Washington Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements
Washington licensed practical nurses must complete 8 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Nursing.
LPN licenses renew every year on the licensee's birthday. Renewal is completed in the HELMS portal with an attestation that the continuing competency requirements were met; online renewal opens 85 to 90 days before expiration.
Summary
Washington licensed practical nurses must complete 8 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Nursing. LPN licenses renew every year on the licensee's birthday. Renewal is completed in the HELMS portal with an attestation that the continuing competency requirements were met; online renewal opens 85 to 90 days before expiration. Washington also mandates specific subjects. Health equity training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment, treatment, and management: a one-time requirement of 6 contact hours (All LPNs; due by the end of the first full year of licensure). Telemedicine training: a one-time requirement (LPNs who provide clinical services through telemedicine).
Washington Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 8 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
WAC 246-840-220 applies to all nurses (it names registered nurses and licensed practical nurses) and requires a minimum of eight hours of continuing nursing education and a minimum of 96 hours of active nursing practice in the 12 months before renewal. At least two of the eight hours must be health equity training. Nurses enrolled in, or who have completed prerequisites for, an advanced nursing education program are exempt for that review period. The requirement moved from a two-year to a yearly cycle effective June 12, 2021 (WSR 21-11-032). The same rule and hours are recorded in the wa-rn record.
Required CE topics for Washington licensed practical nurses
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health equity trainingCounts toward the eight required hours. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | WAC 246-840-220 |
| Suicide assessment, treatment, and managementRCW 43.70.442 lists licensed practical nurses by name in the one-time training group. Must be a course on the Department of Health model list. The hours may count toward continuing competency. | 6 contact hours | One time | All LPNs; due by the end of the first full year of licensure | RCW 43.70.442(5)(a)(iii); WAC 246-840-220 |
| Telemedicine trainingThe board names the Washington State Healthcare Professional Telemedicine Training (NRTRC) as the compliant course. Hours are not stated on the board page. | Not stated | One time | LPNs who provide clinical services through telemedicine | RCW 43.70.495 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Washington LPN/LVN need to renew?
- Washington licensed practical nurses must complete 8 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Nursing. WAC 246-840-220 applies to all nurses (it names registered nurses and licensed practical nurses) and requires a minimum of eight hours of continuing nursing education and a minimum of 96 hours of active nursing practice in the 12 months before renewal. At least two of the eight hours must be health equity training. Nurses enrolled in, or who have completed prerequisites for, an advanced nursing education program are exempt for that review period. The requirement moved from a two-year to a yearly cycle effective June 12, 2021 (WSR 21-11-032). The same rule and hours are recorded in the wa-rn record.
- How often does a Washington LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
- Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Washington renew every year. LPN licenses renew every year on the licensee's birthday. Renewal is completed in the HELMS portal with an attestation that the continuing competency requirements were met; online renewal opens 85 to 90 days before expiration.
- What specific CE topics are required for Washington licensed practical nurses?
- Health equity training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment, treatment, and management: a one-time requirement of 6 contact hours (All LPNs; due by the end of the first full year of licensure). Telemedicine training: a one-time requirement (LPNs who provide clinical services through telemedicine). Citations: health equity training (WAC 246-840-220), suicide assessment, treatment, and management (RCW 43.70.442(5)(a)(iii); WAC 246-840-220), and telemedicine training (RCW 43.70.495).
- Do Washington licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Renew or Reactivate a License, Washington State Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-840-220 Continuing competency requirementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Continuing Education Requirements and Active Nursing Practice Hours ChangeState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Required Training for Nurses: Suicide Prevention and TelemedicineState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- RCW 43.70.442 Suicide assessment, treatment, and management trainingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
Hours and cycle confirmed against WAC 246-840-220 (which names LPNs) and the board's renewal page, which states LPNs renew annually by birthday. The board news page states the suicide prevention and telemedicine trainings apply to RNs, LPNs, and ARNPs. The rule says hours of continuing nursing education rather than contact hours. Record retention and audit practice were not stated on the pages read, so those fields are null. Third-party sites quoting 30 contact hours reflect the pre-2021 biennial requirement.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Washington State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.