Iowa Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Iowa occupational therapy assistants must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing).
The license expiration date is the fifteenth day of the licensee's birth month every two years after initial licensure, and the biennial renewal period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. A licensee issued a license within six months of the renewal date does not renew until the following renewal two years later. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration, and a 30 day grace period with a late fee follows expiration; after that the license is inactive. All continuing education must be finished before the renewal application is submitted, and not receiving a notice from the board does not excuse a late renewal.
Summary
Iowa occupational therapy assistants must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). The license expiration date is the fifteenth day of the licensee's birth month every two years after initial licensure, and the biennial renewal period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. A licensee issued a license within six months of the renewal date does not renew until the following renewal two years later. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration, and a 30 day grace period with a late fee follows expiration; after that the license is inactive. All continuing education must be finished before the renewal application is submitted, and not receiving a notice from the board does not excuse a late renewal. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Child abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 232.69 to report child abuse). Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 235B.3 or 235E.2 to report dependent adult abuse). Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.
Iowa Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 15 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Attending workshops, conferences, or symposiums; Online training such as interactive conferences, webinars, and online courses; Directly supervising students from an accredited occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant program in a full-time clinical experience (1 hour per 160 contact hours of supervision, maximum 4 hours per biennium for an occupational therapy assistant); Presenting professional programs (2 hours of credit per hour presented, first offering only); Academic coursework (1 semester hour equals 15 hours, 1 trimester hour equals 12, 1 quarter hour equals 10); Teaching in an approved college, university, or graduate school (same conversions, first offering only); Authoring research or other work published in a recognized professional publication (5 hours per page); Active service as an officer, delegate, or committee member of a professional occupational therapy organization (1 hour per six months, maximum 4 hours per biennium) |
481 IAC 805.2(1) (adopted as 645-207.2(1)) gives each credential its own lettered paragraph. Paragraph "b" requires each occupational therapy assistant to complete a minimum of 15 hours of board-approved continuing education each biennium; the other paragraph sets 30 hours for the occupational therapist. An hour of continuing education is at least 50 minutes and may be live, virtual, online or prerecorded where the instructor provides proof of completion. The compliance period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. Persons licensed for the first time do not have to complete continuing education for the first renewal, and hours earned any time from initial licensure until the second renewal may be used; apart from that, no hours carry into the next biennium. Under 481 IAC 805.3(2)"b" topics not directly and primarily related to the clinical application of occupational therapy, meaning business topics, personal skills topics, and general health topics such as clinical research, CPR and mandatory reporter training, must not exceed a combined 4 hours for an occupational therapy assistant. Online training is expressly allowed with no stated cap.
Required CE topics for Iowa occupational therapy assistants
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Child abuse identification and reporting trainingThe licensee indicates on the renewal application that the training was completed in the previous three years, or that a waiver condition applies. The rule states no hour count. Hours in mandatory reporter training count as a general health topic, which is capped. | Not stated | Periodic | Licensees required by Iowa Code section 232.69 to report child abuse | 481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 232.69(3)"b" |
| Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting trainingIndicated on the renewal application on the same three year cycle as the child abuse training. No canonical topic key covers dependent adult abuse, so a descriptive snake_case key is used. The rule states no hour count. | Not stated | Periodic | Licensees required by Iowa Code section 235B.3 or 235E.2 to report dependent adult abuse | 481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 235B.16 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Continuing education must be approved by the board and meet the standards in 481 IAC 805.3 (adopted as 645-207.3): an organized program of learning that contributes directly to professional competency, on subject matter integrally related to the practice, conducted by qualified presenters, that fulfills stated goals and provides proof of attendance showing date, location, course title, presenters, the number of contact hours, and a certificate or other evidence of completion. The board does not pre-approve providers, sponsors, or individual programs, so the licensee is responsible for judging whether a course meets the rules. A percentage of licensees is randomly audited after each renewal cycle and must then send the board the certificate of completion. The board's page tells licensees to keep certificates for four years for auditing purposes. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Iowa OTA need to renew?
- Iowa occupational therapy assistants must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). 481 IAC 805.2(1) (adopted as 645-207.2(1)) gives each credential its own lettered paragraph. Paragraph "b" requires each occupational therapy assistant to complete a minimum of 15 hours of board-approved continuing education each biennium; the other paragraph sets 30 hours for the occupational therapist. An hour of continuing education is at least 50 minutes and may be live, virtual, online or prerecorded where the instructor provides proof of completion. The compliance period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. Persons licensed for the first time do not have to complete continuing education for the first renewal, and hours earned any time from initial licensure until the second renewal may be used; apart from that, no hours carry into the next biennium. Under 481 IAC 805.3(2)"b" topics not directly and primarily related to the clinical application of occupational therapy, meaning business topics, personal skills topics, and general health topics such as clinical research, CPR and mandatory reporter training, must not exceed a combined 4 hours for an occupational therapy assistant. Online training is expressly allowed with no stated cap.
- How often does a Iowa OTA license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in Iowa renew every two years. The license expiration date is the fifteenth day of the licensee's birth month every two years after initial licensure, and the biennial renewal period runs from the sixteenth day of the birth month to the fifteenth day of the birth month two years later. A licensee issued a license within six months of the renewal date does not renew until the following renewal two years later. Renewal opens 60 days before expiration, and a 30 day grace period with a late fee follows expiration; after that the license is inactive. All continuing education must be finished before the renewal application is submitted, and not receiving a notice from the board does not excuse a late renewal.
- What specific CE topics are required for Iowa occupational therapy assistants?
- Child abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 232.69 to report child abuse). Dependent adult abuse identification and reporting training: required on a periodic schedule set by the board (licensees required by Iowa Code section 235B.3 or 235E.2 to report dependent adult abuse). Citations: child abuse identification and reporting training (481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 232.69(3)"b") and dependent adult abuse identification and reporting training (481 IAC 804.7(4) as adopted in ARC 7982C (645-206.7(4)); Iowa Code 235B.16).
- Do Iowa occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Continuing education must be approved by the board and meet the standards in 481 IAC 805.3 (adopted as 645-207.3): an organized program of learning that contributes directly to professional competency, on subject matter integrally related to the practice, conducted by qualified presenters, that fulfills stated goals and provides proof of attendance showing date, location, course title, presenters, the number of contact hours, and a certificate or other evidence of completion. The board does not pre-approve providers, sponsors, or individual programs, so the licensee is responsible for judging whether a course meets the rules. A percentage of licensees is randomly audited after each renewal cycle and must then send the board the certificate of completion. The board's page tells licensees to keep certificates for four years for auditing purposes.
- Is the first Iowa OTA renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Iowa does not require continuing education for a OTA's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- ARC 7983C, Continuing education for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, adopted and filed (Iowa Administrative Rules)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- ARC 7982C, Licensure of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, adopted and filed (Iowa Administrative Rules)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 9, 2026
- Physical & Occupational Therapy, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Occupational Therapist License, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Occupational Therapy Assistant License, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Iowa Admin. Code r. 481-805.2, Continuing education requirements (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 9, 2026
Iowa's physical therapy and occupational therapy board is genuinely combined: the regulator is the Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy, and the same board adopted separate chapters for each profession. Occupational therapy sits in 481 IAC chapters 804 to 808, with chapter 805 for continuing education, so this record shares a board with Iowa's physical therapy records but no rule text. The hour figures come from their own lettered paragraph of the rule, read separately for each credential: 15 hours for the occupational therapy assistant and 30 for the occupational therapist, with the non-clinical topic cap and the student supervision cap also set per credential (4 and 4 hours here). The official Iowa Administrative Code chapter files on legis.iowa.gov are PDF and RTF only, with no HTML rule text, so the rule was read on the state's own administrative rules site as ARC 7983C, the adopted and filed rulemaking effective July 1, 2024, and confirmed against the Cornell LII mirror of the current 481-805.2 citation. Iowa renumbered these rules from 645 to 481 when the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing took over, so the ARC pages carry the former 645-206 and 645-207 numbering while the current citations are 481-804 and 481-805; the board's own page lists the current numbers. NBCOT appears in the licensure rules as the body that administers the licensure examination and, for endorsement applicants, as a source of proof; current NBCOT certification is not a renewal condition. The board licenses both credentials and both renew on the same birth month cycle. Not stated in the rules read: an hour count for either mandatory reporter training, any live or in person minimum, and any category split.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.