Skip to main content
CredNet

Missouri Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements

Missouri does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years.

Missouri licenses the nurse midwife as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in its own right. RSMo 335.016(2) defines APRN as a person licensed to engage in the practice of advanced practice nursing as a certified clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, certified nurse practitioner or certified registered nurse anesthetist, and RSMo 335.056.2 requires the APRN license and the registered professional nurse license to renew at the same time, as prescribed by rule. Registered nurse licenses expire April 30 of each odd numbered year and are renewable between February 1 and April 30 of that year through the MOPRO portal. There is no grace period: the board asks nurses to renew at least three business days before the expiration date, and a lapsed license requires a reinstatement application, additional fees and fingerprint background checks. 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(A) states that for certified APRNs the renewal period is one, two or three years as determined by the board and runs concurrent with the Missouri or other multistate registered nurse license; the two year cycle is recorded because that is the cycle the registered nurse license actually runs on. Failure to keep the registered nurse license current, or failure to provide the fee and primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body before the expiration date, lapses the APRN license. Losing the APRN license does not prevent the individual from practicing as a registered nurse.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Missouri does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years. Missouri licenses the nurse midwife as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in its own right. RSMo 335.016(2) defines APRN as a person licensed to engage in the practice of advanced practice nursing as a certified clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, certified nurse practitioner or certified registered nurse anesthetist, and RSMo 335.056.2 requires the APRN license and the registered professional nurse license to renew at the same time, as prescribed by rule. Registered nurse licenses expire April 30 of each odd numbered year and are renewable between February 1 and April 30 of that year through the MOPRO portal. There is no grace period: the board asks nurses to renew at least three business days before the expiration date, and a lapsed license requires a reinstatement application, additional fees and fingerprint background checks. 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(A) states that for certified APRNs the renewal period is one, two or three years as determined by the board and runs concurrent with the Missouri or other multistate registered nurse license; the two year cycle is recorded because that is the cycle the registered nurse license actually runs on. Failure to keep the registered nurse license current, or failure to provide the fee and primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body before the expiration date, lapses the APRN license. Losing the APRN license does not prevent the individual from practicing as a registered nurse.

Missouri Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 04/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

Missouri sets no contact hour count for a certified nurse midwife, and there is none underneath it either, because Missouri requires no continuing education to renew a registered nurse license. This matches the state's nurse practitioner and nurse anesthetist records. What a nurse midwife owes at renewal is the registered nurse license kept current, the practice and demographic information, the fee, and primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body before the expiration date. RSMo 335.016(6) defines certified nurse midwife as a registered nurse who is currently certified as a nurse midwife by the American Midwifery Certification Board or another nationally recognized certifying body approved by the board of nursing, so maintaining AMCB certification is a condition of holding the license rather than a source of state continuing education hours, and the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not adopted as a state requirement. One contact hour figure does appear in the rule but it does not reach a certified nurse midwife. 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(B) sets a separate renewal path for uncertified APRNs, meaning those the board approved as noncertified before January 1, 2010, requiring every two years a minimum of 800 hours of clinical practice in the advanced practice role and population focus and a minimum of 60 contact hours in that population focus area, with independent study or e-learning allowed for 100 percent of the hours and the American College of Nurse Midwives named among the accepted providers. That route has been closed to new entrants since January 1, 2010, an uncertified APRN may not reinstate an inactive license, and in any case a person who is not currently certified does not meet the statutory definition of a certified nurse midwife. Continuing education appears in one other place, again not at renewal: an APRN applying for controlled substance prescriptive authority may evidence the advanced pharmacology requirement with 45 continuing education units in pharmacology within the last five years, as an alternative to a transcript or a three credit hour post baccalaureate pharmacology course. Missouri controlled substance prescriptive authority runs through delegation in a collaborative practice arrangement with a Missouri licensed physician under RSMo 334.104.

Required CE topics for Missouri certified nurse-midwifes

The Missouri State Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersThere is no continuing education to document for a certified nurse midwife. What must reach the board before the expiration date is primary source evidence of recertification by a certifying body approved by the board, and the rule states that it is the APRN's responsibility to be sure the recertification credentials have been received. The APRN must also notify the board within five business days of any discipline or expiration of the APRN national certification. The board publishes its list of nationally recognized certifying bodies acceptable to it on the APRN general information page. For the closed uncertified APRN path the rule does name acceptable continuing education sources: nursing continuing education approved by an accredited provider or approver, approved continuing medical education, sponsorship by an organization accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or the Commission on Dietetic Registration, or provision by one of several named associations including the American College of Nurse Midwives.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Missouri CNM need to renew?
Missouri does not require continuing education for CNM license renewal, which happens every two years. Missouri sets no contact hour count for a certified nurse midwife, and there is none underneath it either, because Missouri requires no continuing education to renew a registered nurse license. This matches the state's nurse practitioner and nurse anesthetist records. What a nurse midwife owes at renewal is the registered nurse license kept current, the practice and demographic information, the fee, and primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body before the expiration date. RSMo 335.016(6) defines certified nurse midwife as a registered nurse who is currently certified as a nurse midwife by the American Midwifery Certification Board or another nationally recognized certifying body approved by the board of nursing, so maintaining AMCB certification is a condition of holding the license rather than a source of state continuing education hours, and the AMCB Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not adopted as a state requirement. One contact hour figure does appear in the rule but it does not reach a certified nurse midwife. 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(B) sets a separate renewal path for uncertified APRNs, meaning those the board approved as noncertified before January 1, 2010, requiring every two years a minimum of 800 hours of clinical practice in the advanced practice role and population focus and a minimum of 60 contact hours in that population focus area, with independent study or e-learning allowed for 100 percent of the hours and the American College of Nurse Midwives named among the accepted providers. That route has been closed to new entrants since January 1, 2010, an uncertified APRN may not reinstate an inactive license, and in any case a person who is not currently certified does not meet the statutory definition of a certified nurse midwife. Continuing education appears in one other place, again not at renewal: an APRN applying for controlled substance prescriptive authority may evidence the advanced pharmacology requirement with 45 continuing education units in pharmacology within the last five years, as an alternative to a transcript or a three credit hour post baccalaureate pharmacology course. Missouri controlled substance prescriptive authority runs through delegation in a collaborative practice arrangement with a Missouri licensed physician under RSMo 334.104.
How often does a Missouri CNM license need to be renewed?
Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Missouri renew every two years. Missouri licenses the nurse midwife as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse in its own right. RSMo 335.016(2) defines APRN as a person licensed to engage in the practice of advanced practice nursing as a certified clinical nurse specialist, certified nurse midwife, certified nurse practitioner or certified registered nurse anesthetist, and RSMo 335.056.2 requires the APRN license and the registered professional nurse license to renew at the same time, as prescribed by rule. Registered nurse licenses expire April 30 of each odd numbered year and are renewable between February 1 and April 30 of that year through the MOPRO portal. There is no grace period: the board asks nurses to renew at least three business days before the expiration date, and a lapsed license requires a reinstatement application, additional fees and fingerprint background checks. 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(A) states that for certified APRNs the renewal period is one, two or three years as determined by the board and runs concurrent with the Missouri or other multistate registered nurse license; the two year cycle is recorded because that is the cycle the registered nurse license actually runs on. Failure to keep the registered nurse license current, or failure to provide the fee and primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body before the expiration date, lapses the APRN license. Losing the APRN license does not prevent the individual from practicing as a registered nurse.
Do Missouri nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. There is no continuing education to document for a certified nurse midwife. What must reach the board before the expiration date is primary source evidence of recertification by a certifying body approved by the board, and the rule states that it is the APRN's responsibility to be sure the recertification credentials have been received. The APRN must also notify the board within five business days of any discipline or expiration of the APRN national certification. The board publishes its list of nationally recognized certifying bodies acceptable to it on the APRN general information page. For the closed uncertified APRN path the rule does name acceptable continuing education sources: nursing continuing education approved by an accredited provider or approver, approved continuing medical education, sponsorship by an organization accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or the Commission on Dietetic Registration, or provision by one of several named associations including the American College of Nurse Midwives.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Missouri follows the common pattern, with the strong form of it: the Board of Nursing does not certify the nurse midwife on top of a registered nurse license, it issues an APRN license. There is no board of midwifery for this credential and the medical board has no role in issuing it, although Missouri does route controlled substance prescriptive authority through a collaborative practice arrangement with a physician under RSMo 334.104. That the rules read govern the nurse midwife and not another kind of midwife was established from the statute: RSMo 335.016(6) defines certified nurse midwife as a registered nurse who is currently certified as a nurse midwife by the American Midwifery Certification Board or another nationally recognized certifying body approved by the board of nursing, and 20 CSR 2200-4.100(1)(F) lists certified nurse-midwife as one of the four advanced practice nursing roles. Because the statutory definition is written around current AMCB certification, a person practicing midwifery in Missouri without a registered nurse license and without that certification is not within this record at all. AMCB certification is a renewal condition and nothing more: it is not an alternative to state hours, because Missouri sets no state hours, and its five year Certificate Maintenance Program totals are deliberately not recorded. The layering question does not arise, since Missouri requires no continuing education for the registered nurse license underneath. Mandatory topics is empty: no opioid, pharmacology, implicit bias, human trafficking, suicide prevention, ethics or jurisprudence mandate was found in the statute sections or in the APRN rule. The one hour figure in the rule, 60 contact hours every two years, belongs to the uncertified APRN renewal path that closed to new entrants on January 1, 2010, and it is described in the continuing education notes rather than recorded as the requirement, because it cannot apply to someone who meets the statutory definition of a certified nurse midwife. Two source limitations are worth stating. The board's APRN Renewal and Maintenance Information page contains nothing but a link to a PDF titled Requirements to Maintain an Active Missouri APRN License, which the no download rule excludes, so anything stated only there is not captured; that URL is listed in the report. Missouri publishes the Code of State Regulations only as PDF on the Secretary of State's site, so 20 CSR 2200-4.100 is cited from the Cornell Legal Information Institute mirror and typed as third_party_summary. Nothing in that mirror contradicts the statute, and the values that carry this record, the two year April 30 cycle, the concurrent APRN renewal and the certification evidence requirement, were all read on official Missouri hosts.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Missouri State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.