Washington Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
Washington physical therapist assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health).
A physical therapist assistant license must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday, as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC (WAC 246-915-99005). Continuing competency runs on a separate two-year cycle: 24 hours of continuing education plus 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills every two years.
Summary
Washington physical therapist assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health). A physical therapist assistant license must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday, as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC (WAC 246-915-99005). Continuing competency runs on a separate two-year cycle: 24 hours of continuing education plus 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills every two years. Washington also mandates specific subjects. Health equity continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment training: a one-time requirement of 3 contact hours. Washington state jurisprudence examination: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour (within the first full continuing education cycle after initial licensure). Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Washington Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle. |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Live or recorded instructional electronic media (maximum 4 hours); Books or articles read (maximum 8 hours); Preparation and presentation of professional physical therapy courses (maximum 16 hours); Passing the Washington state jurisprudence examination (1 hour) |
WAC 246-915-085(3) requires a physical therapist assistant to complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years, against 32 hours for a physical therapist under subsection (1). The Department of Health repeats the figure, stating that physical therapist assistants must complete and maintain proof of 24 hours of continuing education every two years to maintain their license. Subsection (7) also requires a PTA to complete 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills every two years, which may be obtained through employment or through non-clinical activities. Courses have no stated cap; the per-type caps above apply to the other activity categories. Continuing education hours in excess of the required hours earned in a reporting period cannot be carried forward to the next reporting cycle (WAC 246-12-230). The health equity, suicide assessment, and jurisprudence hours count toward the 24. Neither the rule nor the Department pages that were read state when a new licensee's first continuing education cycle begins or provide a first-renewal exemption.
Required CE topics for Washington physical therapist assistants
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health equity continuing educationEvery two years each physical therapist and physical therapist assistant completes two hours of health equity continuing competency training meeting the model standards in WAC 246-12-800 through 246-12-830. The hours count toward the 24 hour requirement. The Department of Health states the same two hour requirement for PTAs. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | WAC 246-915-085(4) |
| Suicide assessment trainingA one-time, three hour suicide assessment training is required of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants alike, and the Department of Health states it as a one-time, 3-hour suicide prevention training. It counts toward continued competency requirements. Washington sets six hours by default under RCW 43.70.442(5)(c) and allows three where the disciplining authority determines that screening and referral content is appropriate for the profession. The physical therapy rule makes that determination in terms, which is why this is three hours while Washington nurses and physicians owe six. | 3 contact hours | One time | All licensees | WAC 246-915-085(5) |
| Washington state jurisprudence examinationA physical therapist assistant must take and pass the Washington state jurisprudence examination within the first full continuing education cycle after initial licensure; passing counts as one hour toward continuing education. The Department of Health continuing education page that was read does not mention the exam, but the rule states it for PTs and PTAs together. | 1 contact hour | One time | Within the first full continuing education cycle after initial licensure | WAC 246-915-085(6) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | WAC 246-915-085 sets documentation by activity type rather than naming an approving body: certificates of completion with the sponsor, objectives, presenter credentials, dates, and hours for courses, and synopses, takeaways, transcripts, or letters for other activity types. Up to twenty-five percent of practitioners are randomly audited for continuing education compliance after the credential is renewed, and a practitioner who does not supply acceptable documentation within sixty days may be disciplined (WAC 246-12-190). Records documenting attendance and a description of the learning are kept for four years (WAC 246-12-200). |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Washington PTA need to renew?
- Washington physical therapist assistants must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health). WAC 246-915-085(3) requires a physical therapist assistant to complete 24 hours of continuing education every two years, against 32 hours for a physical therapist under subsection (1). The Department of Health repeats the figure, stating that physical therapist assistants must complete and maintain proof of 24 hours of continuing education every two years to maintain their license. Subsection (7) also requires a PTA to complete 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills every two years, which may be obtained through employment or through non-clinical activities. Courses have no stated cap; the per-type caps above apply to the other activity categories. Continuing education hours in excess of the required hours earned in a reporting period cannot be carried forward to the next reporting cycle (WAC 246-12-230). The health equity, suicide assessment, and jurisprudence hours count toward the 24. Neither the rule nor the Department pages that were read state when a new licensee's first continuing education cycle begins or provide a first-renewal exemption.
- How often does a Washington PTA license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in Washington renew every year. A physical therapist assistant license must be renewed every year on the practitioner's birthday, as provided in chapter 246-12 WAC (WAC 246-915-99005). Continuing competency runs on a separate two-year cycle: 24 hours of continuing education plus 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills every two years.
- What specific CE topics are required for Washington physical therapist assistants?
- Health equity continuing education: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment training: a one-time requirement of 3 contact hours. Washington state jurisprudence examination: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour (within the first full continuing education cycle after initial licensure). Citations: health equity continuing education (WAC 246-915-085(4)), suicide assessment training (WAC 246-915-085(5)), and washington state jurisprudence examination (WAC 246-915-085(6)).
- Do Washington physical therapist assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. WAC 246-915-085 sets documentation by activity type rather than naming an approving body: certificates of completion with the sponsor, objectives, presenter credentials, dates, and hours for courses, and synopses, takeaways, transcripts, or letters for other activity types. Up to twenty-five percent of practitioners are randomly audited for continuing education compliance after the credential is renewed, and a practitioner who does not supply acceptable documentation within sixty days may be disciplined (WAC 246-12-190). Records documenting attendance and a description of the learning are kept for four years (WAC 246-12-200).
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- WAC 246-915-085 Continuing competency (24 hours for physical therapist assistants, health equity, suicide assessment, jurisprudence, 200 practice hours)Statute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- WAC 246-915-99005 Physical therapist assistant fees and renewal cycleStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- WAC 246-12-190 Auditing for complianceStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- WAC 246-12-200 Acceptable audit documentationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- WAC 246-12-230 Carrying over continuing education creditsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant Continuing Education, Washington State Department of HealthState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
The 24 hour figure was read twice as a physical therapist assistant figure: WAC 246-915-085(3) states it for PTAs where subsection (1) states 32 hours for PTs, and the Department of Health continuing education page states 24 hours for physical therapist assistants. The renewal cycle comes from WAC 246-915-99005, the PTA specific fee and renewal cycle rule, which requires annual renewal on the practitioner's birthday; WAC 246-915-990 covers physical therapists only. The 200 practice hours, health equity, and suicide assessment requirements are stated for PTAs in the rule and on the Department page. Unlike the physical therapist record, no spinal manipulation endorsement requirement applies, since WAC 246-915-085(2) reaches physical therapists who hold that endorsement. Neither the rule nor the Department pages state a first-renewal exemption or when a new licensee's first cycle starts.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.