Nevada Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements
Nevada physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners.
Nevada licenses physicians on a biennial registration. Each holder of a license to practice medicine must, on or before June 30 of each odd-numbered year (the next business day if June 30 falls on a weekend or legal holiday), submit the malpractice and negligence claim list, pay the biennial registration fee, and submit all information required to complete the biennial registration. A license that is not registered expires, and the holder has two years to be reinstated by paying twice the current fee.
Summary
Nevada physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners. Nevada licenses physicians on a biennial registration. Each holder of a license to practice medicine must, on or before June 30 of each odd-numbered year (the next business day if June 30 falls on a weekend or legal holiday), submit the malpractice and negligence claim list, pay the biennial registration fee, and submit all information required to complete the biennial registration. A license that is not registered expires, and the holder has two years to be reinstated by paying twice the current fee. Nevada also mandates specific subjects. Medical ethics: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle. Medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction: a one-time requirement (physicians initially licensed on or after October 1, 2003 must complete it within 2 years of initial licensure; physicians initially licensed before October 1, 2003 had to complete it on or before September 30, 2005). Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board. Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment (SBIRT) approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 CME credits. Persons with substance use and other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (only physicians registered to dispense controlled substances pursuant to NRS 453.231). Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 CME credits (only physicians who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care; primary care means family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology and midwifery). Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (psychiatrists only).
Nevada Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 40 CME credits |
| Category 1 minimum | 40 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Performing a medical review for the Board: up to 20 hours of CME credit in a single biennial period, equal to the actual time involved; Double credit for continuing education in geriatrics and gerontology, in Alzheimer's disease or other forms of dementia, or in the diagnosis of rare diseases: a maximum of 8 credited hours for 4 hours actually spent, and only under one of the three categories; A full year of residency or fellowship in the United States or Canada completed during the biennial registration period exempts the licensee from the 40 hour requirement |
NAC 630.153(1) requires 40 hours of continuing medical education during the preceding 2 years, of which 2 hours must be in medical ethics and 20 hours must be in the scope of practice or specialty of the licensee. Every program must offer a certificate of Category 1 credit as recognized by the American Medical Association, be approved by the Board, and be sponsored in whole or in part by an organization accredited by the AMA or the ACCME, so category_1_minimum is recorded as the full 40. Unit recorded as CME credits; the credit type is AMA PRA Category 1. First renewals are prorated rather than exempt: NAC 630.157 requires 40, 30, 20 or 10 hours depending on whether the licensee was licensed in the first, second, third or fourth 6 months of the biennial period. A physician may substitute not more than 2 hours of CME in pain management, care for persons with an addictive disorder, or the SBIRT approach for the ethics requirement (NRS 630.253(8)), but may not substitute suicide prevention hours for ethics (NRS 630.253(7)).
Required CE topics for Nevada physician (md)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medical ethicsPart of the 40 hour biennial total. NRS 630.253(8) allows up to 2 hours of CME in pain management, care of persons with an addictive disorder, or the screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to be substituted for the ethics requirement, except as limited by NRS 630.2535(2). | 2 CME credits | Every renewal | All licensees | NAC 630.153(1) |
| Medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destructionThe rule states a course of instruction but does not set an hour count, so hours are left null. The course must carry AMA Category 1 credit and is in addition to the 40 hours required by NAC 630.153. Equivalent training received in the military or as a public health officer after January 1, 2002 satisfies it. Canonical key bioterrorism is used because no listed topic key matches the board's wording. | Not stated | One time | Physicians initially licensed on or after October 1, 2003 must complete it within 2 years of initial licensure; physicians initially licensed before October 1, 2003 had to complete it on or before September 30, 2005 | NAC 630.154 |
| Evidence-based suicide prevention and awarenessAt least 2 hours within 2 years after initial licensure and every 4 years thereafter. The hours count toward the 40 hour biennial total but may not be substituted for the ethics requirement. | 2 CME credits | Periodic | All licensees | NAC 630.1545; NRS 630.253(5) |
| Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment (SBIRT) approach to substance use disorderAt least 2 hours of training within 2 years after initial licensure. Counts toward the 40 hour total. Canonical key substance_use_disorder is used because no listed topic key matches. | 2 CME credits | One time | All licensees | NAC 630.156(2); NRS 630.253(2)(c) |
| Persons with substance use and other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioidsAt least 2 hours during each period of biennial registration. The program must carry AMA Category 1 credit and the hours count toward the 40 hour total. A physician who holds a registration to treat opioid dependency with narcotic medications under the Drug Addiction Treatment Act is exempt for one licensure period and may use that registration for 4 hours of the total CME. | 2 CME credits | Every renewal | Only physicians registered to dispense controlled substances pursuant to NRS 453.231 | NAC 630.156(1); NRS 630.2535 |
| Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIVAt least 2 hours within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise such services or care. The hours count toward the 40 hour total. | 2 CME credits | One time | Only physicians who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care; primary care means family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology and midwifery | NAC 630.1563; NRS 630.253(2)(f) |
| Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusionAt least 2 hours during each biennial registration period. The instruction must be based on a range of research from diverse sources and must address persons of different cultural backgrounds as listed in NRS 630.253(2)(d)(3). Hours count toward the 40 hour total. | 2 CME credits | Every renewal | Psychiatrists only | NAC 630.1567; NRS 630.253(2)(d) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | Each educational program must offer a certificate of Category 1 credit as recognized by the American Medical Association, be approved by the Board, and be sponsored in whole or in part by an organization accredited or deemed equivalent by the AMA or the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (NAC 630.153(1)). |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Nevada MD need to renew?
- Nevada physicians (MD) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners. NAC 630.153(1) requires 40 hours of continuing medical education during the preceding 2 years, of which 2 hours must be in medical ethics and 20 hours must be in the scope of practice or specialty of the licensee. Every program must offer a certificate of Category 1 credit as recognized by the American Medical Association, be approved by the Board, and be sponsored in whole or in part by an organization accredited by the AMA or the ACCME, so category_1_minimum is recorded as the full 40. Unit recorded as CME credits; the credit type is AMA PRA Category 1. First renewals are prorated rather than exempt: NAC 630.157 requires 40, 30, 20 or 10 hours depending on whether the licensee was licensed in the first, second, third or fourth 6 months of the biennial period. A physician may substitute not more than 2 hours of CME in pain management, care for persons with an addictive disorder, or the SBIRT approach for the ethics requirement (NRS 630.253(8)), but may not substitute suicide prevention hours for ethics (NRS 630.253(7)).
- How often does a Nevada MD license need to be renewed?
- Physician (MD) licenses in Nevada renew every two years. Nevada licenses physicians on a biennial registration. Each holder of a license to practice medicine must, on or before June 30 of each odd-numbered year (the next business day if June 30 falls on a weekend or legal holiday), submit the malpractice and negligence claim list, pay the biennial registration fee, and submit all information required to complete the biennial registration. A license that is not registered expires, and the holder has two years to be reinstated by paying twice the current fee.
- What specific CE topics are required for Nevada physicians (MD)?
- Medical ethics: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle. Medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction: a one-time requirement (physicians initially licensed on or after October 1, 2003 must complete it within 2 years of initial licensure; physicians initially licensed before October 1, 2003 had to complete it on or before September 30, 2005). Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board. Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment (SBIRT) approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 CME credits. Persons with substance use and other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (only physicians registered to dispense controlled substances pursuant to NRS 453.231). Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 CME credits (only physicians who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care; primary care means family medicine, pediatrics, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology and midwifery). Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion: 2 CME credits every renewal cycle (psychiatrists only). Citations: medical ethics (NAC 630.153(1)), medical consequences of an act of terrorism that involves the use of a weapon of mass destruction (NAC 630.154), Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness (NAC 630.1545; NRS 630.253(5)), screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment (SBIRT) approach to substance use disorder (NAC 630.156(2); NRS 630.253(2)(c)), persons with substance use and other addictive disorders and the prescribing of opioids (NAC 630.156(1); NRS 630.2535), stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV (NAC 630.1563; NRS 630.253(2)(f)), and cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion (NAC 630.1567; NRS 630.253(2)(d)).
- Do Nevada physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. Each educational program must offer a certificate of Category 1 credit as recognized by the American Medical Association, be approved by the Board, and be sponsored in whole or in part by an organization accredited or deemed equivalent by the AMA or the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (NAC 630.153(1)).
- Is the first Nevada MD renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Nevada applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- NAC Chapter 630, Physicians and Physician Assistants (NAC 630.153 to 630.157, continuing education)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- NRS Chapter 630, Physicians, Physician Assistants and Others (NRS 630.253, 630.2535, 630.267)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Continuing Education Requirements, Nevada State Board of Medical ExaminersState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Licensees and Applicants, Nevada State Board of Medical ExaminersState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Nevada regulates MDs and DOs through two separate boards. This record covers only physicians licensed by the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners under NRS chapter 630; osteopathic physicians are licensed by the Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine under NRS chapter 633 and have different hours, a different cycle and different mandated topics. Hours, the biennial cycle, the June 30 odd-year date and every mandated topic were read from NAC chapter 630 and NRS chapter 630 on the Nevada Legislature site. The board's own CME page at medboard.nv.gov/Licensees/CE/ carries no requirement text in HTML: the detail lives only in a PDF (CME_Requirements_MDs_PAs_AAs.pdf) that was deliberately not downloaded, so the board's own summary was not cross-checked. Record retention and whether the board audits CME were not stated in the statute or the regulations and are left null. Two mandated topics use non-canonical snake_case keys because no listed key fits: bioterrorism for the weapon of mass destruction course, and substance_use_disorder for the SBIRT training.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.