Missouri Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements
Missouri osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 50 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts.
All Missouri physician licenses expire January 31 every year and must be renewed annually. The board emails renewal information on or before November 1 each year, but not receiving it does not excuse a licensee from renewing on time.
Summary
Missouri osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 50 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts. All Missouri physician licenses expire January 31 every year and must be renewed annually. The board emails renewal information on or before November 1 each year, but not receiving it does not excuse a licensee from renewing on time. Missouri also mandates specific subjects. Health benefits of nutrition: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.
Missouri Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 01/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 50 CME creditsCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle. |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | American Specialty Board certification or recertification obtained during the reporting period; AMA or AOA approved internship or residency covering at least 60 days of the reporting period; Fellowship in advanced training at an approved teaching institution covering at least 60 days of the reporting period; Military active duty for a majority of the reporting period (exempt); 30 days or more brings an extension |
50 hours of continuing medical education every two years, accredited by the AOA as Category 1-A or 2-A, by the AMA as Category 1, or as American Academy of Family Practice Prescribed Credit. The reporting period is the 24 month period beginning January 1 of each even numbered year and ending December 31 of each odd numbered year, so the CME cycle is biennial even though the license renews annually. A licensee is deemed compliant with 40 hours instead of 50 if every course includes a post-test of the material and all 40 hours are AOA Category 1-A or AMA Category 1. There is no separate Category 1 subminimum because AOA Category 2-A and AAFP Prescribed Credit also count toward the 50. Holders of a limited license report 10 hours per reporting period.
Required CE topics for Missouri osteopathic physician (do)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health benefits of nutritionAt least one hour of the required 50 hours must pertain to the topic of the health benefits of nutrition. This sentence was added by an amendment filed November 14, 2025 and effective June 30, 2026, and appears in the Secretary of State's current rule text but not in older mirrors of the rule. | 1 CME credit | Every renewal | All licensees | 20 CSR 2150-2.125(1) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 3 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Credit must be accredited by the AOA as Category 1-A or 2-A, by the AMA as Category 1, or as American Academy of Family Practice Prescribed Credit. Licensees attest to completion under penalty of perjury on the renewal form and keep records showing course titles, dates, locations, sponsors, category, and hours for at least three years after the reporting period. The board may audit. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Missouri DO need to renew?
- Missouri osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 50 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts. 50 hours of continuing medical education every two years, accredited by the AOA as Category 1-A or 2-A, by the AMA as Category 1, or as American Academy of Family Practice Prescribed Credit. The reporting period is the 24 month period beginning January 1 of each even numbered year and ending December 31 of each odd numbered year, so the CME cycle is biennial even though the license renews annually. A licensee is deemed compliant with 40 hours instead of 50 if every course includes a post-test of the material and all 40 hours are AOA Category 1-A or AMA Category 1. There is no separate Category 1 subminimum because AOA Category 2-A and AAFP Prescribed Credit also count toward the 50. Holders of a limited license report 10 hours per reporting period.
- How often does a Missouri DO license need to be renewed?
- Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Missouri renew every year. All Missouri physician licenses expire January 31 every year and must be renewed annually. The board emails renewal information on or before November 1 each year, but not receiving it does not excuse a licensee from renewing on time.
- What specific CE topics are required for Missouri osteopathic physicians (DO)?
- Health benefits of nutrition: 1 CME credit every renewal cycle. Citations: health benefits of nutrition (20 CSR 2150-2.125(1)).
- Do Missouri osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Credit must be accredited by the AOA as Category 1-A or 2-A, by the AMA as Category 1, or as American Academy of Family Practice Prescribed Credit. Licensees attest to completion under penalty of perjury on the renewal form and keep records showing course titles, dates, locations, sponsors, category, and hours for at least three years after the reporting period. The board may audit.
- Is the first Missouri DO renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Missouri does not require continuing education for a DO's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- 20 CSR 2150-2, Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons (current rules, Missouri Secretary of State), including 20 CSR 2150-2.125 Continuing Medical EducationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Instructions for Permanent Physician Paper Application, Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing ArtsState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Physicians and Surgeons Home, Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing ArtsState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Missouri regulates MDs and DOs through one board, the State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts, under Chapter 334 RSMo, and 20 CSR 2150-2.125 applies the same 50 hour requirement to every physician licensee; the rule counts AOA Category 1-A and 2-A credit alongside AMA Category 1, so the MD and DO records cite the same sources. Renewal date read from the board's own permanent physician application instructions, which state that all physician licenses expire January 31. The nutrition hour uses the non-canonical topic key 'nutrition' because no key in the canonical list fits. The rule states no opioid, controlled substance, human trafficking, implicit bias, or other subject mandate beyond the nutrition hour. The rule does not address carryover of excess hours, a cap on self-study or online CME, or a live or interactive minimum, so those fields are null. The Cornell mirror of 20 CSR 2150-2.125 is a pre-2026 version that lacks the nutrition sentence; the Secretary of State's current compilation was used instead and Cornell is not cited.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.