Skip to main content
CredNet

Nevada Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Nevada nurse anesthetists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing.

A Nevada nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus a certificate of registration as a certified registered nurse anesthetist. NAC 632.540(1) states that the CRNA certificate of registration expires biennially upon expiration of the holder's registered nurse license, and Nevada nursing licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. Renewal is filed in the Nevada Nurse Portal. The certificate is renewed on evidence that the Nevada RN license has been renewed, evidence of current NBCRNA certification, and documentation of the required continuing education. A CRNA certificate also expires automatically whenever there is a lapse in NBCRNA national certification.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
45
contact hours
Mandated topics
5
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Nevada nurse anesthetists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing. A Nevada nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus a certificate of registration as a certified registered nurse anesthetist. NAC 632.540(1) states that the CRNA certificate of registration expires biennially upon expiration of the holder's registered nurse license, and Nevada nursing licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. Renewal is filed in the Nevada Nurse Portal. The certificate is renewed on evidence that the Nevada RN license has been renewed, evidence of current NBCRNA certification, and documentation of the required continuing education. A CRNA certificate also expires automatically whenever there is a lapse in NBCRNA national certification. Nevada also mandates specific subjects. Bioterrorism: a one-time requirement of 4 contact hours. Cultural competency: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle. Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (nurses, expressly including CRNAs, who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care). Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse). Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure).

Nevada Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle45 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesNBCRNA national recertification occurring within one year before the nurse anesthetist's birthday, which the board will consider sufficient evidence of 40 contact hours of continuing education related to nurse anesthesia practice and of validation of professional practice during the previous two years (NAC 632.540(3)); Academic credit taken as part of an education program for a higher nursing degree, at 15 contact hours per semester credit or 10 contact hours per quarter credit; Cultural competency training provided by an employing facility under NRS 449.103 and approved by the board, which counts toward the cultural competency hours

Nevada states the CRNA total two ways and both come to 45 contact hours per two year cycle. NAC 632.540(2)(c) requires, for renewal of the certificate of registration, documentation of 45 contact hours of continuing education related to practice as a nurse anesthetist. The board's continuing education table reaches the same figure by layering: the RN column requires 30 hours per renewal and the CRNA column requires an additional 15 hours each renewal cycle. Sixty minutes of participation equals one contact hour. NAC 632.540(3) provides a partial alternative: if NBCRNA recertification occurs within one year before the nurse anesthetist's birthday, the board will treat it as sufficient evidence of 40 contact hours and of practice validation for the previous two years; the rule does not say how the remaining 5 hours are treated, so a licensee relying on that path should confirm with the board. The mandatory bioterrorism and cultural competency hours below count inside the total rather than on top of it.

Required CE topics for Nevada certified registered nurse anesthetists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
BioterrorismThe board's continuing education table shows 4 hours one time for LPNs, RNs, APRNs and CRNAs alike. An approved course must cover an overview of acts of terrorism and weapons of mass destruction, personal protective equipment, common symptoms and treatment for chemical, biological, radioactive and nuclear exposure, syndromic surveillance and reporting, and the Health Alert Network.4 contact hoursOne timeAll licenseesNot stated
Cultural competencyIncreased from 2 hours to 4 hours as of January 1, 2024. The board states the 4 hours are part of the mandatory 30 hours already required by law rather than an addition to the total, and they may be made up of any number of board approved courses. An approved course must draw on a range of research and address persons of different gender, racial, ethnic and religious backgrounds, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning persons, children and senior citizens, veterans, persons with mental illness, and persons with an intellectual, developmental or physical disability.4 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesNRS 632.343
Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIVThe board quotes the statutory language as applying to licensed nurses including RNs, LPNs, CRNAs and APRNs, and the table shows the same entry in the CRNA column as in the RN and APRN columns. The 2 hours must be completed within 2 years after beginning to provide or supervise that care, so it is triggered by practice setting rather than by the renewal cycle.2 contact hoursOne timenurses, expressly including CRNAs, who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary careSB 439 (2023)
Evidence-based suicide prevention and awarenessTwo obligations combine. NRS 632.343(3)(a)(1) requires an advanced practice registered nurse to complete at least 2 hours on suicide prevention and awareness within 2 years after initial licensure, and NRS 632.343(6) requires the board to make each advanced practice registered nurse take at least 2 hours every 4 years on evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness or another board approved course. The frequency is periodic rather than every cycle because the four year clock does not line up with the two year renewal. Added here 2026-09-10; the requirement was previously absent from this record.2 contact hoursPeriodicEvery person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurseNRS 632.343(3)(a)(1) and NRS 632.343(6)
Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorderAt least 2 hours, one time, within 2 years after initial licensure. Unlike the recurring opioid and controlled substance training, it is not conditioned on prescribing or dispensing authority: the paragraph reaches every advanced practice registered nurse. NRS 632.0193 defines the approach as an evidence-based method of delivering early intervention and treatment to persons who have or are at risk of developing a substance use disorder. Added here 2026-09-10; the requirement was previously absent from this record.2 contact hoursOne timeEvery person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensureNRS 632.343(3)(d)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersA provider is accepted if it is an academic institution, holds a Nevada continuing education provider number, is approved by another state nursing board or health related board, or is recognized by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, the American Nurses Credentialing Center Commission on Accreditation, the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners, or the National League for Nursing. The board states that MEDCEU is not an approved provider.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Nevada CRNA need to renew?
Nevada nurse anesthetists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing. Nevada states the CRNA total two ways and both come to 45 contact hours per two year cycle. NAC 632.540(2)(c) requires, for renewal of the certificate of registration, documentation of 45 contact hours of continuing education related to practice as a nurse anesthetist. The board's continuing education table reaches the same figure by layering: the RN column requires 30 hours per renewal and the CRNA column requires an additional 15 hours each renewal cycle. Sixty minutes of participation equals one contact hour. NAC 632.540(3) provides a partial alternative: if NBCRNA recertification occurs within one year before the nurse anesthetist's birthday, the board will treat it as sufficient evidence of 40 contact hours and of practice validation for the previous two years; the rule does not say how the remaining 5 hours are treated, so a licensee relying on that path should confirm with the board. The mandatory bioterrorism and cultural competency hours below count inside the total rather than on top of it.
How often does a Nevada CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Nevada renew every two years. A Nevada nurse anesthetist holds a registered nurse license plus a certificate of registration as a certified registered nurse anesthetist. NAC 632.540(1) states that the CRNA certificate of registration expires biennially upon expiration of the holder's registered nurse license, and Nevada nursing licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. Renewal is filed in the Nevada Nurse Portal. The certificate is renewed on evidence that the Nevada RN license has been renewed, evidence of current NBCRNA certification, and documentation of the required continuing education. A CRNA certificate also expires automatically whenever there is a lapse in NBCRNA national certification.
What specific CE topics are required for Nevada nurse anesthetists?
Bioterrorism: a one-time requirement of 4 contact hours. Cultural competency: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle. Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (nurses, expressly including CRNAs, who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services in a hospital or primary care). Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse). Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Citations: cultural competency (NRS 632.343), stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have acquired or are at high risk of acquiring HIV (SB 439 (2023)), Evidence-based suicide prevention and awareness (NRS 632.343(3)(a)(1) and NRS 632.343(6)), and screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder (NRS 632.343(3)(d)).
Do Nevada nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. A provider is accepted if it is an academic institution, holds a Nevada continuing education provider number, is approved by another state nursing board or health related board, or is recognized by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, the American Nurses Credentialing Center Commission on Accreditation, the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners, or the National League for Nursing. The board states that MEDCEU is not an approved provider.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Nevada is one of the states with a genuinely CRNA specific rule rather than a shared advanced practice rule: NAC 632.495 through 632.550 is a dedicated set of sections for certified registered nurse anesthetists, and NAC 632.540 sets the renewal conditions and the 45 hour figure directly. The board's continuing education table also gives the CRNA its own column, separate from the APRN column, and that is where the CRNA carve outs appear. Two requirements that bind APRNs do not reach a CRNA. Suicide prevention, 2 hours every 4 years, is marked as required only in the APRN column and as optional in the CNA, LPN, RN and CRNA columns. The SBIRT row and the opioid training row, each 2 hours every renewal cycle, carry a value only in the APRN column and are blank for CRNAs, and the opioid row is further scoped in the board's own wording to APRNs registered to dispense controlled substances. The one time 8 hour requirement on treating and managing patients with opioid or other substance use disorder is likewise shown only in the APRN column; it originates in the federal DEA registration renewal requirement rather than in Nevada law, so a DEA registered nurse anesthetist may owe it federally even though the board's table does not place it in the CRNA column. Bioterrorism, cultural competency and the HIV stigma requirement do reach CRNAs and are recorded above. NRS 632.343 exempts RNs and LPNs from the 30 hour requirement for the first biennial period after graduation, but the board states that new nurses must still complete the one time bioterrorism course and the cultural competency course; no equivalent first renewal exemption for the CRNA certificate appears in NAC 632.540, so exempt_first_renewal is left null. Documentation is by attestation on the renewal application, with random audits; the board recommends but does not require keeping continuing education certificates for at least four years and the bioterrorism certificate indefinitely, so retention_years is left null. Corrected 2026-09-10 after reading NRS 632.343 in full on the Nevada Legislature site. Both requirements reach every advanced practice registered nurse and neither is conditioned on prescriptive authority, so they apply to a nurse anesthetist. suicide prevention added; SBIRT added.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nevada State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.