Hawaii Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Hawaii physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Hawaii Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division).
Licenses renew every two years and expire December 31 of each even-numbered year (HRS 461J-10); the 30 continuing competence units must be completed by that expiration date. A license not renewed by then is forfeited and may be restored within one year on application, proof of the required units, and payment of the delinquent fee plus a 50 percent penalty.
Summary
Hawaii physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Hawaii Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division). Licenses renew every two years and expire December 31 of each even-numbered year (HRS 461J-10); the 30 continuing competence units must be completed by that expiration date. A license not renewed by then is forfeited and may be restored within one year on application, proof of the required units, and payment of the delinquent fee plus a 50 percent penalty. Hawaii also mandates specific subjects. Ethics and Jurisprudence (Hawaii laws and rules governing physical therapy): 2 contact hours; the board does not state how often. Life support for health care professionals: 4 contact hours; the board does not state how often. The first renewal is exempt.
Hawaii Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
HRS 461J-10.1 requires at least thirty units of approved continuing competence units (CCUs) in each two-year license renewal period, where one CCU equals at least fifty minutes of classroom or hands-on instruction, so the total is recorded as 30 contact hours. First renewal: no units if the initial license was issued less than twelve months before the renewal date; fifteen units if issued more than twelve months before. Physical therapist assistants are not subject to the requirement. Courses must relate to the practice of physical therapy in Hawaii; the board accepts courses sponsored by APTA or its Hawaii chapter, approved by FSBPT ProCert, approved by another jurisdiction board, or approved by the board itself. A licensee may request an exemption under HRS 461J-10.14 before the renewal period ends. Carryover and online caps were not stated in the sources read.
Required CE topics for Hawaii physical therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ethics and Jurisprudence (Hawaii laws and rules governing physical therapy)The board FAQ (Q9) states all ethics, laws, and rules (jurisprudence) courses must be approved by the Hawaii Board of Physical Therapy and must cover Hawaii law; it does not state the hour count. The two hour figure comes from APTA Hawaii, which describes it as required of all Hawaii PT licensees. Whether it recurs each cycle was not stated in a source read. | 2 contact hours | Frequency not stated | All licensees | Not stated |
| Life support for health care professionalsThe board FAQ (Q10) states the life support course must be at least four CCUs and comparable to or more advanced than the American Heart Association basic life support health care provider course. APTA Hawaii describes the four hours as required of all licensees. No canonical topic key fits, so basic_life_support is used. Frequency was not stated in a source read. | 4 contact hours | Frequency not stated | All licensees | Not stated |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 7 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | At renewal, licensees sign an attestation that the required CCUs were completed (board FAQ Q3); HRS 461J-10.1(c) frames this as submitting evidence of completion to the board or its designated agency. Records must be kept for seven years after the activity concludes because the board may randomly audit CCUs (FAQ Q5). Accepted courses: APTA or APTA Hawaii sponsored, FSBPT ProCert approved, approved by another jurisdiction board, or approved by the Hawaii board; ethics and jurisprudence courses must be approved by the Hawaii board specifically. The board publishes a list of approved courses for each biennium. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Hawaii PT need to renew?
- Hawaii physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Hawaii Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division). HRS 461J-10.1 requires at least thirty units of approved continuing competence units (CCUs) in each two-year license renewal period, where one CCU equals at least fifty minutes of classroom or hands-on instruction, so the total is recorded as 30 contact hours. First renewal: no units if the initial license was issued less than twelve months before the renewal date; fifteen units if issued more than twelve months before. Physical therapist assistants are not subject to the requirement. Courses must relate to the practice of physical therapy in Hawaii; the board accepts courses sponsored by APTA or its Hawaii chapter, approved by FSBPT ProCert, approved by another jurisdiction board, or approved by the board itself. A licensee may request an exemption under HRS 461J-10.14 before the renewal period ends. Carryover and online caps were not stated in the sources read.
- How often does a Hawaii PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Hawaii renew every two years. Licenses renew every two years and expire December 31 of each even-numbered year (HRS 461J-10); the 30 continuing competence units must be completed by that expiration date. A license not renewed by then is forfeited and may be restored within one year on application, proof of the required units, and payment of the delinquent fee plus a 50 percent penalty.
- What specific CE topics are required for Hawaii physical therapists?
- Ethics and Jurisprudence (Hawaii laws and rules governing physical therapy): 2 contact hours; the board does not state how often. Life support for health care professionals: 4 contact hours; the board does not state how often.
- Do Hawaii physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 7 years. At renewal, licensees sign an attestation that the required CCUs were completed (board FAQ Q3); HRS 461J-10.1(c) frames this as submitting evidence of completion to the board or its designated agency. Records must be kept for seven years after the activity concludes because the board may randomly audit CCUs (FAQ Q5). Accepted courses: APTA or APTA Hawaii sponsored, FSBPT ProCert approved, approved by another jurisdiction board, or approved by the Hawaii board; ethics and jurisprudence courses must be approved by the Hawaii board specifically. The board publishes a list of approved courses for each biennium.
- Is the first Hawaii PT renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Hawaii does not require continuing education for a PT's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- HRS 461J-10.1 Continuing competenceStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- HRS 461J-10 Biennial renewal; failure to renewStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Board of Physical Therapy, Frequently Asked Questions Regarding the Continuing Competence Requirements (Rev 0220)State board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Board of Physical Therapy, DCCA HawaiiState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Continuing Competency Information, APTA HawaiiThird-party summary, accessed September 7, 2026
The 30 unit requirement, two-year cycle, December 31 even-year deadline, first-renewal rule, evidence at renewal, and random audit were read directly from HRS 461J-10 and 461J-10.1 on the Hawaii State Legislature site (viewed in a browser; the host blocks automated clients) and confirmed in the board FAQ PDF, which also supplied the seven year retention period, the attestation at renewal, and the accepted course sources. The board FAQ confirms that ethics/jurisprudence courses must be Hawaii-specific and board-approved and that a life support course must be at least four CCUs, but does not itself state the two hour ethics figure; that figure rests on APTA Hawaii. The statutory or rule citation for both subject mandates (likely HAR chapter 16-110) was not read, and their frequency is recorded as unknown. Carryover and online caps not stated.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Hawaii Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Division) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.