Nevada Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements
Nevada nurse practitioners must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing.
Nevada nursing licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. An original license runs from the date of issuance to the licensee's second birthday after issuance, and each license expires biennially on the birthday after that. Renewal is filed in the Nevada Nurse Portal, and the advanced practice registered nurse renewal includes an attestation that the required continuing education was completed.
Summary
Nevada nurse practitioners must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing. Nevada nursing licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. An original license runs from the date of issuance to the licensee's second birthday after issuance, and each license expires biennially on the birthday after that. Renewal is filed in the Nevada Nurse Portal, and the advanced practice registered nurse renewal includes an attestation that the required continuing education was completed. Nevada also mandates specific subjects. Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle. Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction: a one-time requirement of 4 contact hours (every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Suicide prevention: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Opioid training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (nurses who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services). Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure).
Nevada Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 45 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
The obligation is layered. The board's continuing education table sets 30 hours per renewal for the RN license and an additional 15 hours per renewal cycle for the advanced practice registered nurse, so a nurse practitioner owes 45 contact hours per two year cycle in total. The board describes the extra 15 hours as related to the advanced practice role and population focus. The board's table states no separate pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour count for nurse practitioners; the closest subject mandate is the two hour opioid training required of APRNs every renewal cycle, recorded in mandatory_topics. The four hour cultural competency requirement counts within the total. NAC 632.291 sets the renewal mechanics for the advanced practice license: the licensee attests on a board form that the continuing education required by the board was completed, and the board runs random audits and can demand evidence of completion. The board's table is written for the APRN generally and shows the same 15 additional hours for the CRNA, so the requirement is the shared advanced practice rule rather than a nurse practitioner specific one.
Required CE topics for Nevada nurse practitioners
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusionThe board's continuing education table shows four hours every renewal cycle for LPNs, RNs, APRNs and CRNAs, counting within the required hours. The board notes the requirement increased in 2024. | 4 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | NRS 632.343 |
| Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destructionThe board's table lists four hours, one time, for LPNs, RNs, APRNs and CRNAs. Recorded under the infection_control key because no canonical key covers bioterrorism or weapons of mass destruction preparedness; see verification_notes. Topic key corrected 2026-09-10 from infection_control to bioterrorism. NRS 632.343(3)(b) requires a 4 hour course on the medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction, covering personal protective equipment, chemical, biological, radioactive and nuclear agents, syndromic surveillance and the Health Alert Network. It is not infection control. The Nevada registered nurse, nurse anesthetist and nurse midwife records all use bioterrorism. | 4 contact hours | One time | Every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure | NRS 632.343(3)(b) |
| Suicide preventionTwo hours every four years. The board's table marks this as required for APRNs and optional for RNs and LPNs, so it is an advanced practice specific requirement. Frequency is recorded as periodic because it is every four years rather than every two year cycle. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | All licensees | Not stated |
| Opioid trainingTwo hours every renewal cycle. The board's table marks this as required for APRNs and CRNAs and not for RNs or LPNs. The table also lists a separate one time course on treating and managing patients with opioid use or other substance use disorders for DEA registered practitioners, which is the federal DEA requirement rather than a board requirement and is not recorded here. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
| Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have or are at high risk of acquiring HIVThe board's table says to complete it within two years after beginning to provide or supervise the provision of such care. The table does not state an hour count in the row that was read; the parallel medical board rule for physician assistants sets two hours. Hours set to 2 on 2026-09-10: NRS 632.343(3)(e) requires at least 2 hours. | 2 contact hours | One time | Nurses who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services | NRS 632.343(3)(e); 2023 Senate Bill 439 |
| Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorderAt least 2 hours, one time, within 2 years after initial licensure. Unlike the recurring opioid and controlled substance training, it is not conditioned on prescribing or dispensing authority: the paragraph reaches every advanced practice registered nurse. NRS 632.0193 defines the approach as an evidence-based method of delivering early intervention and treatment to persons who have or are at risk of developing a substance use disorder. Added here 2026-09-10; the requirement was previously absent from this record. | 2 contact hours | One time | Every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure | NRS 632.343(3)(d) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Nevada NP need to renew?
- Nevada nurse practitioners must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Nevada State Board of Nursing. The obligation is layered. The board's continuing education table sets 30 hours per renewal for the RN license and an additional 15 hours per renewal cycle for the advanced practice registered nurse, so a nurse practitioner owes 45 contact hours per two year cycle in total. The board describes the extra 15 hours as related to the advanced practice role and population focus. The board's table states no separate pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour count for nurse practitioners; the closest subject mandate is the two hour opioid training required of APRNs every renewal cycle, recorded in mandatory_topics. The four hour cultural competency requirement counts within the total. NAC 632.291 sets the renewal mechanics for the advanced practice license: the licensee attests on a board form that the continuing education required by the board was completed, and the board runs random audits and can demand evidence of completion. The board's table is written for the APRN generally and shows the same 15 additional hours for the CRNA, so the requirement is the shared advanced practice rule rather than a nurse practitioner specific one.
- How often does a Nevada NP license need to be renewed?
- Nurse Practitioner licenses in Nevada renew every two years. Nevada nursing licenses expire on the licensee's birthday every two years. An original license runs from the date of issuance to the licensee's second birthday after issuance, and each license expires biennially on the birthday after that. Renewal is filed in the Nevada Nurse Portal, and the advanced practice registered nurse renewal includes an attestation that the required continuing education was completed.
- What specific CE topics are required for Nevada nurse practitioners?
- Cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle. Medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction: a one-time requirement of 4 contact hours (every person licensed under chapter 632 of NRS, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Suicide prevention: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board. Opioid training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have or are at high risk of acquiring HIV: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (nurses who provide or supervise the provision of emergency medical services). Screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every person licensed as an advanced practice registered nurse, to be completed within 2 years after initial licensure). Citations: cultural competency and diversity, equity and inclusion (NRS 632.343), medical consequences of an act of terrorism involving a weapon of mass destruction (NRS 632.343(3)(b)), stigma, discrimination and unrecognized bias toward persons who have or are at high risk of acquiring HIV (NRS 632.343(3)(e); 2023 Senate Bill 439), and screening, brief intervention and referral to treatment approach to substance use disorder (NRS 632.343(3)(d)).
- Do Nevada nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Education, Nevada State Board of Nursing (requirements table by license type)State board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- NAC Chapter 632, Nursing (NAC 632.290 expiration and renewal, NAC 632.291 APRN renewal, continuing education and audits)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
The 30 hour RN base and the additional 15 hours per cycle for the advanced practice registered nurse, along with every mandated subject and its frequency, were read in the board's own continuing education requirements table. The biennial birthday expiration was read in NAC 632.290 and the APRN attestation and random audit process in NAC 632.291. Two topic keys are not canonical fits: the bioterrorism course is filed under infection_control and the cultural competency course under cultural_competency, which is canonical. No pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutics hour requirement appears in the board's table, so none is recorded. The board's APRN renewal FAQ, which is where the board explains the 45 hour total and the practice hour requirement in prose, is published only as a PDF and was not opened, so figures that appear only there (for example a minimum number of practice hours as an APRN) are not recorded. Nevada treats CRNA as an APRN role with the same additional 15 hours; this record is the nurse practitioner role only, and the requirement is the shared advanced practice rule. Corrected 2026-09-10 after reading NRS 632.343 in full on the Nevada Legislature site. bioterrorism relabelled; hiv_aids hours 2; SBIRT added.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nevada State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.