Skip to main content
CredNet

Washington Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements

Washington physical therapists must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health).

Physical therapists renew their license every year on or before their birthday (WAC 246-915-990); renewing after the birth date adds a late penalty that cannot be waived. Continuing competency is reported on a separate two-year cycle: 32 hours of continuing education plus 200 hours of physical therapy practice or related activity every two years, attested by a signed declaration at renewal.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
32
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
4
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Washington physical therapists must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health). Physical therapists renew their license every year on or before their birthday (WAC 246-915-990); renewing after the birth date adds a late penalty that cannot be waived. Continuing competency is reported on a separate two-year cycle: 32 hours of continuing education plus 200 hours of physical therapy practice or related activity every two years, attested by a signed declaration at renewal. Washington also mandates specific subjects. Health equity continuing competency training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment training (screening and referral): a one-time requirement of 3 contact hours. Washington state jurisprudence examination: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour (PTs and PTAs licensed on or after January 1, 2026, within their first full continuing education cycle after initial licensure). Continuing education directly related to spinal manipulation: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (physical therapists who hold a spinal manipulation endorsement). Hours do not carry over between cycles.

Washington Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle32 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesLive or recorded instructional electronic media without specific goals and objectives (max 4 hours; submit two takeaways per hour); Books or articles reviewed (max 8 hours of reading time; one-page synopsis per hour); Preparation and presentation of professional physical therapy courses or lectures (max 16 hours); Publication of original scholarly research or work in a peer-reviewed journal, including posters (max 10 hours); Clinical instruction of CAPTE-program students or ABPTRFE residents and fellows (32 hours of mentorship = 1 CE hour, max 10 hours); Courses required for professional certification such as public school work (max 15 hours); Courses at an accredited institution of higher education (no limit; quarter credit = 10 hours, trimester credit = 12, semester credit = 15); Attendance at science-based conferences (no limit); Preparing for and passing ABPTS board certification exams (no limit); Passing the Washington state jurisprudence examination (1 hour)

WAC 246-915-085(1) (effective December 31, 2025) requires a physical therapist to complete 32 hours of continuing education every two years through the listed means; courses, live or online including recorded, have no limit, and the per-type caps above apply to the other categories. A credit hour is time actually spent and cannot be less than 50 minutes (WAC 246-12-220). Excess hours cannot be carried forward (WAC 246-12-230) and the same course counts only once per cycle (WAC 246-12-240). In addition, every two years each PT must complete 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills, through clinical practice or nonclinical activities such as teaching, professional or government service, course development, research, consulting, management, or volunteer and observation hours (WAC 246-915-085(7)). The health equity, suicide prevention, spinal manipulation, and jurisprudence hours all count toward the 32. The rules fetched do not state when a new licensee's first CE cycle begins or any first-renewal exemption; the DOH FAQ only says the jurisprudence exam is due within the first full CE cycle.

Required CE topics for Washington physical therapists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Health equity continuing competency trainingEvery two years each PT and PTA completes two hours of health equity training meeting the model standards in WAC 246-12-800 to 830; the hours count toward the 32-hour requirement. The PT rule's every-two-years frequency exceeds the every-four-years minimum in WAC 246-12-820.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesWAC 246-915-085(4); WAC 246-12-800 through 246-12-830
Suicide assessment training (screening and referral)One-time, at least three hours from a single provider (may be split across sessions), empirically supported, including screening and referral; since July 1, 2017 must be from a provider on the Department of Health's suicide prevention training model list. Counts toward continued competency requirements. Washington sets six hours by default under RCW 43.70.442(5)(c) and allows three where the disciplining authority determines that screening and referral content is appropriate for the profession. The physical therapy rule makes that determination in terms, which is why this is three hours while Washington nurses and physicians owe six.3 contact hoursOne timeAll licenseesWAC 246-915-085(5); WAC 246-915-086
Washington state jurisprudence examinationEach PT and PTA must take and pass the Washington state jurisprudence examination within the first full CE cycle after initial licensure; passing counts as one hour toward CE. The DOH FAQ states that effective January 1, 2026 the exam is no longer a pre-licensure requirement and is instead required once during the first full CE cycle for anyone licensed on or after that date.1 contact hourOne timePTs and PTAs licensed on or after January 1, 2026, within their first full continuing education cycle after initial licensureWAC 246-915-085(6)
Continuing education directly related to spinal manipulationEvery two years, at least 10 hours directly related to spinal manipulation, with at least five hours on procedural techniques and application. These hours count toward the general continuing competency requirement. Non-canonical topic key; no canonical key fits an endorsement-specific clinical subject.10 contact hoursEvery renewalPhysical therapists who hold a spinal manipulation endorsementWAC 246-915-085(2)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersNo board pre-approval of courses is stated; WAC 246-915-085 specifies documentation by activity type (certificates of completion with sponsor, objectives, presenter credentials, dates, and hours for courses; synopses, takeaways, transcripts, or letters for other types). Suicide assessment training must come from a provider on the Department of Health's model list. Compliance is verified by a signed declaration at renewal (WAC 246-12-180); up to 25 percent of practitioners are randomly audited after renewal and must supply documentation within 60 days (WAC 246-12-190); records documenting attendance and description of learning are kept four years (WAC 246-12-200).

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Washington PT need to renew?
Washington physical therapists must complete 32 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health). WAC 246-915-085(1) (effective December 31, 2025) requires a physical therapist to complete 32 hours of continuing education every two years through the listed means; courses, live or online including recorded, have no limit, and the per-type caps above apply to the other categories. A credit hour is time actually spent and cannot be less than 50 minutes (WAC 246-12-220). Excess hours cannot be carried forward (WAC 246-12-230) and the same course counts only once per cycle (WAC 246-12-240). In addition, every two years each PT must complete 200 hours involving the application of physical therapy knowledge and skills, through clinical practice or nonclinical activities such as teaching, professional or government service, course development, research, consulting, management, or volunteer and observation hours (WAC 246-915-085(7)). The health equity, suicide prevention, spinal manipulation, and jurisprudence hours all count toward the 32. The rules fetched do not state when a new licensee's first CE cycle begins or any first-renewal exemption; the DOH FAQ only says the jurisprudence exam is due within the first full CE cycle.
How often does a Washington PT license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist licenses in Washington renew every year. Physical therapists renew their license every year on or before their birthday (WAC 246-915-990); renewing after the birth date adds a late penalty that cannot be waived. Continuing competency is reported on a separate two-year cycle: 32 hours of continuing education plus 200 hours of physical therapy practice or related activity every two years, attested by a signed declaration at renewal.
What specific CE topics are required for Washington physical therapists?
Health equity continuing competency training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment training (screening and referral): a one-time requirement of 3 contact hours. Washington state jurisprudence examination: a one-time requirement of 1 contact hour (PTs and PTAs licensed on or after January 1, 2026, within their first full continuing education cycle after initial licensure). Continuing education directly related to spinal manipulation: 10 contact hours every renewal cycle (physical therapists who hold a spinal manipulation endorsement). Citations: health equity continuing competency training (WAC 246-915-085(4); WAC 246-12-800 through 246-12-830), suicide assessment training (screening and referral) (WAC 246-915-085(5); WAC 246-915-086), washington state jurisprudence examination (WAC 246-915-085(6)), and continuing education directly related to spinal manipulation (WAC 246-915-085(2)).
Do Washington physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. No board pre-approval of courses is stated; WAC 246-915-085 specifies documentation by activity type (certificates of completion with sponsor, objectives, presenter credentials, dates, and hours for courses; synopses, takeaways, transcripts, or letters for other types). Suicide assessment training must come from a provider on the Department of Health's model list. Compliance is verified by a signed declaration at renewal (WAC 246-12-180); up to 25 percent of practitioners are randomly audited after renewal and must supply documentation within 60 days (WAC 246-12-190); records documenting attendance and description of learning are kept four years (WAC 246-12-200).

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Full text of WAC 246-915-085 (certified 12/24/2025) was read from the legislature's PDF rendering; the 32-hour total, per-type caps, 200-hour practice requirement, health equity, suicide assessment, jurisprudence, and spinal manipulation provisions come from that text and match the DOH CE page. Annual birthday renewal from WAC 246-915-990 and the DOH licensing page; declaration, audit (up to 25 percent, 60 days), four-year retention, 50-minute credit hour, and no-carryover from chapter 246-12 Part 7. WAC 246-915-080 (renewal) was repealed in 1997. Not stated in fetched sources: when the first two-year CE cycle starts for a new licensee, any first-renewal exemption or proration, or a live or category minimum. The spinal_manipulation topic key is non-canonical and applies only to endorsement holders.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Washington State Board of Physical Therapy (Department of Health) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.