Skip to main content
CredNet

Kansas Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Kansas physical therapists must complete 40 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts.

The license of each physical therapist expires on December 31 of each year and is renewed annually (K.A.R. 100-29-8). Continuing education is reported only with the renewal in odd-numbered years, covering the preceding two-year period; no CE evidence is required with even-year renewals (K.A.R. 100-29-9).

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
40
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Kansas physical therapists must complete 40 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts. The license of each physical therapist expires on December 31 of each year and is renewed annually (K.A.R. 100-29-8). Continuing education is reported only with the renewal in odd-numbered years, covering the preceding two-year period; no CE evidence is required with even-year renewals (K.A.R. 100-29-9). Kansas also mandates specific subjects. Physical therapy jurisprudence assessment module (KS JAM): 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.

Kansas Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle40 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesCollege or university courses directly related to physical therapy (10 contact hours per semester credit hour with a grade of C or pass); Reading professional literature (maximum 2 contact hours); Home study, correspondence, audio, video, or internet courses with printed verification (maximum 10 contact hours per course); Passing a board-approved specialty certification examination (40 contact hours); Professional publications (original paper 20, 15, or 8 hours by authorship role; review paper or case report 15 or 8; abstract or book review 8; book 20); Completing a physical therapy residency or fellowship program of at least 1,000 hours (40 contact hours); Serving one term as an elected delegate in a national policy assembly (10 contact hours); Supervising a PT or PTA student (1 contact hour per 40 hours of supervision, maximum 3 per two-year period); Presenting a continuing education program (3 contact hours per hour presented)

K.A.R. 100-29-9(a)(1)(A): as a condition of renewal for each odd-numbered year, each licensed physical therapist submits, with the annual renewal application, evidence of at least 40 contact hours of continuing education completed within the preceding two-year period. A contact hour is 60 minutes of activity pertaining to the practice of physical therapy; meals and breaks are excluded. The renewal itself is annual (cycle_months 12) while the CE cycle is two years (cycle_months 24). Proration (100-29-9(c)): a physical therapist initially licensed within one year of an odd-year renewal date need not submit CE for that first period; one initially licensed or reinstated more than one year but less than two years before an odd-year renewal must submit at least half the hours. No contact hours are awarded for a repeated activity on the same topic within the two-year period. The regulation caps self-instruction reading at 2 hours and home study or internet courses at 10 hours per course, but states no overall online cap, so max_self_study_or_online is null. Carryover was not addressed. The board may grant an extension of up to six months for medical condition, natural disaster, family death, or other compelling reason.

Required CE topics for Kansas physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Physical therapy jurisprudence assessment module (KS JAM)The 2022 amendment states each licensed physical therapist shall be required to successfully complete the physical therapy jurisprudence assessment module during each continuing education cycle; one contact hour is awarded for successful completion (the 2016 text required a score of at least 88 percent).1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licenseesK.A.R. 100-29-9, as amended September 16, 2022

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersKansas does not name approved providers; K.A.R. 100-29-9(d) and (e) require that all activities relate to the practice of physical therapy and pertain to clinical skills, administration and management, patient or professional education, peer-reviewed research, legislative issues, health care delivery, documentation and reimbursement and regulatory compliance, or problem solving, critical thinking, and ethics. To evidence completion, each licensee submits to the board documented evidence of attendance or completion, personal verification of any self-instruction reading, and one copy of any peer-reviewed publication (100-29-9(h)). The regulation as read does not state a retention period or an audit process.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Kansas PT need to renew?
Kansas physical therapists must complete 40 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts. K.A.R. 100-29-9(a)(1)(A): as a condition of renewal for each odd-numbered year, each licensed physical therapist submits, with the annual renewal application, evidence of at least 40 contact hours of continuing education completed within the preceding two-year period. A contact hour is 60 minutes of activity pertaining to the practice of physical therapy; meals and breaks are excluded. The renewal itself is annual (cycle_months 12) while the CE cycle is two years (cycle_months 24). Proration (100-29-9(c)): a physical therapist initially licensed within one year of an odd-year renewal date need not submit CE for that first period; one initially licensed or reinstated more than one year but less than two years before an odd-year renewal must submit at least half the hours. No contact hours are awarded for a repeated activity on the same topic within the two-year period. The regulation caps self-instruction reading at 2 hours and home study or internet courses at 10 hours per course, but states no overall online cap, so max_self_study_or_online is null. Carryover was not addressed. The board may grant an extension of up to six months for medical condition, natural disaster, family death, or other compelling reason.
How often does a Kansas PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Kansas renew every year. The license of each physical therapist expires on December 31 of each year and is renewed annually (K.A.R. 100-29-8). Continuing education is reported only with the renewal in odd-numbered years, covering the preceding two-year period; no CE evidence is required with even-year renewals (K.A.R. 100-29-9).
What specific CE topics are required for Kansas physical therapists?
Physical therapy jurisprudence assessment module (KS JAM): 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Citations: physical therapy jurisprudence assessment module (KS JAM) (K.A.R. 100-29-9, as amended September 16, 2022).
Do Kansas physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. Kansas does not name approved providers; K.A.R. 100-29-9(d) and (e) require that all activities relate to the practice of physical therapy and pertain to clinical skills, administration and management, patient or professional education, peer-reviewed research, legislative issues, health care delivery, documentation and reimbursement and regulatory compliance, or problem solving, critical thinking, and ethics. To evidence completion, each licensee submits to the board documented evidence of attendance or completion, personal verification of any self-instruction reading, and one copy of any peer-reviewed publication (100-29-9(h)). The regulation as read does not state a retention period or an audit process.
Is the first Kansas PT renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Kansas does not require continuing education for a PT's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The Kansas State Board of Healing Arts website (board home, Physical Therapist page, and Renewal Dates page) returned HTTP 403 to automated fetching, so board_url and renewal_url are recorded from search results but were not read; no ksbha.ks.gov page is cited as a source. The 40 contact hours per two-year period, odd-year reporting, 60 minute contact hour, proration, activity types and caps, and evidence requirements were read from the official Kansas Register publication of K.A.R. 100-29-9 (2022 amendment on the Secretary of State site, 2016 text via the APTA Kansas reprint) and confirmed on the Cornell mirror. The mandatory KS JAM language comes from the 2022 amendment; the 2016 text only awarded credit for it. The December 31 annual expiration comes from K.A.R. 100-29-8 on the Cornell mirror and is consistent with the regulation's reference to the annual application for renewal. Not stated in the regulation: record retention period, audit procedure, carryover.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.