Skip to main content
CredNet

Hawaii Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements

Hawaii licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Hawaii Board of Nursing.

All Hawaii LPN licenses expire on June 30 of every odd-numbered year regardless of issue date; the current biennium runs July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2027. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov; renewals are accepted from about mid-April. A license not renewed by June 30 is forfeited and may be restored within two years, after which it is terminated.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Hawaii licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Hawaii Board of Nursing. All Hawaii LPN licenses expire on June 30 of every odd-numbered year regardless of issue date; the current biennium runs July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2027. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov; renewals are accepted from about mid-April. A license not renewed by June 30 is forfeited and may be restored within two years, after which it is terminated.

Hawaii Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesCurrent national certification from a Board-recognized certifying body (full exemption from the learning activity requirement); Board-approved nursing refresher course; Two semester credits of post-licensure academic nursing education; 120 hours as a preceptor (Hawaii State Center for Nursing preceptor form); Nursing research study or evidence-based practice project (Board pre-approval for EBP); Authoring a peer-reviewed published article, book, or book chapter; Developing and conducting continuing nursing education; Completion of a nurse residency program; Other similar learning activity with Board pre-approval

Hawaii requires every RN and LPN to complete ONE of the learning activity options in the board's Continuing Competency Manual before each biennial renewal (HRS 457-9 and 457-9.2 per the board web page; the manual cites HRS 457-9.3). Option 1 is at least 30 contact hours of continuing education completed within the biennium (July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2027 for the current cycle); the other options are listed in alternatives_accepted. Combining activities is not permitted, choose exactly one option. CE must come from CCNE or ACEN accredited nursing schools, bodies accredited by AANPCB, ABSNC, ANCC, ICE, NCCA or NCSBN, ACCME, ANA, ACPE or Joint Accreditation providers, or courses approved by the California or Florida boards of nursing; CE approved by other state boards is not automatically accepted. BLS courses, employer orientation and self-improvement courses do not count. Recent graduates: a nurse who graduated within 12 months before the first renewal date is fully exempt; one who graduated 12 to 24 months before the first renewal must complete 15 contact hours, one semester credit, a nurse residency, or another approved activity. A nurse holding both LPN and RN licenses completes one activity at the RN level. Inactive renewal does not require continuing competency. The manual states the same requirement for LPNs and RNs.

Required CE topics for Hawaii licensed practical nurses

The Hawaii Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersLicensees attest at online renewal (mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov) and keep documentation for at least four years (two bienniums). After each June 30 deadline the board randomly selects licensees for audit, posts the list on its website, and audited nurses have 60 days from notice to submit completion certificates showing course name, provider, date and CE hours (or the documentation for the option used). CE providers must be among those listed in the manual (see continuing_education.notes).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Hawaii LPN/LVN need to renew?
Hawaii licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Hawaii Board of Nursing. Hawaii requires every RN and LPN to complete ONE of the learning activity options in the board's Continuing Competency Manual before each biennial renewal (HRS 457-9 and 457-9.2 per the board web page; the manual cites HRS 457-9.3). Option 1 is at least 30 contact hours of continuing education completed within the biennium (July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2027 for the current cycle); the other options are listed in alternatives_accepted. Combining activities is not permitted, choose exactly one option. CE must come from CCNE or ACEN accredited nursing schools, bodies accredited by AANPCB, ABSNC, ANCC, ICE, NCCA or NCSBN, ACCME, ANA, ACPE or Joint Accreditation providers, or courses approved by the California or Florida boards of nursing; CE approved by other state boards is not automatically accepted. BLS courses, employer orientation and self-improvement courses do not count. Recent graduates: a nurse who graduated within 12 months before the first renewal date is fully exempt; one who graduated 12 to 24 months before the first renewal must complete 15 contact hours, one semester credit, a nurse residency, or another approved activity. A nurse holding both LPN and RN licenses completes one activity at the RN level. Inactive renewal does not require continuing competency. The manual states the same requirement for LPNs and RNs.
How often does a Hawaii LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Hawaii renew every two years. All Hawaii LPN licenses expire on June 30 of every odd-numbered year regardless of issue date; the current biennium runs July 1, 2025 to June 30, 2027. Renew online at mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov; renewals are accepted from about mid-April. A license not renewed by June 30 is forfeited and may be restored within two years, after which it is terminated.
Does Hawaii require specific CE topics for licensed practical nurses?
The Hawaii Board of Nursing does not list mandated subject areas for LPN/LVN renewal on the pages we verified; the 30 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do Hawaii licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Licensees attest at online renewal (mypvl.dcca.hawaii.gov) and keep documentation for at least four years (two bienniums). After each June 30 deadline the board randomly selects licensees for audit, posts the list on its website, and audited nurses have 60 days from notice to submit completion certificates showing course name, provider, date and CE hours (or the documentation for the option used). CE providers must be among those listed in the manual (see continuing_education.notes).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Cycle and the 30 contact hour CE option confirmed in the board's 2025-2027 Continuing Competency Manual and the board renewal page (renew by June 30 every odd-numbered year). The statute text (HRS 457-9.2 or 457-9.3) on capitol.hawaii.gov was blocked by Cloudflare for automated fetches and is not cited; the board page cites HRS 457-9 and 457-9.2(a) and (e) while the manual cites HRS 457-9.3 for the same requirement. Hawaii mandates no specific CE subjects for RNs or LPNs. hours_per_cycle records the CE path only; the other options are not hour-based. exempt_first_renewal is null because the exemption depends on graduation date (full within 12 months, half within 12 to 24 months), described in notes.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Hawaii Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.