Skip to main content
CredNet

Missouri Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

Missouri does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every two years.

The APRN license runs concurrent with the Missouri registered nurse license, which expires April 30 of each odd-numbered year and is renewable between February 1 and April 30 of that year through the MOPRO portal. The rule allows the board to set APRN renewal periods of one, two or three years, but they track the RN license, which is biennial. There is no grace period; the board asks nurses to renew at least three business days before expiration. An RN license placed on inactive or lapsed status automatically lapses the APRN license. Primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body must reach the board before the current expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Missouri does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every two years. The APRN license runs concurrent with the Missouri registered nurse license, which expires April 30 of each odd-numbered year and is renewable between February 1 and April 30 of that year through the MOPRO portal. The rule allows the board to set APRN renewal periods of one, two or three years, but they track the RN license, which is biennial. There is no grace period; the board asks nurses to renew at least three business days before expiration. An RN license placed on inactive or lapsed status automatically lapses the APRN license. Primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body must reach the board before the current expiration date.

Missouri Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 04/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

Missouri sets no contact hour count for a certified nurse practitioner, and there is no requirement underneath it either: 20 CSR 2200-4.020 requires only the renewal fee and nursing workforce data for an RN, with no continuing education. What the certified APRN owes at renewal under 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(A) is a current unencumbered RN license or multistate privilege, primary source evidence of recertification by a certifying body approved by the board delivered before the expiration date, notice to the board within five working days of any change in status, and compliance with Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs and federal DEA requirements. Failing the RN license or the recertification requirement lapses the APRN license, though the person may still practice as an RN. One narrow group does owe hours: an APRN the board approved as noncertified before January 1, 2010 must show, every two years, at least 800 hours of clinical practice in the advanced practice population focus and role plus at least 60 contact hours in that population focus area, from continuing nursing education approved by an accredited nursing continuing education provider or approver, approved continuing medical education, or programs sponsored by organizations accredited or approved by ANCC, ACCME, ACPE or the Commission on Dietetic Registration. For controlled substance prescriptive authority the board requires advanced pharmacology preparation, either a three credit hour post-baccalaureate advanced pharmacology course or 45 continuing education units in pharmacology within the last five years, which is a qualification for the certificate rather than a recurring renewal requirement.

Required CE topics for Missouri nurse practitioners

The Missouri State Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersRecertification is verified by primary source: the APRN is responsible for making sure the certifying body's recertification credentials reach the board before the expiration date. For the noncertified APRN group that owes hours, continuing education must be approved nursing continuing education, approved continuing medical education, or sponsored by organizations, agencies or educational institutions accredited or approved by ANCC, ACCME, ACPE or the Commission on Dietetic Registration.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Missouri NP need to renew?
Missouri does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every two years. Missouri sets no contact hour count for a certified nurse practitioner, and there is no requirement underneath it either: 20 CSR 2200-4.020 requires only the renewal fee and nursing workforce data for an RN, with no continuing education. What the certified APRN owes at renewal under 20 CSR 2200-4.100(5)(A) is a current unencumbered RN license or multistate privilege, primary source evidence of recertification by a certifying body approved by the board delivered before the expiration date, notice to the board within five working days of any change in status, and compliance with Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs and federal DEA requirements. Failing the RN license or the recertification requirement lapses the APRN license, though the person may still practice as an RN. One narrow group does owe hours: an APRN the board approved as noncertified before January 1, 2010 must show, every two years, at least 800 hours of clinical practice in the advanced practice population focus and role plus at least 60 contact hours in that population focus area, from continuing nursing education approved by an accredited nursing continuing education provider or approver, approved continuing medical education, or programs sponsored by organizations accredited or approved by ANCC, ACCME, ACPE or the Commission on Dietetic Registration. For controlled substance prescriptive authority the board requires advanced pharmacology preparation, either a three credit hour post-baccalaureate advanced pharmacology course or 45 continuing education units in pharmacology within the last five years, which is a qualification for the certificate rather than a recurring renewal requirement.
How often does a Missouri NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in Missouri renew every two years. The APRN license runs concurrent with the Missouri registered nurse license, which expires April 30 of each odd-numbered year and is renewable between February 1 and April 30 of that year through the MOPRO portal. The rule allows the board to set APRN renewal periods of one, two or three years, but they track the RN license, which is biennial. There is no grace period; the board asks nurses to renew at least three business days before expiration. An RN license placed on inactive or lapsed status automatically lapses the APRN license. Primary source evidence of recertification by a board approved certifying body must reach the board before the current expiration date.
Do Missouri nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. Recertification is verified by primary source: the APRN is responsible for making sure the certifying body's recertification credentials reach the board before the expiration date. For the noncertified APRN group that owes hours, continuing education must be approved nursing continuing education, approved continuing medical education, or sponsored by organizations, agencies or educational institutions accredited or approved by ANCC, ACCME, ACPE or the Commission on Dietetic Registration.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Missouri licenses the nurse practitioner as an APRN in one of four recognized roles, certified nurse practitioner alongside CRNA, CNM and clinical nurse specialist, so 20 CSR 2200-4.100 is the shared APRN rule. The rule text was read on the Cornell LII mirror because Missouri publishes 20 CSR 2200-4 only as a PDF on the Secretary of State's site, which was not downloaded; the renewal timing was read on the board's own pages. continuing_education.required is false because Missouri attaches no hour count to a certified nurse practitioner's renewal and none to the RN license underneath; the substance of the requirement is national recertification, which the notes state plainly rather than converting into a state hour figure. The 60 contact hour figure in the rule belongs to the legacy noncertified APRN group approved before January 1, 2010 and is described in the notes rather than recorded as the cycle total, since it does not describe what a nurse practitioner licensed today owes. mandatory_topics is empty: no subject mandate appears in the APRN rule, and the advanced pharmacology preparation for controlled substance prescriptive authority is an entry qualification with a five year lookback rather than a recurring topic. The board's APRN renewal page carries its detail in a linked PDF, which was not downloaded, so the renewal specifics here rest on the rule text.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Missouri State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.