Skip to main content
CredNet

Iowa Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Iowa occupational therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing).

The license expiration date is the fifteenth day of the licensee's birth month every two years after initial licensure, and the biennial renewal period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. A licensee issued a license within six months of the renewal date does not renew until the following renewal two years later. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration, and a 30 day grace period with a late fee follows expiration; after that the license is inactive. All continuing education must be finished before the renewal application is submitted, and not receiving a notice from the board does not excuse a late renewal.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 9, 2026
13 days ago

Summary

Iowa occupational therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). The license expiration date is the fifteenth day of the licensee's birth month every two years after initial licensure, and the biennial renewal period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. A licensee issued a license within six months of the renewal date does not renew until the following renewal two years later. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration, and a 30 day grace period with a late fee follows expiration; after that the license is inactive. All continuing education must be finished before the renewal application is submitted, and not receiving a notice from the board does not excuse a late renewal. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Child abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 232.69 to report child abuse). Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 235B.3 or 235E.2 to report dependent adult abuse). Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.

Iowa Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesAttending workshops, conferences, or symposiums; Online training such as interactive conferences, webinars, and online courses; Directly supervising students from an accredited occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant program in a full-time clinical experience (1 hour per 160 contact hours of supervision, maximum 8 hours per biennium for an occupational therapist); Presenting professional programs (2 hours of credit per hour presented, first offering only); Academic coursework (1 semester hour equals 15 hours, 1 trimester hour equals 12, 1 quarter hour equals 10); Teaching in an approved college, university, or graduate school (same conversions, first offering only); Authoring research or other work published in a recognized professional publication (5 hours per page); Active service as an officer, delegate, or committee member of a professional occupational therapy organization (1 hour per six months, maximum 4 hours per biennium)

481 IAC 805.2(1) (adopted as 645-207.2(1)) gives each credential its own lettered paragraph. Paragraph "a" requires each occupational therapist to complete a minimum of 30 hours of board-approved continuing education each biennium; the other paragraph sets 15 hours for the occupational therapy assistant. An hour of continuing education is at least 50 minutes and may be live, virtual, online or prerecorded where the instructor provides proof of completion. The compliance period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. Persons licensed for the first time do not have to complete continuing education for the first renewal, and hours earned any time from initial licensure until the second renewal may be used; apart from that, no hours carry into the next biennium. Under 481 IAC 805.3(2)"b" topics not directly and primarily related to the clinical application of occupational therapy, meaning business topics, personal skills topics, and general health topics such as clinical research, CPR and mandatory reporter training, must not exceed a combined 8 hours for an occupational therapist. Online training is expressly allowed with no stated cap.

Required CE topics for Iowa occupational therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Child abuse identification and reporting trainingThe licensee indicates on the renewal application that the training was completed in the previous three years, or that a waiver condition applies. The rule states no hour count. Hours in mandatory reporter training count as a general health topic, which is capped.Not statedPeriodicLicensees required by Iowa Code section 232.69 to report child abuse481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 232.69(3)"b"
Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting trainingIndicated on the renewal application on the same three year cycle as the child abuse training. No canonical topic key covers dependent adult abuse, so a descriptive snake_case key is used. The rule states no hour count.Not statedPeriodicLicensees required by Iowa Code section 235B.3 or 235E.2 to report dependent adult abuse481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 235B.16

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersContinuing education must be approved by the board and meet the standards in 481 IAC 805.3 (adopted as 645-207.3): an organized program of learning that contributes directly to professional competency, on subject matter integrally related to the practice, conducted by qualified presenters, that fulfills stated goals and provides proof of attendance showing date, location, course title, presenters, the number of contact hours, and a certificate or other evidence of completion. The board does not pre-approve providers, sponsors, or individual programs, so the licensee is responsible for judging whether a course meets the rules. A percentage of licensees is randomly audited after each renewal cycle and must then send the board the certificate of completion. The board's page tells licensees to keep certificates for four years for auditing purposes.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Iowa OT need to renew?
Iowa occupational therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). 481 IAC 805.2(1) (adopted as 645-207.2(1)) gives each credential its own lettered paragraph. Paragraph "a" requires each occupational therapist to complete a minimum of 30 hours of board-approved continuing education each biennium; the other paragraph sets 15 hours for the occupational therapy assistant. An hour of continuing education is at least 50 minutes and may be live, virtual, online or prerecorded where the instructor provides proof of completion. The compliance period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. Persons licensed for the first time do not have to complete continuing education for the first renewal, and hours earned any time from initial licensure until the second renewal may be used; apart from that, no hours carry into the next biennium. Under 481 IAC 805.3(2)"b" topics not directly and primarily related to the clinical application of occupational therapy, meaning business topics, personal skills topics, and general health topics such as clinical research, CPR and mandatory reporter training, must not exceed a combined 8 hours for an occupational therapist. Online training is expressly allowed with no stated cap.
How often does a Iowa OT license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapist licenses in Iowa renew every two years. The license expiration date is the fifteenth day of the licensee's birth month every two years after initial licensure, and the biennial renewal period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. A licensee issued a license within six months of the renewal date does not renew until the following renewal two years later. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration, and a 30 day grace period with a late fee follows expiration; after that the license is inactive. All continuing education must be finished before the renewal application is submitted, and not receiving a notice from the board does not excuse a late renewal.
What specific CE topics are required for Iowa occupational therapists?
Child abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 232.69 to report child abuse). Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 235B.3 or 235E.2 to report dependent adult abuse). Citations: child abuse identification and reporting training (481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 232.69(3)"b") and dependent adult abuse identification and reporting training (481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 235B.16).
Do Iowa occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Continuing education must be approved by the board and meet the standards in 481 IAC 805.3 (adopted as 645-207.3): an organized program of learning that contributes directly to professional competency, on subject matter integrally related to the practice, conducted by qualified presenters, that fulfills stated goals and provides proof of attendance showing date, location, course title, presenters, the number of contact hours, and a certificate or other evidence of completion. The board does not pre-approve providers, sponsors, or individual programs, so the licensee is responsible for judging whether a course meets the rules. A percentage of licensees is randomly audited after each renewal cycle and must then send the board the certificate of completion. The board's page tells licensees to keep certificates for four years for auditing purposes.
Is the first Iowa OT renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Iowa does not require continuing education for a OT's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Iowa's physical therapy and occupational therapy board is genuinely combined: the regulator is the Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy, and the same board adopted separate chapters for each profession. Occupational therapy sits in 481 IAC chapters 804 to 808, with chapter 805 for continuing education, so this record shares a board with Iowa's physical therapy records but no rule text. The hour figures come from their own lettered paragraph of the rule, read separately for each credential: 30 hours for the occupational therapist and 15 for the occupational therapy assistant, with the non-clinical topic cap and the student supervision cap also set per credential (8 and 8 hours here). The official Iowa Administrative Code chapter files on legis.iowa.gov are PDF and RTF only, with no HTML rule text, so the rule was read on the state's own administrative rules site as ARC 7983C, the adopted and filed rulemaking effective July 1, 2024, and confirmed against the Cornell LII mirror of the current 481-805.2 citation. Iowa renumbered these rules from 645 to 481 when the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing took over, so the ARC pages carry the former 645-206 and 645-207 numbering while the current citations are 481-804 and 481-805; the board's own page lists the current numbers. NBCOT appears in the licensure rules as the body that administers the licensure examination and, for endorsement applicants, as a source of proof; current NBCOT certification is not a renewal condition. The board licenses both credentials and both renew on the same birth month cycle. Not stated in the rules read: an hour count for either mandatory reporter training, any live or in person minimum, and any category split.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.