Skip to main content
CredNet

Kansas Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

Kansas pharmacists must complete 30 clock hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy.

A Kansas pharmacist license runs for two years and expires June 30 of even numbered years, so the licensed period covered by the 2026 renewal was July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2026. Renewal must be completed by 11:59pm Central on June 30 or the license is cancelled and the pharmacist may not practise in Kansas. A pharmacist who has not completed the continuing education can pay the fee and take an inactive status license instead, which does not permit practice.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
clock hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 11, 2026
11 days ago

Summary

Kansas pharmacists must complete 30 clock hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy. A Kansas pharmacist license runs for two years and expires June 30 of even numbered years, so the licensed period covered by the 2026 renewal was July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2026. Renewal must be completed by 11:59pm Central on June 30 or the license is cancelled and the pharmacist may not practise in Kansas. A pharmacist who has not completed the continuing education can pay the fee and take an inactive status license instead, which does not permit practice. Kansas also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education course provided by the board: 1 clock hour every renewal cycle. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists who provide vaccinations). Hours do not carry over between cycles.

Kansas Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 clock hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNo

Kansas counts clock-hours, not CEUs: K.A.R. 68-1-1b(b)(1) requires 30 clock-hours of continuing education for each renewal of a pharmacist license, and a Kansas clock-hour is one hour of approved instruction rather than an ACPE CEU, so no contact hour conversion is recorded. The hours must be earned inside the two year licensed period ending on the June 30 expiration date, which is the same window as the renewal cycle. That was checked deliberately, because Kansas pharmacy technicians do run on a different window: they renew by October 31 and count 20 hours from November 1 to October 31. Nothing on the technician cycle should be read across to pharmacists. There is no grace period; the education has to be finished before the license is renewed, and no credit is given for a certificate the board receives after the June 30 expiration date. Excess hours cannot be carried forward into the next licensure period. New licensees are prorated rather than exempted: for a licensure period shorter than two years the requirement drops to 1.25 clock-hours per month. A pharmacist renewing on inactive status owes zero hours. The board sets no live or in person minimum and no cap on home study or online courses, but it does exclude whole categories of activity from counting at all: in-service programs, on the job training, job orientation, education open to the general public, CPR and basic cardiac life support courses, emergency or disaster training, direct experience under a code blue at a healthcare facility, testing out of a course, and medical school courses.

Required CE topics for Kansas pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Continuing education course provided by the boardIn effect since July 1, 2023. One clock-hour of continuing education provided by the board itself each renewal cycle, counting toward the 30. In practice the board delivers it through its newsletters, each approved for 0.5 hours, so a pharmacist completes two newsletter courses; for the 2026 and 2027 renewals the board designated the November 2024, March 2025, September 2025 and March 2026 newsletters. The regulation does not name a subject for this hour, so no canonical topic key applies and board_provided_course is used.1 clock hourEvery renewalAll licenseesK.A.R. 68-1-1b(b)(2)
Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certificationThe board's renewal instructions tell pharmacists to have their CPR certification expiration date ready when renewing if they provide vaccinations. This is a certification to hold, not an hour count, and it cannot be counted as continuing education: K.A.R. 68-1-1b(c)(2) excludes CPR and basic cardiac life support courses from continuing education credit. Non-canonical topic key.Not statedEvery renewalPharmacists who provide vaccinationsNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for5 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersEvery program must be approved by the board, and a provider or licensee seeking approval submits the program at least 10 days in advance for the CE Review Committee. ACPE accredited hours are automatically accepted and do not need to be submitted for approval. Reporting runs through NABP's CPE Monitor: hours that appear there do not need a certificate sent to the board, but the licensee is responsible for confirming the board actually received them. Anything not on CPE Monitor, including Kansas approved courses and courses taken through another state's board of pharmacy, must be sent to the board as a certificate of completion within 30 days of finishing the course, which is why proof is recorded as submitted rather than attested. Providers must issue a certificate in the board's format showing the licensee's name, program title and date, provider, clock-hours approved and completed, the board's program number and the provider's dated signature. The board's page tells pharmacists to keep certificates for five years, and the board audits 100 percent of licensees for continuing education compliance, writing to each licensee for any certificates not visible on CPE Monitor; not responding can lead to discipline.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Kansas RPh/PharmD need to renew?
Kansas pharmacists must complete 30 clock hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy. Kansas counts clock-hours, not CEUs: K.A.R. 68-1-1b(b)(1) requires 30 clock-hours of continuing education for each renewal of a pharmacist license, and a Kansas clock-hour is one hour of approved instruction rather than an ACPE CEU, so no contact hour conversion is recorded. The hours must be earned inside the two year licensed period ending on the June 30 expiration date, which is the same window as the renewal cycle. That was checked deliberately, because Kansas pharmacy technicians do run on a different window: they renew by October 31 and count 20 hours from November 1 to October 31. Nothing on the technician cycle should be read across to pharmacists. There is no grace period; the education has to be finished before the license is renewed, and no credit is given for a certificate the board receives after the June 30 expiration date. Excess hours cannot be carried forward into the next licensure period. New licensees are prorated rather than exempted: for a licensure period shorter than two years the requirement drops to 1.25 clock-hours per month. A pharmacist renewing on inactive status owes zero hours. The board sets no live or in person minimum and no cap on home study or online courses, but it does exclude whole categories of activity from counting at all: in-service programs, on the job training, job orientation, education open to the general public, CPR and basic cardiac life support courses, emergency or disaster training, direct experience under a code blue at a healthcare facility, testing out of a course, and medical school courses.
How often does a Kansas RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in Kansas renew every two years. A Kansas pharmacist license runs for two years and expires June 30 of even numbered years, so the licensed period covered by the 2026 renewal was July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2026. Renewal must be completed by 11:59pm Central on June 30 or the license is cancelled and the pharmacist may not practise in Kansas. A pharmacist who has not completed the continuing education can pay the fee and take an inactive status license instead, which does not permit practice.
What specific CE topics are required for Kansas pharmacists?
Continuing education course provided by the board: 1 clock hour every renewal cycle. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists who provide vaccinations). Citations: continuing education course provided by the board (K.A.R. 68-1-1b(b)(2)).
Do Kansas pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 5 years. Every program must be approved by the board, and a provider or licensee seeking approval submits the program at least 10 days in advance for the CE Review Committee. ACPE accredited hours are automatically accepted and do not need to be submitted for approval. Reporting runs through NABP's CPE Monitor: hours that appear there do not need a certificate sent to the board, but the licensee is responsible for confirming the board actually received them. Anything not on CPE Monitor, including Kansas approved courses and courses taken through another state's board of pharmacy, must be sent to the board as a certificate of completion within 30 days of finishing the course, which is why proof is recorded as submitted rather than attested. Providers must issue a certificate in the board's format showing the licensee's name, program title and date, provider, clock-hours approved and completed, the board's program number and the provider's dated signature. The board's page tells pharmacists to keep certificates for five years, and the board audits 100 percent of licensees for continuing education compliance, writing to each licensee for any certificates not visible on CPE Monitor; not responding can lead to discipline.
Is the first Kansas RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
No. Kansas applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 11, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 30 clock-hours, the two year window ending June 30, the board provided hour, the no carryover rule, the proration at 1.25 clock-hours per month, the excluded activity types, the 10 day advance approval and the certificate contents were read in the full adopted text of K.A.R. 68-1-1b as published in the Kansas Register by the Secretary of State, amended effective June 2, 2023. K.S.A. 65-1632 on the Revisor of Statutes site confirms the biennial term, the clock-hour unit, the board's statutory range of 20 to 40 clock-hours, and the inactive status route for a pharmacist who has not met the education requirement. The board's own renewal and continuing education pages confirmed the June 30 even year expiration, the July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2026 period for the 2026 renewal, the newsletter delivery of the board hour, the five year retention advice, the 100 percent audit, the CPE Monitor handling and the 30 day certificate submission rule. www.pharmacy.ks.gov answers ordinary automated clients with an Akamai Access Denied page, so both board pages were read in a browser instead; they render normally there and may need an entry in the link verified exceptions list for the URL checker. No opioid, human trafficking, implicit bias or jurisprudence subject mandate appears in the regulation or on the board's pages. Kansas law does provide for pharmacist administration of vaccines with training requirements, which were not read here; only the CPR certification the renewal form asks about is recorded, scoped to pharmacists who vaccinate.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.