Nevada Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Nevada physical therapists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Nevada Physical Therapy Board.
Licenses renew annually. Under NRS 640.150 a license expires one year after the date it was issued or on the date prescribed by the Board, whichever is later, and may still be renewed within 30 days after expiration. Renewal is done through the licensee portal and CE Broker and can be started up to 60 days before the expiration date; NAC 640 describes the continuing education certification period as August 1 through July 31.
Summary
Nevada physical therapists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Nevada Physical Therapy Board. Licenses renew annually. Under NRS 640.150 a license expires one year after the date it was issued or on the date prescribed by the Board, whichever is later, and may still be renewed within 30 days after expiration. Renewal is done through the licensee portal and CE Broker and can be started up to 60 days before the expiration date; NAC 640 describes the continuing education certification period as August 1 through July 31. Nevada also mandates specific subjects. Cultural, Access, and Ethical Standards (DEI): 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Nevada Jurisprudence Exam (NVJAM): required every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Nevada Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Board-specific scheduleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 15 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Advanced competency: ABPTS specialist certification exam, accredited residency, or accredited fellowship (up to 14 CCUs); Professional activities, capped at 8 CCUs total: attendance at NVPTB or APTA Nevada meetings, board or committee work, college coursework, in-services, pro bono PT service, primary clinical instruction, peer-reviewed publication, teaching a continuing competency course, mentorship, professional advocacy, Healthy Practice Resource modules |
The board counts continuing competence units (CCUs) and defines 1 CCU as 1 hour, so the 15 CCU annual minimum is recorded as 15 contact hours. NAC 640.400 states the same requirement as 1.5 units of approved coursework in the year before renewal, where a unit is 10 hours of instruction (NAC 640.006), with not more than 0.8 units (8 hours) in nonclinical courses. The board's Continuing Competency Model says CCUs above the minimum earn no extra credit and cannot be carried over, and NAC 640.400(6) allows a specific course to count only once in a 3-year period. First-year rules under NAC 640.400: a person first licensed between February 1 and July 31 owes no CE for the licensing period ending that July 31; a person licensed between August 1 and January 31 owes 0.125 units (1.25 hours) per month licensed; a graduate of an approved program licensed within 12 months before the renewal date owes no CE for the year of initial licensure. Professional activities are capped at 8 CCUs and advanced competency at 14 CCUs toward the minimum; approved courses and conferences can supply up to 14 CCUs, with the remaining 1 CCU being the Cultural, Access, and Ethical Standards requirement.
Required CE topics for Nevada physical therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cultural, Access, and Ethical Standards (DEI)Effective January 1, 2025, 1 CCU of activities or courses on Cultural, Access, and Ethical Standards (DEI) is required within the year before license expiration. It counts toward the 15 CCUs rather than in addition to them; the board publishes a list of eligible courses. Stated in the board's Continuing Competency Model and renewal page, not in the NAC 640 text fetched. | 1 contact hour | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
| Nevada Jurisprudence Exam (NVJAM)The board's renewal page states licensees must complete the free, open-book Nevada Jurisprudence Exam annually; it appears inside the renewal in the licensee portal and cannot be taken before the renewal is started. No CCU value is stated. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must be approved for Nevada by the board's Advisory Committee on Continuing Competency (ACCC); CAPTE-accredited PT programs are recognized providers without applying (NAC 640.410). Licensees report all CCU activities through CE Broker as part of renewal, with documentation uploaded during renewal; an unapproved course can be submitted for ACCC review through CE Broker. Certificates of completion must be kept for 4 years after the course (NAC 640.510(3)) and the board conducts random audits of renewed licensees (NAC 640.510(4)). |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Nevada PT need to renew?
- Nevada physical therapists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Nevada Physical Therapy Board. The board counts continuing competence units (CCUs) and defines 1 CCU as 1 hour, so the 15 CCU annual minimum is recorded as 15 contact hours. NAC 640.400 states the same requirement as 1.5 units of approved coursework in the year before renewal, where a unit is 10 hours of instruction (NAC 640.006), with not more than 0.8 units (8 hours) in nonclinical courses. The board's Continuing Competency Model says CCUs above the minimum earn no extra credit and cannot be carried over, and NAC 640.400(6) allows a specific course to count only once in a 3-year period. First-year rules under NAC 640.400: a person first licensed between February 1 and July 31 owes no CE for the licensing period ending that July 31; a person licensed between August 1 and January 31 owes 0.125 units (1.25 hours) per month licensed; a graduate of an approved program licensed within 12 months before the renewal date owes no CE for the year of initial licensure. Professional activities are capped at 8 CCUs and advanced competency at 14 CCUs toward the minimum; approved courses and conferences can supply up to 14 CCUs, with the remaining 1 CCU being the Cultural, Access, and Ethical Standards requirement.
- How often does a Nevada PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Nevada renew every year. Licenses renew annually. Under NRS 640.150 a license expires one year after the date it was issued or on the date prescribed by the Board, whichever is later, and may still be renewed within 30 days after expiration. Renewal is done through the licensee portal and CE Broker and can be started up to 60 days before the expiration date; NAC 640 describes the continuing education certification period as August 1 through July 31.
- What specific CE topics are required for Nevada physical therapists?
- Cultural, Access, and Ethical Standards (DEI): 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Nevada Jurisprudence Exam (NVJAM): required every renewal cycle.
- Do Nevada physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Courses must be approved for Nevada by the board's Advisory Committee on Continuing Competency (ACCC); CAPTE-accredited PT programs are recognized providers without applying (NAC 640.410). Licensees report all CCU activities through CE Broker as part of renewal, with documentation uploaded during renewal; an unapproved course can be submitted for ACCC review through CE Broker. Certificates of completion must be kept for 4 years after the course (NAC 640.510(3)) and the board conducts random audits of renewed licensees (NAC 640.510(4)).
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 640, Physical Therapists (NAC 640.006, 640.400 through 640.510)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 640, NRS 640.150 Renewal; expiration and reinstatement of license; continuing competencyStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- License Renewal and Continuing Competence, Nevada Physical Therapy BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Nevada Physical Therapy Board Continuing Competency Model (2026)State board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Continuing Competence Overview, Nevada Physical Therapy BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- FAQs, Nevada Physical Therapy BoardState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Annual cycle and the 15-hour requirement are confirmed by both NAC 640.400 (1.5 units at 10 hours per unit) and the board's renewal page and Continuing Competency Model (15 CCUs at 1 hour per CCU), so the two sources agree once units are converted. The DEI requirement and the annual jurisprudence exam appear only on board materials, not in the NAC text fetched; the board's site lists them as renewal requirements. NRS 640.150 ties expiration to one year after issuance or a board-prescribed date, so basis is recorded as other; the exact expiration date for a given licensee is shown in the licensee portal. NAC 640 does not cap online or self-study hours; the model only caps professional activities (8) and advanced competency (14). The board's older uploadedFiles path for the model returns 404; the current 2026 PDF is cited.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Nevada Physical Therapy Board before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.