Nevada Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements
Nevada pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy.
A certificate of registration as a pharmacist expires on October 31 of each odd-numbered year and is renewed biennially. Online renewal opens September 1 before the expiration date. The renewal application, the fee, all required information and proof of compliance with continuing professional education must reach the board's executive secretary on or before the expiration date, and if a paper renewal is not postmarked by that date the registration is automatically forfeited. Other certificates, licenses and permits the board issues expire on October 31 of each even-numbered year, so pharmacist registrations sit on the opposite year from most other board credentials.
Summary
Nevada pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. A certificate of registration as a pharmacist expires on October 31 of each odd-numbered year and is renewed biennially. Online renewal opens September 1 before the expiration date. The renewal application, the fee, all required information and proof of compliance with continuing professional education must reach the board's executive secretary on or before the expiration date, and if a paper renewal is not postmarked by that date the registration is automatically forfeited. Other certificates, licenses and permits the board issues expire on October 31 of each even-numbered year, so pharmacist registrations sit on the opposite year from most other board credentials. Nevada also mandates specific subjects. Nevada pharmacy law continuing education: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (pharmacists living or practicing in Nevada. An applicant residing and practicing outside Nevada, including one on active duty in the Armed Forces and stationed outside the state, is exempt from this hour.). Life cycle of diseases, drugs and administration of immunizations: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (pharmacists who administer immunizations, and intern pharmacists administering immunizations under their direct and immediate supervision). Certification in basic life support: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists who administer immunizations, and intern pharmacists administering immunizations under their direct and immediate supervision). Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Nevada Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 10/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Attending an entire day of a board meeting in person, worth four continuing education units, which supplies the one law hour plus three further acceptable hours, provided the board meets at least four hours that day and the pharmacist attends the whole day; A certificate of registration from another state, accepted as proof of compliance if it is valid for no more than two years, that state's continuing education requirements equal or exceed Nevada's, and the pharmacist is registered in Nevada but does not currently practice here |
Nevada counts what it calls continuing education units, but NAC 639.315 defines a continuing education unit as one full hour devoted to continuing education related to the practice of pharmacy. This is the opposite of the ACPE convention: a Nevada unit is one contact hour, not ten, so the requirement is recorded in contact hours and no conversion applies. Thirty units must be earned within the biennium immediately preceding the current renewal period, and the board describes that cycle as running from November 1 of one odd-numbered year to October 31 of the following odd-numbered year, which matches the biennial renewal. Excess units earned in a previous biennium may not be carried over. Work-related experience acquired outside the practice of pharmacy does not count. The board prorates at 1.25 hours per month: an applicant is exempt for two years after receiving a pharmacy degree from an accredited school or college of pharmacy, and after that exemption ends the pharmacist owes 1.25 hours for each remaining month of the cycle, so a new graduate's first renewal may be fully exempt, partly prorated, or owe the full thirty hours depending on the graduation date. An applicant registered under NRS 639.134 is likewise prorated at 1.25 units per month to the next biennial renewal, and a student of a health profession who attended at least 30 hours of health care instruction during a biennial renewal period is exempt from all of NAC 639.330. The rule sets no live or interactive minimum and no cap on home study or online hours; the only sourcing constraint is the approved provider list. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; pharmaceutical technicians and technicians in training are separate registrations whose requirement is one hour of Nevada law CE plus 12 hours of in-service training over two years, and they are not covered by this record.
Required CE topics for Nevada pharmacists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nevada pharmacy law continuing educationAt least one of the thirty units must be earned in a jurisprudence program approved or presented by the board relating to the practice of pharmacy or Nevada pharmacy law, or by attending an entire day of a board meeting. The board offers the law hour free through its own online program, through live programs a board member presents, or through in person attendance at a full day of a board meeting. It counts toward the thirty hours rather than adding to them. The board notes that its free law CE is not reported to CPE Monitor. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | Pharmacists living or practicing in Nevada. An applicant residing and practicing outside Nevada, including one on active duty in the Armed Forces and stationed outside the state, is exempt from this hour. | NAC 639.330(3); exemption at NAC 639.335(3) |
| Life cycle of diseases, drugs and administration of immunizationsDue annually rather than once per biennial cycle: on or before October 31 of each year, the pharmacist must complete at least two hours of continuing education addressing the life cycle of diseases, drugs and administration of immunizations, or a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention course on epidemiology and prevention of vaccine preventable diseases. A pharmaceutical technician administering immunizations under supervision has a separate one hour annual requirement. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | Pharmacists who administer immunizations, and intern pharmacists administering immunizations under their direct and immediate supervision | NAC 639.2974(1)(b) |
| Certification in basic life supportNot continuing education hours. The pharmacist must maintain basic life support certification from the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, or an equivalent organization approved by the board. | Not stated | Every renewal | Pharmacists who administer immunizations, and intern pharmacists administering immunizations under their direct and immediate supervision | NAC 639.2974(1)(a) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Continuing education units must come from a program or course provided by the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine, Touro University Nevada, Roseman University of Health Sciences, the Department of Human Services, the Nevada Health Authority or the board, or accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. Providers keep participation records for four years and issue certificates of completion showing the participant, the provider, a description of the course, the units completed and the date. The pharmacist keeps the certificate of completion for four years after finishing the course and submits a copy to the board on request so the board can verify completion. The board instructs licensees not to send continuing education records in with the renewal form, even though NAC 639.330(1) is worded as the board not renewing until the applicant submits proof, so in practice completion is declared at renewal and the certificates are produced when the board asks. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Nevada RPh/PharmD need to renew?
- Nevada pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. Nevada counts what it calls continuing education units, but NAC 639.315 defines a continuing education unit as one full hour devoted to continuing education related to the practice of pharmacy. This is the opposite of the ACPE convention: a Nevada unit is one contact hour, not ten, so the requirement is recorded in contact hours and no conversion applies. Thirty units must be earned within the biennium immediately preceding the current renewal period, and the board describes that cycle as running from November 1 of one odd-numbered year to October 31 of the following odd-numbered year, which matches the biennial renewal. Excess units earned in a previous biennium may not be carried over. Work-related experience acquired outside the practice of pharmacy does not count. The board prorates at 1.25 hours per month: an applicant is exempt for two years after receiving a pharmacy degree from an accredited school or college of pharmacy, and after that exemption ends the pharmacist owes 1.25 hours for each remaining month of the cycle, so a new graduate's first renewal may be fully exempt, partly prorated, or owe the full thirty hours depending on the graduation date. An applicant registered under NRS 639.134 is likewise prorated at 1.25 units per month to the next biennial renewal, and a student of a health profession who attended at least 30 hours of health care instruction during a biennial renewal period is exempt from all of NAC 639.330. The rule sets no live or interactive minimum and no cap on home study or online hours; the only sourcing constraint is the approved provider list. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; pharmaceutical technicians and technicians in training are separate registrations whose requirement is one hour of Nevada law CE plus 12 hours of in-service training over two years, and they are not covered by this record.
- How often does a Nevada RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
- Pharmacist licenses in Nevada renew every two years. A certificate of registration as a pharmacist expires on October 31 of each odd-numbered year and is renewed biennially. Online renewal opens September 1 before the expiration date. The renewal application, the fee, all required information and proof of compliance with continuing professional education must reach the board's executive secretary on or before the expiration date, and if a paper renewal is not postmarked by that date the registration is automatically forfeited. Other certificates, licenses and permits the board issues expire on October 31 of each even-numbered year, so pharmacist registrations sit on the opposite year from most other board credentials.
- What specific CE topics are required for Nevada pharmacists?
- Nevada pharmacy law continuing education: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (pharmacists living or practicing in Nevada. An applicant residing and practicing outside Nevada, including one on active duty in the Armed Forces and stationed outside the state, is exempt from this hour.). Life cycle of diseases, drugs and administration of immunizations: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (pharmacists who administer immunizations, and intern pharmacists administering immunizations under their direct and immediate supervision). Certification in basic life support: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists who administer immunizations, and intern pharmacists administering immunizations under their direct and immediate supervision). Citations: nevada pharmacy law continuing education (NAC 639.330(3); exemption at NAC 639.335(3)), life cycle of diseases, drugs and administration of immunizations (NAC 639.2974(1)(b)), and certification in basic life support (NAC 639.2974(1)(a)).
- Do Nevada pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Continuing education units must come from a program or course provided by the University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine, Touro University Nevada, Roseman University of Health Sciences, the Department of Human Services, the Nevada Health Authority or the board, or accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. Providers keep participation records for four years and issue certificates of completion showing the participant, the provider, a description of the course, the units completed and the date. The pharmacist keeps the certificate of completion for four years after finishing the course and submits a copy to the board on request so the board can verify completion. The board instructs licensees not to send continuing education records in with the renewal form, even though NAC 639.330(1) is worded as the board not renewing until the applicant submits proof, so in practice completion is declared at renewal and the certificates are produced when the board asks.
Sources
Last verified September 11, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- NAC Chapter 639, Pharmacists and Pharmacy, Nevada Administrative Code (Nevada Legislature)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 11, 2026
- NRS Chapter 639, Pharmacists and Pharmacy, Nevada Revised Statutes (Nevada Legislature)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 11, 2026
- Continuing Education, Nevada State Board of PharmacyState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
- Renewal of a License, Nevada State Board of PharmacyState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
Everything here comes from official hosts: NAC 639.300 to 639.390 and NRS 639.180 were read in full on the Nevada Legislature site, and the thirty hour total, the November 1 to October 31 odd-year cycle, the 1.25 hours per month proration, the two year graduation exemption, the one hour of Nevada law and the four year retention are restated on the board's own continuing education page. The biggest trap in this state runs the other way from the usual pharmacy one: Nevada calls its unit a continuing education unit but defines it at NAC 639.315 as one full hour, so thirty Nevada units is thirty contact hours, not three hundred. Commercial continuing education vendors describe a minimum of 15 hours from ACPE accredited providers; no such split appears in NAC 639.330 as amended by R120-21 effective September 28, 2022, which instead lists the acceptable providers, so the split is not recorded here. There is no automatic first renewal exemption to record: the exemption runs for two years from the pharmacy degree and the remainder of the cycle is prorated, so exempt_first_renewal is left null and the mechanism is described in the continuing education notes. The board mentions CPE Monitor only to say its own free law CE is not reported to it, and neither the rules nor the board pages require CPE Monitor reporting, so no CPE Monitor requirement is recorded. Two topic keys, immunization and cpr_certification, are not on the canonical list and were coined for this record; both are scoped to pharmacists who administer immunizations, and the immunization hours are due annually rather than once per biennial cycle. NAPLEX and MPJE are entry examinations and are not recorded as continuing education. Nothing here was carried over from Nevada's nursing statutes, which set their own separate continuing education mandates in a different chapter.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.