Washington Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements
Washington osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 150 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery.
An osteopathic physician and surgeon license must be renewed every year on the physician's birthday. Postgraduate training limited licenses renew every year to correspond to program dates. Courtesy renewal notices go to the contact information on file before expiration, and renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before the expiration date; failure to receive the notice does not excuse late renewal.
Summary
Washington osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 150 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery. An osteopathic physician and surgeon license must be renewed every year on the physician's birthday. Postgraduate training limited licenses renew every year to correspond to program dates. Courtesy renewal notices go to the contact information on file before expiration, and renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before the expiration date; failure to receive the notice does not excuse late renewal. Washington also mandates specific subjects. Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management: a one-time requirement of 6 CME credits (all licensed osteopathic physicians except those holding a postgraduate training limited license). Health equity continuing education training: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board. Best practices in prescribing opioids and the current opioid prescribing rules: a one-time requirement of 1 CME credit (osteopathic physicians licensed to prescribe opioids, required in order to prescribe an opioid in Washington state). No more than 90 CME credits may be self-study or online and hours do not carry over between cycles.
Washington Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Annual (12 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 150 CME creditsCounted over a three-year window, separate from the renewal cycle. |
| Category 1 minimum | 60 CME credits |
| Self-study or online cap | At most 90 CME credits |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Certify or recertify with the American Board of Osteopathic Medical Specialties or the American Board of Medical Specialties within the last six years; Meet the requirements for participation in maintenance of certification of an ABOMS or ABMS member board at the time of renewal; Hold a current American Osteopathic Association certificate of excellence in CME; Hold a current American Medical Association physician's recognition award; Category 1-B: original scientific paper in publishable form, up to 10 credit hours for the initial presentation and up to 15 credit hours for publication per paper; Category 1-C: serving as teacher, lecturer, preceptor or moderator-participant in a formal educational program, up to 45 hours per three year period; Category 2-B: preparation and personal presentation of a scientific exhibit, 10 credits each, up to 30 hours per three year period; Category 2-C: other informal educational activities and programs by nonrecognized sponsors, up to 30 hours per three year period |
The license renews every year but the continuing education requirement runs on a three year period: 150 hours of creditable CME every three years, earned in the 36 months preceding the renewal application, with one clock hour equal to one credit hour. At least 60 of the 150 must be Category 1, which includes Category 1-A formal programs sponsored by nationally recognized osteopathic or medical institutions such as the AOA or AMA, accredited schools and hospitals, societies, CME institutes, government health agencies, residencies and fellowships, and interactive online courses from those sponsors. Category 2-A home study, which covers reading recognized journals, audio programs, and other home study courses, is capped at 90 hours per three year period. A licensee who meets one of the certification options in WAC 246-853-080(2) satisfies the hour requirement but must still complete Washington's state-specific mandated continuing education. Excess hours cannot be carried forward to the next reporting cycle.
Required CE topics for Washington osteopathic physician (do)s
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and managementA board-approved training of at least six hours, which may be provided in one or more sessions, due by the end of the first full continuing education reporting period after January 1, 2016, or the first full reporting period after initial licensure, whichever is later. Training must be on the Department of Health's model list. The hours count toward the continuing education requirement. | 6 CME credits | One time | All licensed osteopathic physicians except those holding a postgraduate training limited license | WAC 246-853-065; RCW 43.70.442 |
| Health equity continuing education trainingTwo hours every four years, as described in WAC 246-12-800 through 246-12-830 and required by Engrossed Substitute Senate Bill 5229 (Chapter 276, Laws of 2021). The hours count toward the continuing education requirement. | 2 CME credits | Periodic | All licensees | WAC 246-853-075; RCW 43.70.613 |
| Best practices in prescribing opioids and the current opioid prescribing rulesAt least one hour, one time, due by the end of the osteopathic physician's first full continuing education reporting period after January 1, 2019, or the first full reporting period after initial licensure, whichever is later. The hours count toward the continuing education requirement. | 1 CME credit | One time | Osteopathic physicians licensed to prescribe opioids, required in order to prescribe an opioid in Washington state | WAC 246-853-685 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Category 1-A programs must be sponsored by nationally recognized osteopathic or medical institutions, organizations and their affiliates, including formal medical associations such as the AOA and AMA, accredited osteopathic or medical schools and hospitals, societies and specialty practice organizations, CME institutes, governmental health agencies, residencies, fellowships and preceptorships, and interactive online courses from those sponsors. Documentation is not filed at renewal: up to 25 percent of practitioners are randomly audited for continuing education compliance after the credential is renewed, and the practitioner must supply acceptable documentation within 60 days. Records documenting attendance and description of learning must be kept for four years. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Washington DO need to renew?
- Washington osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 150 CME credits of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the Washington State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery. The license renews every year but the continuing education requirement runs on a three year period: 150 hours of creditable CME every three years, earned in the 36 months preceding the renewal application, with one clock hour equal to one credit hour. At least 60 of the 150 must be Category 1, which includes Category 1-A formal programs sponsored by nationally recognized osteopathic or medical institutions such as the AOA or AMA, accredited schools and hospitals, societies, CME institutes, government health agencies, residencies and fellowships, and interactive online courses from those sponsors. Category 2-A home study, which covers reading recognized journals, audio programs, and other home study courses, is capped at 90 hours per three year period. A licensee who meets one of the certification options in WAC 246-853-080(2) satisfies the hour requirement but must still complete Washington's state-specific mandated continuing education. Excess hours cannot be carried forward to the next reporting cycle.
- How often does a Washington DO license need to be renewed?
- Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Washington renew every year. An osteopathic physician and surgeon license must be renewed every year on the physician's birthday. Postgraduate training limited licenses renew every year to correspond to program dates. Courtesy renewal notices go to the contact information on file before expiration, and renewal fees are accepted no sooner than 90 days before the expiration date; failure to receive the notice does not excuse late renewal.
- What specific CE topics are required for Washington osteopathic physicians (DO)?
- Training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management: a one-time requirement of 6 CME credits (all licensed osteopathic physicians except those holding a postgraduate training limited license). Health equity continuing education training: 2 CME credits on a periodic schedule set by the board. Best practices in prescribing opioids and the current opioid prescribing rules: a one-time requirement of 1 CME credit (osteopathic physicians licensed to prescribe opioids, required in order to prescribe an opioid in Washington state). Citations: training in suicide assessment, treatment, and management (WAC 246-853-065; RCW 43.70.442), health equity continuing education training (WAC 246-853-075; RCW 43.70.613), and best practices in prescribing opioids and the current opioid prescribing rules (WAC 246-853-685).
- Do Washington osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Category 1-A programs must be sponsored by nationally recognized osteopathic or medical institutions, organizations and their affiliates, including formal medical associations such as the AOA and AMA, accredited osteopathic or medical schools and hospitals, societies and specialty practice organizations, CME institutes, governmental health agencies, residencies, fellowships and preceptorships, and interactive online courses from those sponsors. Documentation is not filed at renewal: up to 25 percent of practitioners are randomly audited for continuing education compliance after the credential is renewed, and the practitioner must supply acceptable documentation within 60 days. Records documenting attendance and description of learning must be kept for four years.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- WAC 246-853-080, Continuing educationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-853-070, Categories of creditable continuing professional education activitiesStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-853-990, Osteopathic fees and renewal cycleStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-853-065, Mandatory one-time training in suicide assessment, treatment, and managementStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-853-075, Health equity continuing education training requirementsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-853-685, Continuing education requirements for opioid prescribingStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Osteopathic Physician and Surgeon Continuing Education, Washington State Department of HealthState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-12-190, Auditing for complianceStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- WAC 246-12-230, Carrying over of continuing education creditsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
Washington splits the two professions and the differences are large, so nothing was copied from the MD record. DOs are regulated by the Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery under chapter 246-853 WAC: the license renews every year on the physician's birthday, not every two years as for MDs, and the continuing education requirement is 150 hours over a three year period with a 60 hour Category 1 minimum, rather than the MD requirement of 200 hours over four years with no Category 1 minimum. Because the license year and the CE period differ, continuing_education.cycle_months is 36 while renewal.cycle_months is 12. Hours, the Category 1 minimum, and the 90 hour home study cap were read in WAC 246-853-080 and 246-853-070 and confirmed on the Department of Health's osteopathic continuing education page. WAC 246-853-080 was last amended effective August 30, 2026. Whether the first renewal is exempt or prorated was not stated in the rules read and is left null.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Washington State Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.