Iowa Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements
Iowa pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Pharmacy (Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing).
A pharmacist license is valid for two years and expires on June 30. Which June 30 depends on when the licensee was first licensed, because the rule sets expiration at June 30 two years after initial licensure, so some Iowa pharmacists are on the odd year cycle and some on the even year cycle. Renewing late costs a $180 penalty on top of the $180 renewal fee.
Summary
Iowa pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Pharmacy (Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). A pharmacist license is valid for two years and expires on June 30. Which June 30 depends on when the licensee was first licensed, because the rule sets expiration at June 30 two years after initial licensure, so some Iowa pharmacists are on the odd year cycle and some on the even year cycle. Renewing late costs a $180 penalty on top of the $180 renewal fee. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Child abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training): required on a periodic schedule set by the board (pharmacists who, in the course of employment or professional practice, examine, attend, counsel or treat a minor). Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training): required on a periodic schedule set by the board (pharmacists who, in the course of employment or professional practice, examine, attend, counsel or treat a dependent adult). The first renewal is exempt.
Iowa Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
481 IAC 551.4(4)'a' requires at least 30 hours of continuing education since the date of issuance or the last renewal of the license, which is the same two year window as the renewal cycle, so no separate continuing education period is recorded. The window was checked deliberately because other Iowa professions in this dataset count education over a period that does not line up with the renewal date; pharmacy is not one of them. The first renewal following licensure by examination is exempt. Iowa does not prescribe a subject mix: the rule says only that the type of education completed must be sufficient to meet the standard of care for the pharmacist's specific practice setting and must come from an accredited continuing education provider. Two groups are deemed compliant without hours: active duty military personnel serving honorably during the renewal period, and nonresident pharmacists actively licensed in the state where they live who do not practice in Iowa. The rule states no live or interactive minimum, no cap on home study or online delivery and no carryover provision. Note for anyone working from older material: the requirement used to live in 657 IAC Chapter 2, which expressed the total as 3.0 CEUs and carried a two hour patient or medication safety component. That chapter has been replaced by 481 IAC Chapter 551 under the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, the total is now stated in hours, and no safety hours requirement appears in the rule or on the board's page. Pharmacy technicians and pharmacist interns are separate credentials and their requirements were not used here.
Required CE topics for Iowa pharmacists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training)The pharmacist provides evidence of completion of the training. The rule states no hour value for pharmacists, so hours is null. Iowa Code 232.69(3)'b' sets the training on a three year rhythm rather than a per renewal one, which is why the frequency is periodic. | Not stated | Periodic | Pharmacists who, in the course of employment or professional practice, examine, attend, counsel or treat a minor | 481 IAC 551.4(4)'b'; Iowa Code 232.69(3)'b' |
| Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training)The companion requirement to the child abuse training, for pharmacists whose practice reaches dependent adults. A pharmacist whose practice reaches both completes both. No canonical topic key fits, so dependent_adult_abuse_reporting is used. Hours are not stated in the rule read. | Not stated | Periodic | Pharmacists who, in the course of employment or professional practice, examine, attend, counsel or treat a dependent adult | 481 IAC 551.4(4)'b'; Iowa Code 235B.16(5)'b' |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Not stated |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | Continuing education must be provided by an accredited continuing education provider and must be sufficient to meet the standard of care for the pharmacist's specific practice setting. The rule does not name the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, does not define accredited provider in the definitions rule for the chapter, and does not mention NABP's CPE Monitor or an e-Profile as a condition of renewal. Evidence of the child or dependent adult abuse training must be provided by pharmacists whose practice reaches minors or dependent adults. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Iowa RPh/PharmD need to renew?
- Iowa pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Pharmacy (Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). 481 IAC 551.4(4)'a' requires at least 30 hours of continuing education since the date of issuance or the last renewal of the license, which is the same two year window as the renewal cycle, so no separate continuing education period is recorded. The window was checked deliberately because other Iowa professions in this dataset count education over a period that does not line up with the renewal date; pharmacy is not one of them. The first renewal following licensure by examination is exempt. Iowa does not prescribe a subject mix: the rule says only that the type of education completed must be sufficient to meet the standard of care for the pharmacist's specific practice setting and must come from an accredited continuing education provider. Two groups are deemed compliant without hours: active duty military personnel serving honorably during the renewal period, and nonresident pharmacists actively licensed in the state where they live who do not practice in Iowa. The rule states no live or interactive minimum, no cap on home study or online delivery and no carryover provision. Note for anyone working from older material: the requirement used to live in 657 IAC Chapter 2, which expressed the total as 3.0 CEUs and carried a two hour patient or medication safety component. That chapter has been replaced by 481 IAC Chapter 551 under the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, the total is now stated in hours, and no safety hours requirement appears in the rule or on the board's page. Pharmacy technicians and pharmacist interns are separate credentials and their requirements were not used here.
- How often does a Iowa RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
- Pharmacist licenses in Iowa renew every two years. A pharmacist license is valid for two years and expires on June 30. Which June 30 depends on when the licensee was first licensed, because the rule sets expiration at June 30 two years after initial licensure, so some Iowa pharmacists are on the odd year cycle and some on the even year cycle. Renewing late costs a $180 penalty on top of the $180 renewal fee.
- What specific CE topics are required for Iowa pharmacists?
- Child abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training): required on a periodic schedule set by the board (pharmacists who, in the course of employment or professional practice, examine, attend, counsel or treat a minor). Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training): required on a periodic schedule set by the board (pharmacists who, in the course of employment or professional practice, examine, attend, counsel or treat a dependent adult). Citations: child abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training) (481 IAC 551.4(4)'b'; Iowa Code 232.69(3)'b') and dependent adult abuse identification and reporting (mandatory reporter training) (481 IAC 551.4(4)'b'; Iowa Code 235B.16(5)'b').
- Is the first Iowa RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Iowa does not require continuing education for a RPh/PharmD's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 11, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Pharmacist Licensure, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
- Pharmacy, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 11, 2026
- Iowa Admin. Code r. 481-551.4, Pharmacists, effective 7/16/2025 (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 11, 2026
- Iowa Admin. Code r. 481-551.2, general requirements for licenses, registrations and permits (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 11, 2026
The 30 hours, the two year term, the June 30 expiration, the first renewal exemption, the military and nonresident exemptions and the child and dependent adult abuse training were read both on the board's own pharmacist licensure page at the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing and in the text of 481 IAC 551.4 as mirrored by Cornell, and the two agree. The rule text was read on Cornell rather than an official host because the Iowa Legislature publishes the Administrative Code chapters as PDF files and the state's rules site returned a 404 for direct rule lookups, so under the no download rule the official copy was not opened; the substantive values are nonetheless confirmed on the board's own site, which is why confidence is high. The board's rules moved from 657 IAC to 481 IAC when pharmacy came under the department, so older citations to 657-2.12 are stale. Record retention, audit practice and whether certificates are filed with the renewal are null: no source that was actually read stated them. Iowa's pharmacist renewal application is published as a PDF at https://dial.iowa.gov/media/8516/download and was not opened; it may state the attestation and audit language.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Pharmacy (Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.