Skip to main content
CredNet

Kansas Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Kansas nurse anesthetists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Nursing.

Kansas calls the credential a registered nurse anesthetist. The nurse holds an authorization to practice as a registered nurse anesthetist, is licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, and holds a professional nurse license, and all of them run on the same two year clock. Under K.A.R. 60-3-108 the expiration date is the last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs, in odd-numbered years for a licensee born in an odd-numbered year and in even-numbered years for one born in an even-numbered year. K.A.R. 60-11-113(a) puts the APRN license on that same biennial cycle, and K.S.A. 65-1155(a) puts the nurse anesthetist authorization on it too, expiring at the same time as the registered nurse license. The board sends a renewal notice at least 60 days before the authorization expires, and the renewal window in the KSBN portal opens 90 days before expiration. Because Kansas issues the licenses separately, an APRN who also holds a Kansas RN license files a renewal application for each.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Kansas nurse anesthetists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Nursing. Kansas calls the credential a registered nurse anesthetist. The nurse holds an authorization to practice as a registered nurse anesthetist, is licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, and holds a professional nurse license, and all of them run on the same two year clock. Under K.A.R. 60-3-108 the expiration date is the last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs, in odd-numbered years for a licensee born in an odd-numbered year and in even-numbered years for one born in an even-numbered year. K.A.R. 60-11-113(a) puts the APRN license on that same biennial cycle, and K.S.A. 65-1155(a) puts the nurse anesthetist authorization on it too, expiring at the same time as the registered nurse license. The board sends a renewal notice at least 60 days before the authorization expires, and the renewal window in the KSBN portal opens 90 days before expiration. Because Kansas issues the licenses separately, an APRN who also holds a Kansas RN license files a renewal application for each. Hours do not carry over between cycles.

Kansas Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesInstructor credit, up to 15 of the 30 contact hours, counted once per course for preparation and presentation; Continuing education meeting the standards of a national organization whose certifying standards the board approves as equal to or greater than the board's own, which K.S.A. 65-1159(a)(1) allows in place of board developed requirements for a registered nurse anesthetist; An individual offering approval (IOA) for an offering not previously board approved, including college courses, continuing medical education, and ACLS or PALS not provided by an approved provider, approved before the renewal application is submitted; an approved college course counts 15 CNE contact hours per credit hour

This is the shared APRN rule and matches the Kansas nurse practitioner figure. K.A.R. 60-11-113(b): each individual renewing a license shall have completed the required 30 contact hours of approved continuing nursing education related to the advanced practice registered nurse role during the most recent prior license period, and contact hours accumulated in excess of the 30 shall not be carried over to the next renewal period. The hours do not stack with the registered nurse requirement: 60-11-113(h) states that all CNE accumulated for APRN license renewal shall also be applicable to the renewal of the registered professional nurse license, so a Kansas nurse anesthetist owes 30 contact hours, not 30 plus the RN's 30. One CNE contact hour equals 50 minutes of learning, and fractions of contact hours may be accepted for offerings over 30 minutes. Continuing medical education is not acceptable for any Kansas licensure requirement unless approved through the individual offering approval process. Identical offerings completed within the same renewal period are not approved twice. Renewal also requires proof of malpractice insurance coverage if the APRN renders professional clinical services, unless an exception in K.S.A. 65-1130 applies. Kansas does not adopt NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as its hour count, and the four year NBCRNA cycle does not line up with the state's two year cycle; what the statute allows is that the continuing education requirement for a registered nurse anesthetist may be the one developed by a national organization whose certifying standards the board approves.

Required CE topics for Kansas certified registered nurse anesthetists

The Kansas State Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe board accepts continuing nursing education from any provider approved by another state board of nursing, any provider approved by a national nursing credentialing association, any provider approved by the Kansas State Board of Nursing (single offering providers carry an SP number and long term providers an LT number), or an approved individual offering approval. Proof of the 30 contact hours may be requested by the board (K.A.R. 60-11-113(b)); the renewal checklist tells licensees to have 30 hours of CNE ready to submit to KSBN if audited. If audited, the licensee submits a certificate or transcript of attendance showing the offering name, provider name or accrediting organization, provider or accrediting organization number where applicable, offering date, number of contact hours awarded, licensee name and license number, plus any approved individual offering application. Advanced practice nurses must also submit approved offering certificates and learning objectives if the certificate does not state that the education is approved for advanced practice nurses. The board states no licensee record retention period.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Kansas CRNA need to renew?
Kansas nurse anesthetists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Nursing. This is the shared APRN rule and matches the Kansas nurse practitioner figure. K.A.R. 60-11-113(b): each individual renewing a license shall have completed the required 30 contact hours of approved continuing nursing education related to the advanced practice registered nurse role during the most recent prior license period, and contact hours accumulated in excess of the 30 shall not be carried over to the next renewal period. The hours do not stack with the registered nurse requirement: 60-11-113(h) states that all CNE accumulated for APRN license renewal shall also be applicable to the renewal of the registered professional nurse license, so a Kansas nurse anesthetist owes 30 contact hours, not 30 plus the RN's 30. One CNE contact hour equals 50 minutes of learning, and fractions of contact hours may be accepted for offerings over 30 minutes. Continuing medical education is not acceptable for any Kansas licensure requirement unless approved through the individual offering approval process. Identical offerings completed within the same renewal period are not approved twice. Renewal also requires proof of malpractice insurance coverage if the APRN renders professional clinical services, unless an exception in K.S.A. 65-1130 applies. Kansas does not adopt NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification credit totals as its hour count, and the four year NBCRNA cycle does not line up with the state's two year cycle; what the statute allows is that the continuing education requirement for a registered nurse anesthetist may be the one developed by a national organization whose certifying standards the board approves.
How often does a Kansas CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Kansas renew every two years. Kansas calls the credential a registered nurse anesthetist. The nurse holds an authorization to practice as a registered nurse anesthetist, is licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, and holds a professional nurse license, and all of them run on the same two year clock. Under K.A.R. 60-3-108 the expiration date is the last day of the month in which the licensee's birthday occurs, in odd-numbered years for a licensee born in an odd-numbered year and in even-numbered years for one born in an even-numbered year. K.A.R. 60-11-113(a) puts the APRN license on that same biennial cycle, and K.S.A. 65-1155(a) puts the nurse anesthetist authorization on it too, expiring at the same time as the registered nurse license. The board sends a renewal notice at least 60 days before the authorization expires, and the renewal window in the KSBN portal opens 90 days before expiration. Because Kansas issues the licenses separately, an APRN who also holds a Kansas RN license files a renewal application for each.
Does Kansas require specific CE topics for nurse anesthetists?
The Kansas State Board of Nursing does not list mandated subject areas for CRNA renewal on the pages we verified; the 30 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Kansas nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. The board accepts continuing nursing education from any provider approved by another state board of nursing, any provider approved by a national nursing credentialing association, any provider approved by the Kansas State Board of Nursing (single offering providers carry an SP number and long term providers an LT number), or an approved individual offering approval. Proof of the 30 contact hours may be requested by the board (K.A.R. 60-11-113(b)); the renewal checklist tells licensees to have 30 hours of CNE ready to submit to KSBN if audited. If audited, the licensee submits a certificate or transcript of attendance showing the offering name, provider name or accrediting organization, provider or accrediting organization number where applicable, offering date, number of contact hours awarded, licensee name and license number, plus any approved individual offering application. Advanced practice nurses must also submit approved offering certificates and learning objectives if the certificate does not state that the education is approved for advanced practice nurses. The board states no licensee record retention period.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Kansas is one of the states that does issue a nurse anesthetist specific credential, so this record is not simply the nurse practitioner record retitled even though the hour count is the same. K.S.A. 65-1152 and 65-1154 set up an authorization from the board of nursing to practice as a registered nurse anesthetist; the holder is also licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, and there is no fee for the APRN license as long as the registered nurse anesthetist maintains the authorization. K.S.A. 65-1155 makes the authorization biennial and ties its expiration to the registered nurse license. K.S.A. 65-1159 sets the renewal qualifications and is where the state leaves room for national certification: the applicant shall have met the continuing education requirements for a registered nurse anesthetist as developed by the board or by a national organization whose certifying standards are approved by the board as equal to or greater than the state's, and continuing education credits approved for the authorization may be applied to the professional nurse requirement in K.S.A. 65-1117 if the board finds them equivalent. Kansas separately governs the nurse anesthetist's drugs and anesthetic agents under K.S.A. 65-1151 through 65-1164 rather than under the general APRN prescriptive provisions: K.S.A. 65-1130 carves nurse anesthetists out of the APRN prescribing subsection, and K.S.A. 65-1158 lets a registered nurse anesthetist prescribe durable medical equipment and prescribe, procure and administer drugs consistent with education and qualifications, with DEA registration required for controlled substances. Kansas mandates no continuing education subjects for nurses, so mandatory_topics is empty. The hour count and cycle were read twice on official hosts: the full text of K.A.R. 60-11-113 in the Kansas Register on the Secretary of State's site, and the board's own information center page, which restates the 30 hours and the K.A.R. 60-3-108 birth month cycle currently. K.A.R. 60-11-104(b) and (d) confirm nurse anesthetist as one of the APRN roles the licence covers. One gap: Kansas Administrative Regulations Article 13, the registered nurse anesthetist article that includes K.A.R. 60-13-113 on approval of registered nurse anesthetist continuing education, is published by the board only as PDF files, which the no download rule excludes, so that article's text was not read. Nothing in the sources that were read suggests it sets a different hour figure, and the board's own continuing education page lists only three renewal categories, one of them advanced practice at 30 hours, with no separate nurse anesthetist line. Licensee record retention and any first renewal exemption are not stated.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Kansas State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.