Nevada Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements
Nevada nurse-midwives must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing.
Nevada does not issue a nurse midwife license under that name. NAC 632.2597(1) states that the board will issue a license to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse authorizing the licensee to practice in a role as a nurse midwife, a nurse practitioner, a clinical nurse specialist, or any combination of those, so the Nevada credential is an APRN license with a nurse midwife role. NAC 632.290(1) states that the APRN license expires at the same time as the registered nurse license, and the nurse must renew both: the registered nurse license, and the APRN license by submitting the information required by NAC 632.291 and the separate APRN renewal fee. An original license is valid from the date of issuance to the licensee's second birthday after issuance, and thereafter each license expires biennially on the licensee's birthday. In a leap year the license of a licensee born on February 29 expires on February 28. Continuing education is counted over the 24 months immediately preceding the licensee's most recent birthday. If the nurse midwife completed a program designed to prepare an advanced practice registered nurse on or after July 1, 2014, renewal also requires proof of maintained national certification by a board recognized entity.
Summary
Nevada nurse-midwives must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing. Nevada does not issue a nurse midwife license under that name. NAC 632.2597(1) states that the board will issue a license to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse authorizing the licensee to practice in a role as a nurse midwife, a nurse practitioner, a clinical nurse specialist, or any combination of those, so the Nevada credential is an APRN license with a nurse midwife role. NAC 632.290(1) states that the APRN license expires at the same time as the registered nurse license, and the nurse must renew both: the registered nurse license, and the APRN license by submitting the information required by NAC 632.291 and the separate APRN renewal fee. An original license is valid from the date of issuance to the licensee's second birthday after issuance, and thereafter each license expires biennially on the licensee's birthday. In a leap year the license of a licensee born on February 29 expires on February 28. Continuing education is counted over the 24 months immediately preceding the licensee's most recent birthday. If the nurse midwife completed a program designed to prepare an advanced practice registered nurse on or after July 1, 2014, renewal also requires proof of maintained national certification by a board recognized entity. Nevada also mandates specific subjects. Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle (every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, which includes a nurse midwife through both the registered nurse license and the APRN license). Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction: a one-time requirement of 4 contact hours (every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, which includes a nurse midwife). Training relating to persons with substance use or other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (only a nurse midwife who is authorized to prescribe controlled substances, poisons, dangerous drugs and devices under NRS 639.2351 or is registered to dispense controlled substances under NRS 453.231). Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, which includes a nurse midwife, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (any person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS who provides or supervises the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care, to be completed within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise such services or care. NRS 632.343(8)(d) defines primary care to include midwifery, so this reaches a nurse midwife in ordinary practice).
Nevada Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 45 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Academic studies, workshops, extension studies, home study and other courses, which NRS 632.343(2) allows the board to approve; Preceptorship, credited at 10 continuing education units for documented 120 hours of preceptorship per renewal period, capped at 10 per period, where the preceptee is an RN or LPN in a facility orientation course or a nursing student in a preceptorship course; Employer provided cultural competency training under NRS 449.103, approved by the board, counted toward the cultural competency hours; A registration to treat opioid dependency with narcotic medications under the federal Drug Addiction Treatment Act, which NRS 632.2375(2) allows an APRN to use to satisfy 4 hours of the total continuing education required by NRS 632.343 during one period of licensure |
Nevada is one of the states where the advanced practice figure absorbs the registered nurse figure rather than stacking on it. NRS 632.343(1) requires 30 hours of board approved continuing education in the 2 years before renewal of any license issued under chapter 632. NAC 632.291(1)(a)(3) then requires the advanced practice registered nurse to attest at renewal to having satisfactorily completed 45 hours of continuing education which must be directly related to the nurse's role or population of focus, and which expressly may include the continuing education required for renewal of the registered nurse license. The board's own summary table says the same thing from the other direction, describing the advanced practice requirement as an additional 15 hours each renewal cycle on top of the registered nurse's 30. The recorded figure is therefore 45 contact hours per two year cycle for a nurse midwife, the same total the state records for the nurse practitioner and the nurse anesthetist. Two mandated blocks sit inside the 45 rather than on top of it: 2 hours of controlled substance, opioid prescribing or addiction training if the nurse midwife is authorized to prescribe under NRS 639.2351 or registered to dispense under NRS 453.231, and 2 hours of suicide prevention and awareness when the licensee owes them for that renewal period. National certification is a renewal condition, but only for a nurse midwife who completed the preparing program on or after July 1, 2014; for that group NAC 632.291(1)(b) requires proof of maintained certification by a board recognized entity, which for a nurse midwife is the American Midwifery Certification Board. Certification does not substitute for the 45 hours, and the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not adopted as state hours. Separate from continuing education, every Nevada APRN must maintain a portfolio under NAC 632.2563, and the board audits for it. Two further requirements sit outside the state hour count and are recorded here rather than as state subject mandates: the federal obligation, which the board's table repeats, for DEA registered practitioners to complete a one time 8 hours on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorder, and the exemption in NRS 632.2375(2) for an APRN who holds a federal opioid dependency treatment registration, who is excused from the 2 hour training for one licensure period. The board states that the 30 hour registered nurse requirement is waived for the first biennial period after graduation, but nothing read extends that waiver to the 45 hour advanced practice figure, so exempt_first_renewal is left null rather than asserted.
Required CE topics for Nevada certified nurse-midwifes
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusionAt least 4 hours biennially, raised from 2 hours as of January 1, 2024. The hours are part of the mandatory total rather than additional to it. The instruction may include employer training provided under NRS 449.103 or 449B.280 where applicable, must be based on a range of research from diverse sources, and must address persons of different cultural backgrounds including various gender, racial, ethnic and religious backgrounds, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning persons, children and senior citizens, veterans, persons with a mental illness, persons with an intellectual, developmental or physical disability, and any other population the board identifies. The requirement may be met with as many board approved courses as the licensee wishes so long as the 4 hour minimum is reached. | 4 contact hours | Every renewal | Every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, which includes a nurse midwife through both the registered nurse license and the APRN license | NRS 632.343(3)(c) |
| Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destructionA one time 4 hour course covering an overview of acts of terrorism and weapons of mass destruction, personal protective equipment, common symptoms and methods of treatment associated with exposure to chemical, biological, radioactive and nuclear agents, syndromic surveillance and reporting procedures for biological agent events, and an overview of the Health Alert Network. NAC 632.340(5) requires the nurse to retain documentation of completion for as long as the license is held, rather than only 4 years, and the board advises keeping the bioterrorism certificate indefinitely. No canonical topic key covers bioterrorism preparedness, so the state's own subject label is used, matching the state's registered nurse and nurse anesthetist records. | 4 contact hours | One time | Every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure | NRS 632.343(3)(b) |
| Evidence-based suicide prevention and awarenessTwo separate obligations combine here. NRS 632.343(3)(a)(1) requires an APRN to complete a course providing at least 2 hours on suicide prevention and awareness within 2 years after initial licensure, and NRS 632.343(6) requires the board to make each APRN take at least 2 hours every 4 years on evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness, or another board approved and board validated course. NAC 632.291(1)(a)(IV) makes those hours part of the 45 hour attestation in any renewal period when they are owed, which is why the frequency is periodic rather than every cycle. The board's summary table states it as 2 hours every 4 years for an APRN and marks it optional for a registered nurse or a nurse anesthetist. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | Every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, which includes a nurse midwife | NRS 632.343(3)(a)(1) and NRS 632.343(6); NAC 632.291(1)(a)(IV) |
| Training relating to persons with substance use or other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioidsAt least 2 hours during each period of licensure. The statute says the training may include, without limitation, training in the screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder, and the board's summary table accordingly lists the same 2 hours under both an Opioid training heading and an SBIRT heading; these are one requirement with two acceptable framings, not two. The rule wording in NAC 632.291 is slightly broader than the statute's, covering the misuse and abuse of controlled substances, the prescribing of opioids or addiction. The hours count inside the 45, since NRS 632.2375(1) says the APRN may use this training to satisfy 2 hours of any continuing education requirement established by the board. An APRN who holds a federal registration to treat opioid dependency with narcotic medications is exempt from this training for one period of licensure. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | Only a nurse midwife who is authorized to prescribe controlled substances, poisons, dangerous drugs and devices under NRS 639.2351 or is registered to dispense controlled substances under NRS 453.231 | NRS 632.2375(1); NAC 632.291(1)(a)(III) |
| Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorderAt least 2 hours, one time, within 2 years after initial licensure, and unlike the opioid training above it is not conditioned on prescribing or dispensing authority. NRS 632.0193 defines the approach as an evidence-based method of delivering early intervention and treatment to persons who have or are at risk of developing a substance use disorder, consisting of screening to assess severity and identify the appropriate level of treatment, brief intervention to increase awareness and motivation to change, and referral to treatment for those needing more extensive care. The board's summary table lists SBIRT at 2 hours every renewal cycle for an APRN, which reads as the recurring NRS 632.2375 training that SBIRT content can satisfy rather than as a recurring version of this one time statutory requirement; the two are recorded separately here so that a reader sees both. No canonical topic key covers substance use disorder screening, so a short descriptive key is used. | 2 contact hours | One time | Every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, which includes a nurse midwife, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure | NRS 632.343(3)(d) |
| Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIVAt least 2 hours, added by the 2023 legislative session. The scoping clause matters more for a nurse midwife than for most nurses, because the statute's own definition of primary care in subsection 8 names midwifery alongside family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, and obstetrics and gynecology. The clock runs from when the licensee begins providing or supervising the care, not from licensure or renewal. | 2 contact hours | One time | Any person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS who provides or supervises the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care, to be completed within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise such services or care. NRS 632.343(8)(d) defines primary care to include midwifery, so this reaches a nurse midwife in ordinary practice | NRS 632.343(3)(e); 2023 Senate Bill 439 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | A provider is accepted if it is an academic institution, holds a Nevada continuing education provider number, is approved by another state nursing board or another health related board including boards of medical examiners, pharmacy and social workers, or is recognized by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, the American Nurses Credentialing Center Commission on Accreditation, the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners, or the National League for Nursing. The board states that MEDCEU is not an approved provider. Nothing is submitted at renewal: the renewal application asks the licensee to swear to compliance and to retain certificates, and the board then conducts random audits. NAC 632.291(3) requires the board to perform random audits of advanced practice registered nurses for both the continuing education requirement and the portfolio requirement in NAC 632.2563. An audited nurse midwife must produce authenticated photocopies of original certificates of completion or computer printouts from approved providers covering the 24 months immediately preceding the most recent birthday, each showing the course title, the provider, the approving body, the date presented, the nurse's name and license number, and the contact hours earned, plus the portfolio and proof of maintained APRN licensure. NAC 632.291(5) requires an advanced practice registered nurse to retain continuing education documentation for at least 4 years, and the board advises keeping the bioterrorism certificate indefinitely. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Nevada CNM need to renew?
- Nevada nurse-midwives must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing. Nevada is one of the states where the advanced practice figure absorbs the registered nurse figure rather than stacking on it. NRS 632.343(1) requires 30 hours of board approved continuing education in the 2 years before renewal of any license issued under chapter 632. NAC 632.291(1)(a)(3) then requires the advanced practice registered nurse to attest at renewal to having satisfactorily completed 45 hours of continuing education which must be directly related to the nurse's role or population of focus, and which expressly may include the continuing education required for renewal of the registered nurse license. The board's own summary table says the same thing from the other direction, describing the advanced practice requirement as an additional 15 hours each renewal cycle on top of the registered nurse's 30. The recorded figure is therefore 45 contact hours per two year cycle for a nurse midwife, the same total the state records for the nurse practitioner and the nurse anesthetist. Two mandated blocks sit inside the 45 rather than on top of it: 2 hours of controlled substance, opioid prescribing or addiction training if the nurse midwife is authorized to prescribe under NRS 639.2351 or registered to dispense under NRS 453.231, and 2 hours of suicide prevention and awareness when the licensee owes them for that renewal period. National certification is a renewal condition, but only for a nurse midwife who completed the preparing program on or after July 1, 2014; for that group NAC 632.291(1)(b) requires proof of maintained certification by a board recognized entity, which for a nurse midwife is the American Midwifery Certification Board. Certification does not substitute for the 45 hours, and the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not adopted as state hours. Separate from continuing education, every Nevada APRN must maintain a portfolio under NAC 632.2563, and the board audits for it. Two further requirements sit outside the state hour count and are recorded here rather than as state subject mandates: the federal obligation, which the board's table repeats, for DEA registered practitioners to complete a one time 8 hours on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorder, and the exemption in NRS 632.2375(2) for an APRN who holds a federal opioid dependency treatment registration, who is excused from the 2 hour training for one licensure period. The board states that the 30 hour registered nurse requirement is waived for the first biennial period after graduation, but nothing read extends that waiver to the 45 hour advanced practice figure, so exempt_first_renewal is left null rather than asserted.
- How often does a Nevada CNM license need to be renewed?
- Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Nevada renew every two years. Nevada does not issue a nurse midwife license under that name. NAC 632.2597(1) states that the board will issue a license to practice as an advanced practice registered nurse authorizing the licensee to practice in a role as a nurse midwife, a nurse practitioner, a clinical nurse specialist, or any combination of those, so the Nevada credential is an APRN license with a nurse midwife role. NAC 632.290(1) states that the APRN license expires at the same time as the registered nurse license, and the nurse must renew both: the registered nurse license, and the APRN license by submitting the information required by NAC 632.291 and the separate APRN renewal fee. An original license is valid from the date of issuance to the licensee's second birthday after issuance, and thereafter each license expires biennially on the licensee's birthday. In a leap year the license of a licensee born on February 29 expires on February 28. Continuing education is counted over the 24 months immediately preceding the licensee's most recent birthday. If the nurse midwife completed a program designed to prepare an advanced practice registered nurse on or after July 1, 2014, renewal also requires proof of maintained national certification by a board recognized entity.
- What specific CE topics are required for Nevada nurse-midwives?
- Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle (every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, which includes a nurse midwife through both the registered nurse license and the APRN license). Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction: a one-time requirement of 4 contact hours (every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, which includes a nurse midwife). Training relating to persons with substance use or other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (only a nurse midwife who is authorized to prescribe controlled substances, poisons, dangerous drugs and devices under NRS 639.2351 or is registered to dispense controlled substances under NRS 453.231). Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, which includes a nurse midwife, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (any person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS who provides or supervises the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care, to be completed within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise such services or care. NRS 632.343(8)(d) defines primary care to include midwifery, so this reaches a nurse midwife in ordinary practice). Citations: cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion (NRS 632.343(3)(c)), medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction (NRS 632.343(3)(b)), Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness (NRS 632.343(3)(a)(1) and NRS 632.343(6); NAC 632.291(1)(a)(IV)), training relating to persons with substance use or other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids (NRS 632.2375(1); NAC 632.291(1)(a)(III)), screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder (NRS 632.343(3)(d)), and stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV (NRS 632.343(3)(e); 2023 Senate Bill 439).
- Do Nevada nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. A provider is accepted if it is an academic institution, holds a Nevada continuing education provider number, is approved by another state nursing board or another health related board including boards of medical examiners, pharmacy and social workers, or is recognized by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, the American Nurses Credentialing Center Commission on Accreditation, the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners, or the National League for Nursing. The board states that MEDCEU is not an approved provider. Nothing is submitted at renewal: the renewal application asks the licensee to swear to compliance and to retain certificates, and the board then conducts random audits. NAC 632.291(3) requires the board to perform random audits of advanced practice registered nurses for both the continuing education requirement and the portfolio requirement in NAC 632.2563. An audited nurse midwife must produce authenticated photocopies of original certificates of completion or computer printouts from approved providers covering the 24 months immediately preceding the most recent birthday, each showing the course title, the provider, the approving body, the date presented, the nurse's name and license number, and the contact hours earned, plus the portfolio and proof of maintained APRN licensure. NAC 632.291(5) requires an advanced practice registered nurse to retain continuing education documentation for at least 4 years, and the board advises keeping the bioterrorism certificate indefinitely.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Nevada Administrative Code chapter 632, Board of Nursing (NAC 632.0605 nurse midwife defined, 632.2597 APRN roles, 632.290 expiration and renewal, 632.291 renewal requirements and 45 hours, 632.340 attestation and audits, 632.2563 portfolio)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Nevada Revised Statutes chapter 632, Nursing (NRS 632.0193 SBIRT defined, 632.2375 opioid and substance use training for dispensing APRNs, 632.343 continuing education and required courses)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Continuing Education, Nevada State Board of Nursing (requirements by license type table, cultural competency increase to 4 hours in 2024, HIV training, audits, provider acceptance, preceptor credit)State board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Nevada follows the common pattern with a naming quirk worth knowing: there is no separate certified nurse midwife license. NAC 632.2597(1) says the board issues an advanced practice registered nurse license authorizing practice in a role as a nurse midwife, a nurse practitioner, a clinical nurse specialist, or any combination, and the nurse anesthetist sits outside that list with its own licensure track. That the rules read govern the nurse midwife rather than another kind of midwife was established from NAC 632.0605, which defines nurse midwife as a registered professional nurse who has completed an organized formal program of training in pregnancy, childbirth, the postpartum period, care of the newborn, family planning, and the gynecological and primary health needs of women. Nevada at the time of writing does not license midwives who are not nurses under chapter 632, and nothing outside chapter 632 was used here. AMCB certification is a conditional renewal requirement rather than a universal one: NAC 632.291(1)(b) requires proof of maintained certification only where the nurse completed the APRN preparing program on or after July 1, 2014, which is a real carve out for nurses prepared earlier. It is not an alternative to the 45 hours. Continuing education for a nurse midwife absorbs rather than stacks on the registered nurse requirement: NAC 632.291(1)(a)(3)(II) says the 45 hours may include the registered nurse requirement, and the board's table describes the APRN duty as 15 additional hours. Every topic was scoped against the statute rather than inherited from the state's nurse practitioner record, and two differences from that record are worth naming. First, the 4 hour terrorism and weapons of mass destruction course is recorded under the state's own subject label rather than as infection control, which is how the nurse practitioner record classified it; the statute is about the medical consequences of an act of terrorism, not infection control, and the registered nurse and nurse anesthetist records use the terrorism label. Second, the 2 hour SBIRT course required of every APRN within 2 years after initial licensure by NRS 632.343(3)(d) appears in no existing Nevada record and is added here. The apparent double listing of SBIRT and opioid training at 2 hours each on the board's table resolves in the statute: NRS 632.2375(1) sets a recurring 2 hours per licensure period for an APRN registered to dispense controlled substances and says SBIRT content may satisfy it, while NRS 632.343(3)(d) sets a separate one time 2 hours for every APRN. Those are recorded as two entries rather than collapsed. The HIV scoping is unusually relevant to this credential because NRS 632.343(8)(d) defines primary care to include midwifery. This record also fills two documentation fields the state's nurse anesthetist record left null: NAC 632.291(5) sets a 4 year retention period for an advanced practice registered nurse. The board's renewal FAQ PDF and its RN and LPN renewal FAQ PDF were not read, per the no download rule; nothing in this record depends on them.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nevada State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.