Skip to main content
CredNet

Washington Dentist license renewal and CE requirements

Washington dentists must complete 63 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Washington State Dental Quality Assurance Commission, Washington State Department of Health.

A dentist license expires on the practitioner's birthday and must be renewed every year. Continuing education runs on a separate three year clock: a dentist attests to 63 hours every three years as part of the annual renewal that closes the reporting period. For a dentist licensed in Washington before 2019 the three year reporting period began January 1, 2019 with the first verification due at the 2022 annual renewal and every three years after that; for a dentist first licensed in 2019 or later it begins on the date of licensure. Renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before expiration.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Tied to the licensee's birth date
CE per cycle
63
contact hours every three years
Mandated topics
4
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Washington dentists must complete 63 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Washington State Dental Quality Assurance Commission, Washington State Department of Health. A dentist license expires on the practitioner's birthday and must be renewed every year. Continuing education runs on a separate three year clock: a dentist attests to 63 hours every three years as part of the annual renewal that closes the reporting period. For a dentist licensed in Washington before 2019 the three year reporting period began January 1, 2019 with the first verification due at the 2022 annual renewal and every three years after that; for a dentist first licensed in 2019 or later it begins on the date of licensure. Renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before expiration. Washington also mandates specific subjects. Commission approved dental jurisprudence examination: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Commission approved health equity training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment, treatment and management training: a one-time requirement of 3 contact hours. Health care provider basic life support (BLS): required every renewal cycle.

Washington Dentist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth date
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle63 contact hoursCounted over a three-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesTeaching, presenting or lecturing in a course the dentist created or authored, up to 21 hours every three years; Direct clinical supervision of dental students and dental residents, up to 21 hours every three years; Publishing a paper in a peer review journal, 15 hours in the year of publication and up to 30 hours every three years; Reading and critically evaluating hypothesis-driven scientific journal articles, one hour per completed questionnaire and up to 21 hours every three years, after a one-time four hour course in evidence-based dentistry or medicine; Volunteer dental patient care, up to 21 hours every three years; Reading a book with a two page written synopsis, two hours per book and up to six hours every three years; Current specialty board certification or recertification recognized by the ADA or the American Board of Dental Specialties, or the AGD Fellow, Master or Lifelong Learning and Service Recognition Award, accepted as 62 hours

The dentist total is 63 hours every three years, a figure with no relation to the dental hygienist requirement, which is 15 clock hours every year under a different chapter and a different regulator. Washington does not cap online study but it discounts it: self-study provided online or through the mail counts 30 minutes for every hour completed, except for live or recorded interactive webinars. Practice management and billing practices are capped at 21 hours every three years. Health care provider BLS certification is required by WAC 246-817-720; one hour of continuing education is granted for each BLS certification course and no more than three hours every three years may be counted in that category, so BLS does count toward the 63 but only in a small amount. The commission does not authorize or approve specific continuing education courses.

Required CE topics for Washington dentists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Commission approved dental jurisprudence examinationOnce every three years. One hour of continuing education is granted toward the 63 hour requirement. The Department of Health page describes it as a free open book online examination. There is no equivalent requirement for dental hygienists.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licenseesWAC 246-817-440(2)
Commission approved health equity trainingA minimum of two hours every three years, granted toward the 63 hour requirement. The program must meet WAC 246-12-830.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesWAC 246-817-440(3)
Suicide assessment, treatment and management trainingRCW 43.70.442(5)(a)(ix) names a dentist licensed under chapter 18.32 RCW among the professionals who must complete a one-time training, and (5)(b)(iii) sets the timing at the end of the full continuing education reporting period after August 1, 2020 or the first full reporting period after initial licensure, whichever is later. RCW 43.70.442(3) provides that the hours count toward the continuing education requirement. The three hour length is stated on the Department of Health dentist continuing education page.3 contact hoursOne timeAll licenseesRCW 43.70.442(5)
Health care provider basic life support (BLS)Recorded as a mandated subject because the commission treats BLS as a counted category, not only a certification condition. Certification is required by WAC 246-817-720, one hour of continuing education is granted for each BLS certification course, and a dentist may not count more than three hours every three years in this category.Not statedEvery renewalAll licenseesWAC 246-817-440(4)(c); WAC 246-817-720

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersThe commission will not authorize or approve specific continuing education courses; the licensee chooses courses inside the subject categories listed in WAC 246-817-440(4). A dentist attests to completion at renewal. The commission may randomly audit up to 25 percent of licensed dentists every three years after the license is renewed, under WAC 246-12-170 through 246-12-240. Proof is a certificate of completion, letter or other documentation from the organization that provided the activity, showing the date of attendance or completion, hours earned and course title or subject. WAC 246-12-200 requires records to be kept for four years.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Washington DDS/DMD need to renew?
Washington dentists must complete 63 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Washington State Dental Quality Assurance Commission, Washington State Department of Health. The dentist total is 63 hours every three years, a figure with no relation to the dental hygienist requirement, which is 15 clock hours every year under a different chapter and a different regulator. Washington does not cap online study but it discounts it: self-study provided online or through the mail counts 30 minutes for every hour completed, except for live or recorded interactive webinars. Practice management and billing practices are capped at 21 hours every three years. Health care provider BLS certification is required by WAC 246-817-720; one hour of continuing education is granted for each BLS certification course and no more than three hours every three years may be counted in that category, so BLS does count toward the 63 but only in a small amount. The commission does not authorize or approve specific continuing education courses.
How often does a Washington DDS/DMD license need to be renewed?
Dentist licenses in Washington renew every year. A dentist license expires on the practitioner's birthday and must be renewed every year. Continuing education runs on a separate three year clock: a dentist attests to 63 hours every three years as part of the annual renewal that closes the reporting period. For a dentist licensed in Washington before 2019 the three year reporting period began January 1, 2019 with the first verification due at the 2022 annual renewal and every three years after that; for a dentist first licensed in 2019 or later it begins on the date of licensure. Renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before expiration.
What specific CE topics are required for Washington dentists?
Commission approved dental jurisprudence examination: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Commission approved health equity training: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Suicide assessment, treatment and management training: a one-time requirement of 3 contact hours. Health care provider basic life support (BLS): required every renewal cycle. Citations: commission approved dental jurisprudence examination (WAC 246-817-440(2)), commission approved health equity training (WAC 246-817-440(3)), suicide assessment, treatment and management training (RCW 43.70.442(5)), and health care provider basic life support (BLS) (WAC 246-817-440(4)(c); WAC 246-817-720).
Do Washington dentists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. The commission will not authorize or approve specific continuing education courses; the licensee chooses courses inside the subject categories listed in WAC 246-817-440(4). A dentist attests to completion at renewal. The commission may randomly audit up to 25 percent of licensed dentists every three years after the license is renewed, under WAC 246-12-170 through 246-12-240. Proof is a certificate of completion, letter or other documentation from the organization that provided the activity, showing the date of attendance or completion, hours earned and course title or subject. WAC 246-12-200 requires records to be kept for four years.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Washington is one of the states where the two credentials sit under different regulators. Dentists are regulated by the Dental Quality Assurance Commission under chapter 246-817 WAC; dental hygienists are regulated by the Department of Health with a Dental Hygiene Examining Committee under chapter 246-815 WAC. The two continuing education rules share almost nothing: 63 hours every three years for dentists against 15 clock hours a year for hygienists, a jurisprudence examination and health equity training for dentists only. Everything here was read in the full text of WAC 246-817-440 on the Legislature's site, which shows the section last filed 12/28/23 effective 1/28/24, plus the Department of Health dentist continuing education page. The annual birthday expiration comes from WAC 246-12-030, the four year record retention from WAC 246-12-200, and the one-time suicide training from RCW 43.70.442. The rule states no carryover and no first renewal exemption, so those fields are null. Anesthesia and sedation permits under chapter 246-817 WAC are separate credentials and no permit hours are folded into the 63.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Washington State Dental Quality Assurance Commission, Washington State Department of Health before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.