Skip to main content
CredNet

Iowa Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements

Iowa osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Medicine.

A permanent Iowa physician license renews every two years. When staff issue the renewal it is a two year license that expires on the first day of the licensee's birth month. The licensee is responsible for renewing before the expiration date whether or not a notice arrives, and the license becomes inactive and invalid if it is not renewed within two months after it expires.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
40
CME credits
Mandated topics
4
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Iowa osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Medicine. A permanent Iowa physician license renews every two years. When staff issue the renewal it is a two year license that expires on the first day of the licensee's birth month. The licensee is responsible for renewing before the expiration date whether or not a notice arrives, and the license becomes inactive and invalid if it is not renewed within two months after it expires. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Training in child abuse identification and reporting: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who regularly provide primary health care to children in Iowa, defined as all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, pediatricians and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to children). Training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who regularly provide primary health care to adults in Iowa, defined as all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, obstetricians, gynecologists and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to adults). Chronic pain management training on the CDC guideline for prescribing opioids: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who prescribed opioids to a patient during the previous license period. A licensee who did not prescribe opioids in the previous cycle may attest to that at renewal and opt out.). End-of-life care training: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who regularly provide direct patient care to actively dying patients in Iowa. The board's page names emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, neurologists, pain medicine specialists and psychiatrists, and says any physician who has provided or expects to provide end-of-life care must complete it regardless of specialty, including physicians with an active license who report that they are retired or not in clinical practice.). Up to 20 excess CME credits carry over to the next cycle.

Iowa Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle40 CME credits
Category 1 minimum40 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleYes, up to 20 CME credits
First renewal exemptNo
Other accepted activitiesCertification or recertification by an ABMS or AOA specialty board during the renewal period: 50 category 1 credits; Participation in an approved residency or fellowship training program during the renewal period: 50 category 1 credits; Formal cognates designated by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; Prescribed credit designated by the American Academy of Family Physicians

Forty hours of category 1 credit or a board approved equivalent for each two year renewal of a permanent or administrative medicine license. The whole total must be category 1, so category_1_minimum equals hours_per_cycle. Up to 20 of the 40 hours may be carried over from the previous renewal period. A first license may be issued for less than 24 months so that renewal lines up with the birth month, and the hour requirement for a license issued for less than 24 months is reduced pro rata rather than waived. A special license renews annually and needs 20 category 1 credits with no carryover. The board can excuse or extend the requirement for physical disability or illness, and a licensee is exempt for periods of honorable active duty in the armed forces, reserves or national guard, periods practicing in another state that has its own continuing education requirement and providing no care to patients located in Iowa (telemedicine included), periods as a government employee working in the licensee's specialty outside the United States, and other periods of active practice and absence from the state that the board approves.

Required CE topics for Iowa osteopathic physician (do)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Training in child abuse identification and reportingAt least two hours every three years, provided by the department of health and human services. It is taken as category 1 credit or an approved training program, and the category 1 credit earned counts toward the 40 hour total for the license period in which it was taken.2 CME creditsPeriodicLicensees who regularly provide primary health care to children in Iowa, defined as all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, pediatricians and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to children653 IAC 11.3(1)"c"(1); Iowa Code 232.69(3)"c"
Training in dependent adult abuse identification and reportingAt least two hours every three years, provided by the department of health and human services. It is taken as category 1 credit or an approved training program, and the category 1 credit earned counts toward the 40 hour total for the license period in which it was taken.2 CME creditsPeriodicLicensees who regularly provide primary health care to adults in Iowa, defined as all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, obstetricians, gynecologists and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to adults653 IAC 11.3(1)"c"(2); Iowa Code 235B.16(5)"c"
Chronic pain management training on the CDC guideline for prescribing opioidsTwo hours of category 1 credit every five years covering the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guideline for prescribing opioids for chronic pain, including limits on dosage and length of prescriptions, risk factors for abuse, and nonopioid and nonpharmacologic options. A licensee who held a permanent or special license on January 1, 2019 had until January 1, 2024 to complete it and then repeats it every five years. The credit counts toward the 40 hour total for the license period in which it was taken.2 CME creditsPeriodicLicensees who prescribed opioids to a patient during the previous license period. A licensee who did not prescribe opioids in the previous cycle may attest to that at renewal and opt out.653 IAC 11.3(1)"d"
End-of-life care trainingTwo hours of category 1 credit every five years. The board's page says the training must be about end-of-life care rather than palliative care. A licensee who held a permanent or special license on January 1, 2019 had until January 1, 2024 to complete it and then repeats it every five years. The credit counts toward the 40 hour total for the license period in which it was taken.2 CME creditsPeriodicLicensees who regularly provide direct patient care to actively dying patients in Iowa. The board's page names emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, neurologists, pain medicine specialists and psychiatrists, and says any physician who has provided or expects to provide end-of-life care must complete it regardless of specialty, including physicians with an active license who report that they are retired or not in clinical practice.653 IAC 11.3(1)"e"

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCredit must be AMA PRA category 1 or a board approved equivalent; activities designated as formal cognates by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists or as prescribed credit by the American Academy of Family Physicians are accepted as equivalent. The licensee reports continuing education and the abuse, chronic pain and end-of-life training on the renewal application rather than sending certificates. The board audits a number of renewing physicians each month and says it may audit the information at any time within four years; a licensee has 30 days under the rule, and one month under the board's audit page, to send the requested certificates. The current rule says a licensee shall maintain documentation of the continuing education and training, including dates, subjects, duration and proof of participation, but does not name a retention period, so retention_years is left null.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Iowa DO need to renew?
Iowa osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 40 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Medicine. Forty hours of category 1 credit or a board approved equivalent for each two year renewal of a permanent or administrative medicine license. The whole total must be category 1, so category_1_minimum equals hours_per_cycle. Up to 20 of the 40 hours may be carried over from the previous renewal period. A first license may be issued for less than 24 months so that renewal lines up with the birth month, and the hour requirement for a license issued for less than 24 months is reduced pro rata rather than waived. A special license renews annually and needs 20 category 1 credits with no carryover. The board can excuse or extend the requirement for physical disability or illness, and a licensee is exempt for periods of honorable active duty in the armed forces, reserves or national guard, periods practicing in another state that has its own continuing education requirement and providing no care to patients located in Iowa (telemedicine included), periods as a government employee working in the licensee's specialty outside the United States, and other periods of active practice and absence from the state that the board approves.
How often does a Iowa DO license need to be renewed?
Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Iowa renew every two years. A permanent Iowa physician license renews every two years. When staff issue the renewal it is a two year license that expires on the first day of the licensee's birth month. The licensee is responsible for renewing before the expiration date whether or not a notice arrives, and the license becomes inactive and invalid if it is not renewed within two months after it expires.
What specific CE topics are required for Iowa osteopathic physicians (DO)?
Training in child abuse identification and reporting: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who regularly provide primary health care to children in Iowa, defined as all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, pediatricians and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to children). Training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who regularly provide primary health care to adults in Iowa, defined as all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, obstetricians, gynecologists and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to adults). Chronic pain management training on the CDC guideline for prescribing opioids: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who prescribed opioids to a patient during the previous license period. A licensee who did not prescribe opioids in the previous cycle may attest to that at renewal and opt out.). End-of-life care training: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees who regularly provide direct patient care to actively dying patients in Iowa. The board's page names emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, neurologists, pain medicine specialists and psychiatrists, and says any physician who has provided or expects to provide end-of-life care must complete it regardless of specialty, including physicians with an active license who report that they are retired or not in clinical practice.). Citations: training in child abuse identification and reporting (653 IAC 11.3(1)"c"(1); Iowa Code 232.69(3)"c"), training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting (653 IAC 11.3(1)"c"(2); Iowa Code 235B.16(5)"c"), chronic pain management training on the CDC guideline for prescribing opioids (653 IAC 11.3(1)"d"), and End-of-life care training (653 IAC 11.3(1)"e").
Do Iowa osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Credit must be AMA PRA category 1 or a board approved equivalent; activities designated as formal cognates by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists or as prescribed credit by the American Academy of Family Physicians are accepted as equivalent. The licensee reports continuing education and the abuse, chronic pain and end-of-life training on the renewal application rather than sending certificates. The board audits a number of renewing physicians each month and says it may audit the information at any time within four years; a licensee has 30 days under the rule, and one month under the board's audit page, to send the requested certificates. The current rule says a licensee shall maintain documentation of the continuing education and training, including dates, subjects, duration and proof of participation, but does not name a retention period, so retention_years is left null.
Is the first Iowa DO renewal exempt from CE?
No. Iowa applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Iowa licenses MDs and DOs through one board, the Iowa Board of Medicine, now housed in the Department of Inspections, Appeals and Licensing. The board's own page states that a permanent license allows an M.D. or D.O. to practice medicine and surgery in Iowa, and 653 IAC chapters 9 and 11 do not distinguish the two, so the MD and DO records cite the same sources and carry the same values. There is no separate Iowa osteopathic board. The 40 hours of category 1 credit per two year renewal, the 20 hour carryover, the pro rata reduction for a first license shorter than 24 months, the ABMS or AOA certification and residency equivalents, the exemptions and the monthly audit were read on the board's continuing education page. The chronic pain and end-of-life mandates were read on the board's chronic pain and end-of-life training page. Rule text for the birth month expiration and for the abuse, chronic pain and end-of-life mandates was read on the Cornell mirror of 653 IAC 9.12 and 11.3, cited as third party summaries because the official Iowa Administrative Code is published only as PDF on legis.iowa.gov and this task did not open PDFs. Chapter 11 was renumbered effective May 21, 2025 and the continuing education rule is now 653 IAC 11.3, not 11.4. Two topic keys are outside the canonical list: dependent_adult_abuse_reporting and end_of_life_care, because no canonical key covers dependent adult abuse reporting or end-of-life care. The board's audit page says the board may audit within four years while the earlier version of the rule required five year retention and the current rule names no period, so retention_years is left null rather than guessing. Iowa states no live or interactive minimum and no cap on self study or online credit.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Medicine before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.