Skip to main content
CredNet

Iowa Certified Nurse-Midwife license renewal and CE requirements

Iowa nurse-midwives must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing).

Iowa issues no separate nurse-midwife license. A certified nurse-midwife holds an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) license on top of a registered nurse license, and the board states that ARNP renewal shall be for the same period of licensure to practice as a registered nurse. Nursing licenses run on a three year renewal cycle and expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. A license may be renewed as early as 60 days before expiration. The first renewal period is two years plus the number of months to the licensee's birth month, and thereafter the licensee renews every three years. Iowa law asks for completion of the renewal 30 days before expiration, though the board does not impose a monetary penalty for missing that date. Renewals received after the 15th of the birth month are late; there is a 30 day grace period during which board rules do not prohibit practice, but the renewal fee and a $50 late fee are both charged and a late renewer may be audited. To renew the ARNP license the licensee must show documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body.

Renewal cycle
Three-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
36
contact hours
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

Iowa nurse-midwives must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). Iowa issues no separate nurse-midwife license. A certified nurse-midwife holds an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) license on top of a registered nurse license, and the board states that ARNP renewal shall be for the same period of licensure to practice as a registered nurse. Nursing licenses run on a three year renewal cycle and expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. A license may be renewed as early as 60 days before expiration. The first renewal period is two years plus the number of months to the licensee's birth month, and thereafter the licensee renews every three years. Iowa law asks for completion of the renewal 30 days before expiration, though the board does not impose a monetary penalty for missing that date. Renewals received after the 15th of the birth month are late; there is a 30 day grace period during which board rules do not prohibit practice, but the renewal fee and a $50 late fee are both charged and a late renewer may be audited. To renew the ARNP license the licensee must show documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse course: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse who works with children in Iowa. The board says working with does not always mean hands on nursing care and can mean observation or treatment. A nurse who cares for neither children nor dependent adults does not need the course and can have the employer document that.). Mandatory Reporter of Dependent Adult Abuse course: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse who works with dependent adults in Iowa. A nurse who cares for both children and dependent adults must complete both courses.). Opioid prescribing continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (ARNPs who prescribed opioids at any point during the three year renewal cycle. The board states that writing hospital orders for opioids does not meet the definition of prescribing, so a nurse-midwife who only writes orders is not covered, while one who prescribes is.). Hours do not carry over between cycles.

Iowa Certified Nurse-Midwife renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleThree-year (36 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle36 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCurrent national certification or recertification related to the practice of nursing, recognized as 36 contact hours; Completion of a nurse residency program, recognized as 36 contact hours; Academic offerings from community colleges, public and private colleges and universities, and governmental academies, at 15 contact hours per semester hour and 10 contact hours per quarter hour; Service as a preceptor for a nursing student or an employee transitioning into a new clinical practice area, minimum 60 hours in an organized preceptorship program, recognized as 6 contact hours; Completion of a board approved nurse refresher course, hour for hour

Iowa sets one continuing education total for every nursing license: renewal or reactivation of any license requires 36 contact hours. There is no separate advanced practice hour count stacked on top of it. The board's ARNP continuing education page states plainly that the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the continuing education requirement for both ARNP license renewal and RN license renewal, and that documentation of current ARNP certification verifies compliance, so for a nurse-midwife the state total and the certification maintenance run as one requirement rather than two. The general continuing education rule reinforces this by listing current national certification or recertification related to the practice of nursing as worth 36 contact hours on its own. Hours must be earned within the renewal period to count, so nothing carries forward. One offering must be at least one hour; every 60 minutes is one contact hour and, after the first hour, each 15 minute increment counts as a quarter hour. CPR and basic life support, orientation in-service activities, and self-help or self-care content that is not scientifically supported do not count. The board grants exemptions on advance application for honorable active duty military service during the license period, for a licensee who holds a current license in another state with mandatory continuing education and resides outside Iowa at renewal, for work outside the United States as an RN or LPN for the government, foreign service or in missionary work, and for a physical or mental disability or illness during the license period attested by a health care provider. The American Midwifery Certification Board is one of the seven national certifying bodies the board recognizes for ARNP licensure, which is how a nurse-midwife qualifies. AMCB's own five year Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded here; Iowa's number is the state's 36 contact hours.

Required CE topics for Iowa certified nurse-midwifes

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse courseOnly the Iowa Department of Human Services course (taken after July 1, 2019) is approved going forward, and that certificate lasts three years. A certificate from the older Iowa Department of Public Health course, taken before July 1, 2019, lasts five years. Completion counts as two contact hours toward the 36. Documentation of completion is due upon renewal of licensure.2 contact hoursPeriodicAny nurse who works with children in Iowa. The board says working with does not always mean hands on nursing care and can mean observation or treatment. A nurse who cares for neither children nor dependent adults does not need the course and can have the employer document that.Not stated
Mandatory Reporter of Dependent Adult Abuse courseSame approved course sources and certificate lives as the child abuse course: three years for the Department of Human Services course, five years for the older Department of Public Health course. Completion counts as two contact hours. Documentation is due upon renewal.2 contact hoursPeriodicAny nurse who works with dependent adults in Iowa. A nurse who cares for both children and dependent adults must complete both courses.Not stated
Opioid prescribing continuing educationAt least two hours addressing the current CDC prescribing guidelines. The board says the course must include chronic pain management, dosing recommendations, length of prescriptions, risk factors for abuse, and non-opioid and nonpharmacologic options. Proof must be emailed to the board with the renewal application rather than only retained.2 contact hoursEvery renewalARNPs who prescribed opioids at any point during the three year renewal cycle. The board states that writing hospital orders for opioids does not meet the definition of prescribing, so a nurse-midwife who only writes orders is not covered, while one who prescribes is.Not stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersNone. Effective June 4, 2025 the Iowa Board of Nursing updated its administrative rules to remove the board's requirement to approve continuing education providers and continuing education content, so a nurse chooses continuing education that helps meet the standard of care in practice. Content must still fall within the appropriate subject matter categories the board lists under Iowa Administrative Code 481-619.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Iowa CNM need to renew?
Iowa nurse-midwives must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). Iowa sets one continuing education total for every nursing license: renewal or reactivation of any license requires 36 contact hours. There is no separate advanced practice hour count stacked on top of it. The board's ARNP continuing education page states plainly that the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the continuing education requirement for both ARNP license renewal and RN license renewal, and that documentation of current ARNP certification verifies compliance, so for a nurse-midwife the state total and the certification maintenance run as one requirement rather than two. The general continuing education rule reinforces this by listing current national certification or recertification related to the practice of nursing as worth 36 contact hours on its own. Hours must be earned within the renewal period to count, so nothing carries forward. One offering must be at least one hour; every 60 minutes is one contact hour and, after the first hour, each 15 minute increment counts as a quarter hour. CPR and basic life support, orientation in-service activities, and self-help or self-care content that is not scientifically supported do not count. The board grants exemptions on advance application for honorable active duty military service during the license period, for a licensee who holds a current license in another state with mandatory continuing education and resides outside Iowa at renewal, for work outside the United States as an RN or LPN for the government, foreign service or in missionary work, and for a physical or mental disability or illness during the license period attested by a health care provider. The American Midwifery Certification Board is one of the seven national certifying bodies the board recognizes for ARNP licensure, which is how a nurse-midwife qualifies. AMCB's own five year Certificate Maintenance Program totals are not recorded here; Iowa's number is the state's 36 contact hours.
How often does a Iowa CNM license need to be renewed?
Certified Nurse-Midwife licenses in Iowa renew every three years. Iowa issues no separate nurse-midwife license. A certified nurse-midwife holds an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) license on top of a registered nurse license, and the board states that ARNP renewal shall be for the same period of licensure to practice as a registered nurse. Nursing licenses run on a three year renewal cycle and expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. A license may be renewed as early as 60 days before expiration. The first renewal period is two years plus the number of months to the licensee's birth month, and thereafter the licensee renews every three years. Iowa law asks for completion of the renewal 30 days before expiration, though the board does not impose a monetary penalty for missing that date. Renewals received after the 15th of the birth month are late; there is a 30 day grace period during which board rules do not prohibit practice, but the renewal fee and a $50 late fee are both charged and a late renewer may be audited. To renew the ARNP license the licensee must show documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body.
What specific CE topics are required for Iowa nurse-midwives?
Mandatory Reporter of Child Abuse course: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse who works with children in Iowa. The board says working with does not always mean hands on nursing care and can mean observation or treatment. A nurse who cares for neither children nor dependent adults does not need the course and can have the employer document that.). Mandatory Reporter of Dependent Adult Abuse course: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse who works with dependent adults in Iowa. A nurse who cares for both children and dependent adults must complete both courses.). Opioid prescribing continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (ARNPs who prescribed opioids at any point during the three year renewal cycle. The board states that writing hospital orders for opioids does not meet the definition of prescribing, so a nurse-midwife who only writes orders is not covered, while one who prescribes is.).
Do Iowa nurse-midwives have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. None. Effective June 4, 2025 the Iowa Board of Nursing updated its administrative rules to remove the board's requirement to approve continuing education providers and continuing education content, so a nurse chooses continuing education that helps meet the standard of care in practice. Content must still fall within the appropriate subject matter categories the board lists under Iowa Administrative Code 481-619.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Iowa does not issue a certified nurse-midwife license. The nurse-midwife is licensed as an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner, and the board's ARNP application page lists the American Midwifery Certification Board as one of the seven recognized national certifying bodies, which is the route a nurse-midwife takes. That page also states the licensee must be licensed in all the population foci served. The rule this record rests on governs nurses, not midwives generally: every figure here was read on pages under the Iowa Board of Nursing's nursing licensure and nursing continuing education sections, and the renewal rule is expressly the registered nurse renewal period applied to the ARNP license. Iowa is one of the states that also licenses a non-nurse midwife, so the distinction matters. Under 2023 Iowa Acts House File 265 the same board licenses Certified Professional Midwives, advised by a separate Midwifery Advisory Council whose seven seats include four CPMs and, separately, one certified nurse midwife. That council page is the board's own statement that the CPM credential and the nurse-midwife credential are different things, and no CPM rule was used for any value in this record. AMCB certification is required to hold and to renew the ARNP license, since renewal requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body. It also substitutes for hours: the board's ARNP page says the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the requirement for both ARNP and RN renewal, and the general rule recognizes current national certification or recertification as 36 contact hours. So Iowa's advanced practice continuing education does not stack on the RN requirement and does not run on a parallel clock; it is the same single 36 hour requirement, satisfiable by maintaining certification. The three mandated subjects are all conditionally scoped. Two of them use the key dependent_adult_abuse_reporting alongside child_abuse_reporting because Iowa runs two separate mandatory reporter courses and the canonical key list has no entry for the dependent adult course; this matches the existing Iowa nursing records. Comparison with the existing ia-rn, ia-np and ia-crna records found no disagreement: all four carry the same 36 month birth month cycle, the same 36 contact hours, and the same mandated subjects, with opioid scoping differing only in the example the board gives for each role. Two things could not be read. Iowa Administrative Code chapters 481-619 (continuing education) and 481-621 (advanced registered nurse practitioners) are published by the Legislature only as PDF and RTF, which the no download rule excludes, so whether the ARNP license itself carries a printed nurse-midwife role designation was not confirmed from rule text; those chapter URLs are listed in the report. No first renewal continuing education exemption and no cap on self study or online hours appear on any page read, so both fields are null rather than assumed.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.