Skip to main content
CredNet

Washington Physician (MD) license renewal and CE requirements

Washington physicians (MD) must complete 200 CME credits of continuing education every four years to renew their license with the Washington Medical Commission.

A physician and surgeon license must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's birthday. Courtesy renewal notices are emailed 90 days before expiration and renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before the expiration date, but failure to receive the notice does not excuse late renewal. The licensee must also submit current professional practice information and complete the demographic census at renewal.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
200
CME credits every four years
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Washington physicians (MD) must complete 200 CME credits of continuing education every four years to renew their license with the Washington Medical Commission. A physician and surgeon license must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's birthday. Courtesy renewal notices are emailed 90 days before expiration and renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before the expiration date, but failure to receive the notice does not excuse late renewal. The licensee must also submit current professional practice information and complete the demographic census at renewal. Washington also mandates specific subjects. Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management: a one-time requirement of 6 CME credits (all licensed physicians other than residents holding a limited license under RCW 18.71.095(3). The commission exempts a physician who has only brief or limited patient contact, or no patient contact.). Health equity continuing education training: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board. Best practices in prescribing opioids and the commission's opioid prescribing rules: a one-time requirement of 1 CME credit (physicians licensed to prescribe opioids, required in order to prescribe an opioid in Washington state). No more than 80 CME credits may be self-study or online and hours do not carry over between cycles.

Washington Physician (MD) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle200 CME creditsCounted over a 48-month window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capAt most 80 CME credits
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesObtain a current Physician's Recognition Award from the American Medical Association in at least two of the four years preceding the renewal due date; Become certified by a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties in the four years preceding the renewal due date; Meet the requirements for participation in maintenance of certification of an ABMS member board at the time of renewal; Participation in an ACGME accredited residency or in a fellowship program, accredited or not, may be credited 50 hours of Category I CME per year of training; Category III teaching of physicians or allied health professionals, maximum 80 credit hours; Category IV books, papers, publications and exhibits, maximum 80 credit hours; Category V self-directed activities including self-assessment, independent reading, specialty board exam preparation, and quality of care or utilization review committee service, maximum 80 credit hours

The license renews every two years but the continuing education reporting period is four years: a physician satisfies maintenance of licensure by completing 200 hours of continuing education every four years, or by one of the certification alternatives in WAC 246-919-430. All 200 hours may be earned in Category I, accredited sponsorship recognized for Category I credit by an organization meeting ACCME standards or its designated interstate accrediting agency, the Washington State Medical Association. Category II, nonaccredited sponsorship, is capped at 80 hours, as are Category III teaching, Category IV publications, and Category V self-directed activities. Excess hours earned in a reporting period cannot be carried forward to the next reporting cycle.

Required CE topics for Washington physician (md)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and managementAt least six hours, which may be completed in one or more sessions, due by the end of the first full continuing education reporting period after January 1, 2016, or the first full reporting period after initial licensure, whichever is later. The training must be on the model list developed by the Department of Health. The hours count toward the continuing education requirement in the same category under WAC 246-919-460.6 CME creditsOne timeAll licensed physicians other than residents holding a limited license under RCW 18.71.095(3). The commission exempts a physician who has only brief or limited patient contact, or no patient contact.WAC 246-919-435; RCW 43.70.442
Health equity continuing education trainingTwo hours every four years, as described in WAC 246-12-800 through 246-12-830. The hours count toward the continuing education requirement in the same category under WAC 246-919-460.2 CME creditsPeriodicAll licenseesWAC 246-919-445; RCW 43.70.613
Best practices in prescribing opioids and the commission's opioid prescribing rulesAt least one hour, one time, due by the end of the physician's first full continuing education reporting period after January 1, 2019, or the first full reporting period after initial licensure, whichever is later. The hours count toward the continuing education requirement in the same category under WAC 246-919-460.1 CME creditOne timePhysicians licensed to prescribe opioids, required in order to prescribe an opioid in Washington stateWAC 246-919-875

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCategory I credit must come from an organization or institution meeting the standards adopted by the ACCME or its designated interstate accrediting agency, the Washington State Medical Association. Documentation is not filed at renewal: up to 25 percent of practitioners are randomly audited for continuing education compliance after the credential is renewed, and the practitioner must supply acceptable documentation within 60 days. Records documenting attendance and description of learning must be kept for four years.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Washington MD need to renew?
Washington physicians (MD) must complete 200 CME credits of continuing education every four years to renew their license with the Washington Medical Commission. The license renews every two years but the continuing education reporting period is four years: a physician satisfies maintenance of licensure by completing 200 hours of continuing education every four years, or by one of the certification alternatives in WAC 246-919-430. All 200 hours may be earned in Category I, accredited sponsorship recognized for Category I credit by an organization meeting ACCME standards or its designated interstate accrediting agency, the Washington State Medical Association. Category II, nonaccredited sponsorship, is capped at 80 hours, as are Category III teaching, Category IV publications, and Category V self-directed activities. Excess hours earned in a reporting period cannot be carried forward to the next reporting cycle.
How often does a Washington MD license need to be renewed?
Physician (MD) licenses in Washington renew every two years. A physician and surgeon license must be renewed every two years on the practitioner's birthday. Courtesy renewal notices are emailed 90 days before expiration and renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before the expiration date, but failure to receive the notice does not excuse late renewal. The licensee must also submit current professional practice information and complete the demographic census at renewal.
What specific CE topics are required for Washington physicians (MD)?
Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management: a one-time requirement of 6 CME credits (all licensed physicians other than residents holding a limited license under RCW 18.71.095(3). The commission exempts a physician who has only brief or limited patient contact, or no patient contact.). Health equity continuing education training: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board. Best practices in prescribing opioids and the commission's opioid prescribing rules: a one-time requirement of 1 CME credit (physicians licensed to prescribe opioids, required in order to prescribe an opioid in Washington state). Citations: training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management (WAC 246-919-435; RCW 43.70.442), health equity continuing education training (WAC 246-919-445; RCW 43.70.613), and best practices in prescribing opioids and the commission's opioid prescribing rules (WAC 246-919-875).
Do Washington physicians (MD) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Category I credit must come from an organization or institution meeting the standards adopted by the ACCME or its designated interstate accrediting agency, the Washington State Medical Association. Documentation is not filed at renewal: up to 25 percent of practitioners are randomly audited for continuing education compliance after the credential is renewed, and the practitioner must supply acceptable documentation within 60 days. Records documenting attendance and description of learning must be kept for four years.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Washington splits the two professions. MDs are regulated by the Washington Medical Commission under chapter 246-919 WAC; DOs are regulated by the separate Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery under chapter 246-853 WAC, with different hours and a different renewal cycle. This record cites only the Medical Commission's chapter and pages. Note the two different periods: the license renews every two years on the licensee's birthday, while the continuing education requirement of 200 hours runs on a four year reporting period, which is why continuing_education.cycle_months is 48. No Category I minimum is set, so category_1_minimum is null; all 200 hours may be Category I and each other category is capped at 80 hours. The Medical Commission publishes its CME requirement summaries only as PDFs, which were not downloaded; every value here comes from the WAC text itself on the legislature's site, plus the Commission's renewals page. Whether the first renewal is exempt or prorated was not stated in the rules read and is left null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Washington Medical Commission before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.