R. 60-11-113, or in K.S.A. 65-1130, which grants prescribing authority without attaching continuing education to it. Comparison with the existing ks-rn, ks-np and ks-crna records found no disagreement on cycle, basis, hours or mandated subjects.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Kansas State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.