Iowa Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements
Iowa nurse practitioners must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing).
Iowa nursing licenses run on a three year renewal cycle and expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. The ARNP license is renewed for the same period as the registered nurse license, so the two run together. Renewal requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body.
Summary
Iowa nurse practitioners must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). Iowa nursing licenses run on a three year renewal cycle and expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. The ARNP license is renewed for the same period as the registered nurse license, so the two run together. Renewal requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body. Iowa also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education on the CDC guidelines for prescribing opioids for chronic pain: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (ARNPs who prescribed opioids at any point during the three year renewal cycle. Writing hospital orders is not prescribing, but a CRNA who administers opioids and a pediatric nurse practitioner who prescribes them are covered). Mandatory reporter training, child abuse identification and reporting: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse working with children). Mandatory reporter training, dependent adult abuse identification and reporting: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse working with dependent adults).
Iowa Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Three-year (36 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 36 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Current national ARNP certification: the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the requirement for both ARNP license renewal and RN license renewal, and a copy of the certification is what an audited ARNP submits; Each mandatory reporter course (child abuse, dependent adult abuse) counts as two contact hours toward the total |
The requirement is not layered in Iowa; it is satisfied by one thing. Renewal or reactivation of any Iowa nursing license takes 36 contact hours of continuing education over the three year cycle, and for an ARNP the board states that the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the continuing education requirement for both ARNP license renewal and RN license renewal, with documentation of current ARNP certification verifying compliance. An ARNP therefore does not owe a separate advanced practice increment on top of the 36 hours, and the practical route to compliance is maintaining national certification. The 36 hour figure and the three year cycle both come from the board's own renewal and continuing education pages.
Required CE topics for Iowa nurse practitioners
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Continuing education on the CDC guidelines for prescribing opioids for chronic painAt least two hours addressing the current CDC prescribing guidelines, covering chronic pain management, dosing recommendations, prescription length, abuse risk factors and non-opioid alternatives. Documentation is emailed to the board with the renewal application. The board states the requirement on its ARNP continuing education page without a rule citation on that page. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | ARNPs who prescribed opioids at any point during the three year renewal cycle. Writing hospital orders is not prescribing, but a CRNA who administers opioids and a pediatric nurse practitioner who prescribes them are covered | Not stated |
| Mandatory reporter training, child abuse identification and reportingThe course counts as two contact hours toward the 36. A certificate from a course taken on or after July 1, 2019 is valid for three years; one taken before that date was valid for five. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | Any nurse working with children | Not stated |
| Mandatory reporter training, dependent adult abuse identification and reportingA separate course from the child abuse course; a nurse who works with both populations takes both. It counts as two contact hours toward the 36 and the certificate is valid for three years if taken on or after July 1, 2019. Non-canonical topic key. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | Any nurse working with dependent adults | Not stated |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Renewal is by attestation with random audit: a random number of licensees is selected each month and audits confirm the continuing education was completed. Documentation should be kept for four years and ready to submit. An audited ARNP may submit a copy of the current ARNP national certification instead of individual course certificates. Opioid prescribing documentation is emailed to the board with the renewal application. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Iowa NP need to renew?
- Iowa nurse practitioners must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing). The requirement is not layered in Iowa; it is satisfied by one thing. Renewal or reactivation of any Iowa nursing license takes 36 contact hours of continuing education over the three year cycle, and for an ARNP the board states that the continuing education required for ARNP certification meets the continuing education requirement for both ARNP license renewal and RN license renewal, with documentation of current ARNP certification verifying compliance. An ARNP therefore does not owe a separate advanced practice increment on top of the 36 hours, and the practical route to compliance is maintaining national certification. The 36 hour figure and the three year cycle both come from the board's own renewal and continuing education pages.
- How often does a Iowa NP license need to be renewed?
- Nurse Practitioner licenses in Iowa renew every three years. Iowa nursing licenses run on a three year renewal cycle and expire on the 15th day of the licensee's birth month. The ARNP license is renewed for the same period as the registered nurse license, so the two run together. Renewal requires documentation of current, time dated, advanced level certification by an appropriate national certifying body.
- What specific CE topics are required for Iowa nurse practitioners?
- Continuing education on the CDC guidelines for prescribing opioids for chronic pain: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (ARNPs who prescribed opioids at any point during the three year renewal cycle. Writing hospital orders is not prescribing, but a CRNA who administers opioids and a pediatric nurse practitioner who prescribes them are covered). Mandatory reporter training, child abuse identification and reporting: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse working with children). Mandatory reporter training, dependent adult abuse identification and reporting: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (any nurse working with dependent adults).
- Do Iowa nurse practitioners have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Renewal is by attestation with random audit: a random number of licensees is selected each month and audits confirm the continuing education was completed. Documentation should be kept for four years and ready to submit. An audited ARNP may submit a copy of the current ARNP national certification instead of individual course certificates. Opioid prescribing documentation is emailed to the board with the renewal application.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Nursing Licensure Renewals, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) Continuing Education Requirements, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Continuing Education (nursing), Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Mandatory Reporter Course Information, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Nursing and Professional Midwifery, Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and LicensingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Iowa licenses the nurse practitioner as an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner (ARNP) through the Board of Nursing, now administered by the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, and the ARNP rules cover all advanced practice roles rather than the nurse practitioner role alone, so this is the shared ARNP rule. The opioid page confirms it reaches CRNAs and pediatric nurse practitioners alongside other ARNPs. Hours (36 contact hours), the three year cycle and the birth month expiration were read on the board's own renewal and continuing education pages. Iowa now publishes its administrative rules for nursing only as PDF chapters on the legislature's site (481 Chapters 610 to 620), and those were not downloaded, so no rule citation is recorded for the hour count or for the mandated subjects; the Cornell LII mirror does not yet carry the renumbered Iowa nursing chapters. One topic key is outside the canonical list: dependent_adult_abuse_reporting. No pharmacology hour count is recorded because the board states none for ARNPs; the pharmacology content is embedded in the national certification the board requires. No first renewal exemption or proration is stated on the pages read.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Iowa Board of Nursing (Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.