Skip to main content
CredNet

Iowa Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements

Iowa nurse anesthetists must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing).

Iowa issues no separate nurse anesthetist license. A CRNA holds an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) license on top of a registered nurse license, and both run on the same three year cycle expiring on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration through IBON Online Services. The first license runs 24 to 36 months, specifically two years plus the number of months to the birth month, and moves to the three year cycle after that. A 30 day grace period follows expiration with a $50 late fee on top of the $99 renewal fee, and board rules do not prohibit practice during that grace period. Renewal as an ARNP also requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body, which for a nurse anesthetist is the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists.

Renewal cycle
Three-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
36
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Iowa nurse anesthetists must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). Iowa issues no separate nurse anesthetist license. A CRNA holds an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) license on top of a registered nurse license, and both run on the same three year cycle expiring on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration through IBON Online Services. The first license runs 24 to 36 months, specifically two years plus the number of months to the birth month, and moves to the three year cycle after that. A 30 day grace period follows expiration with a $50 late fee on top of the $99 renewal fee, and board rules do not prohibit practice during that grace period. Renewal as an ARNP also requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body, which for a nurse anesthetist is the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Opioid continuing education addressing the current CDC prescribing guidelines: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (ARNPs who prescribe opioids during the three year renewal cycle. The board answers the nurse anesthetist case directly: a CRNA who administers opioids does need the course, while a nurse who only writes hospital orders for opioids does not, because writing orders does not meet the definition of prescribing). Mandatory reporter of child abuse and of dependent adult abuse training: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse working with children or dependent adults, which the board says includes observation or treatment and not only hands on nursing care. A nurse who cares for children takes the child course, a nurse who cares for dependent adults takes the adult course, a nurse who cares for both takes both, and a nurse who cares for neither takes neither and can have the employer document that).

Iowa Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleThree-year (36 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle36 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCurrent national certification or recertification related to the practice of nursing, recognized as the full 36 contact hours; the board states that the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the continuing education requirement for both ARNP license renewal and RN license renewal, and a copy of the certification is what an audited licensee submits; Academic offerings meeting the subject matter criteria (1 semester hour = 15 contact hours; 1 quarter hour = 10 contact hours), with a transcript showing a passing grade; Completion of a nurse residency program, recognized as 36 contact hours; Completion of a board approved nurse refresher course, credited at the hours of participation; Serving as a preceptor for a nursing student or an employee transitioning into a new clinical practice area, minimum 60 hours in an organized preceptorship program, recognized as 6 contact hours

This is the shared Iowa nursing figure and matches the Iowa nurse practitioner requirement: renewal or reactivation of any Iowa nursing license takes 36 contact hours of continuing education over the three year cycle. For a nurse anesthetist the practical route is national certification, since the board recognizes current national certification or recertification related to the practice of nursing as 36 contact hours and states that the continuing education required for ARNP certification satisfies both the ARNP and the RN renewal. That is an acceptance of NBCRNA recertification in lieu of state hours, not an adoption of NBCRNA's own credit totals: Iowa's number stays 36 contact hours over 36 months and the four year NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification cycle does not line up with it. Hours must be earned within the renewal period to count. An offering must be at least one hour; every 60 minutes is one contact hour, and after the first hour each 15 minute increment counts as a quarter hour. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic life support do not count as continuing education, nor do orientation in-service activities or self-help and self-care that are not scientifically supported. Effective June 4, 2025 the board stopped approving continuing education providers and content, so the constraint is subject matter rather than provider approval. Exemptions may be granted before renewal for honorable active duty military service during the license period, holding an active license in another state with mandatory continuing education while residing outside Iowa, working outside the United States for the government, foreign service or in missionary work, or a physical or mental disability or illness during the license period attested by a health care provider; the exemption must be approved before it is claimed.

Required CE topics for Iowa certified registered nurse anesthetists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Opioid continuing education addressing the current CDC prescribing guidelinesAt least two hours addressing the current CDC prescribing guidelines. The course must cover chronic pain management, dosing recommendations, length of prescriptions, risk factors for abuse, and non-opioid and nonpharmacologic options. Applicable courses from the CDC or the DEA and SAMHSA recommendations page may be used. Documentation is submitted with the renewal application. This is the one place Iowa singles out nurse anesthetists, and it reaches further for a CRNA than the plain word prescribe would suggest.2 contact hoursEvery renewalARNPs who prescribe opioids during the three year renewal cycle. The board answers the nurse anesthetist case directly: a CRNA who administers opioids does need the course, while a nurse who only writes hospital orders for opioids does not, because writing orders does not meet the definition of prescribingNot stated
Mandatory reporter of child abuse and of dependent adult abuse trainingEach course counts as two contact hours toward the 36. The only approved courses come from the Iowa Department of Human Services, whose certificate lasts three years for courses taken after July 1, 2019; a certificate from the earlier Iowa Department of Public Health course taken before July 1, 2019 lasts five years. Documentation of completion is due upon renewal of licensure. Frequency is recorded as periodic because the certificate term, three years, is set by the course rather than by the renewal cycle.2 contact hoursPeriodicAny nurse working with children or dependent adults, which the board says includes observation or treatment and not only hands on nursing care. A nurse who cares for children takes the child course, a nurse who cares for dependent adults takes the adult course, a nurse who cares for both takes both, and a nurse who cares for neither takes neither and can have the employer document thatNot stated

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersSince the June 4, 2025 rule update the board no longer approves continuing education providers or continuing education content; what governs is the appropriate subject matter list in Iowa Administrative Code 481.619, which covers nursing practice in any setting, professional growth and development related to nursing practice roles with a health care focus, the sciences underlying nursing practice, education or research, social, economic, ethical and legal aspects of health care, management or administration of health care, health care personnel or facilities, and education of patients, students or health care personnel. Documentation is mixed at renewal: mandatory reporter completion documentation is due upon renewal and opioid continuing education documentation is submitted with the renewal application, while general continuing education is tracked by the licensee and produced only on audit. Records should be kept four years. A random number of licensees is selected for audit each month and notified at the end of the license period; failure to submit documentation may result in disciplinary action.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Iowa CRNA need to renew?
Iowa nurse anesthetists must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). This is the shared Iowa nursing figure and matches the Iowa nurse practitioner requirement: renewal or reactivation of any Iowa nursing license takes 36 contact hours of continuing education over the three year cycle. For a nurse anesthetist the practical route is national certification, since the board recognizes current national certification or recertification related to the practice of nursing as 36 contact hours and states that the continuing education required for ARNP certification satisfies both the ARNP and the RN renewal. That is an acceptance of NBCRNA recertification in lieu of state hours, not an adoption of NBCRNA's own credit totals: Iowa's number stays 36 contact hours over 36 months and the four year NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification cycle does not line up with it. Hours must be earned within the renewal period to count. An offering must be at least one hour; every 60 minutes is one contact hour, and after the first hour each 15 minute increment counts as a quarter hour. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation and basic life support do not count as continuing education, nor do orientation in-service activities or self-help and self-care that are not scientifically supported. Effective June 4, 2025 the board stopped approving continuing education providers and content, so the constraint is subject matter rather than provider approval. Exemptions may be granted before renewal for honorable active duty military service during the license period, holding an active license in another state with mandatory continuing education while residing outside Iowa, working outside the United States for the government, foreign service or in missionary work, or a physical or mental disability or illness during the license period attested by a health care provider; the exemption must be approved before it is claimed.
How often does a Iowa CRNA license need to be renewed?
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in Iowa renew every three years. Iowa issues no separate nurse anesthetist license. A CRNA holds an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) license on top of a registered nurse license, and both run on the same three year cycle expiring on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration through IBON Online Services. The first license runs 24 to 36 months, specifically two years plus the number of months to the birth month, and moves to the three year cycle after that. A 30 day grace period follows expiration with a $50 late fee on top of the $99 renewal fee, and board rules do not prohibit practice during that grace period. Renewal as an ARNP also requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body, which for a nurse anesthetist is the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists.
What specific CE topics are required for Iowa nurse anesthetists?
Opioid continuing education addressing the current CDC prescribing guidelines: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (ARNPs who prescribe opioids during the three year renewal cycle. The board answers the nurse anesthetist case directly: a CRNA who administers opioids does need the course, while a nurse who only writes hospital orders for opioids does not, because writing orders does not meet the definition of prescribing). Mandatory reporter of child abuse and of dependent adult abuse training: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse working with children or dependent adults, which the board says includes observation or treatment and not only hands on nursing care. A nurse who cares for children takes the child course, a nurse who cares for dependent adults takes the adult course, a nurse who cares for both takes both, and a nurse who cares for neither takes neither and can have the employer document that).
Do Iowa nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Since the June 4, 2025 rule update the board no longer approves continuing education providers or continuing education content; what governs is the appropriate subject matter list in Iowa Administrative Code 481.619, which covers nursing practice in any setting, professional growth and development related to nursing practice roles with a health care focus, the sciences underlying nursing practice, education or research, social, economic, ethical and legal aspects of health care, management or administration of health care, health care personnel or facilities, and education of patients, students or health care personnel. Documentation is mixed at renewal: mandatory reporter completion documentation is due upon renewal and opioid continuing education documentation is submitted with the renewal application, while general continuing education is tracked by the licensee and produced only on audit. Records should be kept four years. A random number of licensees is selected for audit each month and notified at the end of the license period; failure to submit documentation may result in disciplinary action.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Iowa does not issue a distinct CRNA credential. A nurse anesthetist holds the Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner license, and the board's ARNP application page names the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists among the approved certifying bodies for that license. The hour count is the shared nursing figure and is identical to the Iowa nurse practitioner record: 36 contact hours per three year cycle, satisfiable by current national certification. Where Iowa does single out nurse anesthetists is the opioid requirement, and it cuts in the CRNA's favour of coverage rather than against it: the board's own ARNP continuing education page answers the question I am a CRNA and I administer opioids with yes, you need to take a course, while answering no to a nurse who only writes hospital orders. That is a real divergence from a plain prescriber scope, so the opioid topic is recorded with the board's wording rather than inherited from the nurse practitioner record. Renewal cycle, birth month expiration, first cycle length, grace period and the ARNP certification requirement were read on the board's renewals page; the 36 hours, subject matter criteria, alternatives, exclusions, exemptions, four year retention and audit process on the board's continuing education page. Iowa publishes its administrative code chapters 481.617, 481.619 and 481.621 only as PDF files, which the no download rule excludes, so the rule text itself was not read and no statutory citations are recorded on the mandatory topics; every value here comes from the board's own web pages on the official state host. First renewal proration is recorded as true because the board states the first renewal period is two years plus the number of months to the birth month rather than the full three years. No carryover, self study cap or first renewal exemption is stated by the board.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.