Skip to main content
CredNet

Pennsylvania Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements

Pennsylvania licensed practical nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing.

Licenses for practical nurses expire on June 30 of each biennium in the even-numbered years (49 Pa. Code § 21.156(a)). Renew in the PALS portal before June 30 of the even-numbered year; the 2-hour child abuse course must be completed within that two-year cycle and reported by the provider before the Board will renew.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
2
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Pennsylvania licensed practical nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing. Licenses for practical nurses expire on June 30 of each biennium in the even-numbered years (49 Pa. Code § 21.156(a)). Renew in the PALS portal before June 30 of the even-numbered year; the 2-hour child abuse course must be completed within that two-year cycle and reported by the provider before the Board will renew. Pennsylvania also mandates specific subjects. Child abuse recognition and reporting (Act 31 of 2014): 2 contact hours every renewal cycle.

Pennsylvania Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle2 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo

Pennsylvania does not impose a general continuing education hour requirement on licensed practical nurses. 49 Pa. Code § 21.156, the LPN renewal rule, requires only that LPNs applying for renewal complete at least 2 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting under § 21.508(b) as a condition of biennial renewal. The 30-hour requirement in § 21.131 is written for registered nurses and does not reach LPNs, and the 2025 rulemaking adding organ donation and opioid education (55 Pa.B. 7504) does not mention LPNs. The 2 hours recorded here is therefore the child abuse course; the Board describes it as approved continuing education and the code counts it in hours. Because § 21.508(b) applies to every licensee renewing, the child abuse course is also due at the first renewal.

Required CE topics for Pennsylvania licensed practical nurses

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Child abuse recognition and reporting (Act 31 of 2014)Course must be approved by the Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs in consultation with the Department of Human Services; the provider reports completion electronically and the Board will not renew without that report or a written exemption under § 21.508(c). Credit applies to more than one Board credential if held.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licensees49 Pa. Code § 21.156(b.1); § 21.508(b)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated
Approved providersChild abuse course must be approved by the Bureau in consultation with the Department of Human Services (49 Pa. Code § 21.508, § 21.509)

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Pennsylvania LPN/LVN need to renew?
Pennsylvania licensed practical nurses must complete 2 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing. Pennsylvania does not impose a general continuing education hour requirement on licensed practical nurses. 49 Pa. Code § 21.156, the LPN renewal rule, requires only that LPNs applying for renewal complete at least 2 hours of approved training in child abuse recognition and reporting under § 21.508(b) as a condition of biennial renewal. The 30-hour requirement in § 21.131 is written for registered nurses and does not reach LPNs, and the 2025 rulemaking adding organ donation and opioid education (55 Pa.B. 7504) does not mention LPNs. The 2 hours recorded here is therefore the child abuse course; the Board describes it as approved continuing education and the code counts it in hours. Because § 21.508(b) applies to every licensee renewing, the child abuse course is also due at the first renewal.
How often does a Pennsylvania LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Pennsylvania renew every two years. Licenses for practical nurses expire on June 30 of each biennium in the even-numbered years (49 Pa. Code § 21.156(a)). Renew in the PALS portal before June 30 of the even-numbered year; the 2-hour child abuse course must be completed within that two-year cycle and reported by the provider before the Board will renew.
What specific CE topics are required for Pennsylvania licensed practical nurses?
Child abuse recognition and reporting (Act 31 of 2014): 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: child abuse recognition and reporting (Act 31 of 2014) (49 Pa. Code § 21.156(b.1); § 21.508(b)).
Do Pennsylvania licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates. Child abuse course must be approved by the Bureau in consultation with the Department of Human Services (49 Pa. Code § 21.508, § 21.509)
Is the first Pennsylvania LPN/LVN renewal exempt from CE?
No. Pennsylvania applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Cycle and expiration confirmed in 49 Pa. Code § 21.156(a) (June 30, even-numbered years). The absence of a general LPN CE requirement is drawn from the LPN renewal rule itself, which lists only the child abuse training, from § 21.131 being limited to registered nurses, and from 55 Pa.B. 7504 not mentioning LPNs; no board page states it in those words, so it is recorded here as read from the code. Completion is verified by the provider's electronic report to the Bureau rather than by the licensee submitting a certificate. Retention period and audit practice for LPNs were not stated in the sections read, so those fields are null. The Board's renewal page lists opioid education, which applies only to CRNPs with prescriptive authority.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.