Skip to main content
CredNet

South Carolina Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements

South Carolina licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the South Carolina Board of Nursing (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation).

RN and LPN licenses renew biennially on a fixed statewide schedule: the current cycle opened February 1, 2026, with a deadline of April 30, 2026, and licenses renewed then expire April 30, 2028 (Board renewals page), so renewal falls on April 30 of even-numbered years. Renewals submitted after April 30 are subject to reinstatement requirements and additional fees, and the online portal closes May 31 after which a paper reinstatement application with a new background check is required.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

South Carolina licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the South Carolina Board of Nursing (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation). RN and LPN licenses renew biennially on a fixed statewide schedule: the current cycle opened February 1, 2026, with a deadline of April 30, 2026, and licenses renewed then expire April 30, 2028 (Board renewals page), so renewal falls on April 30 of even-numbered years. Renewals submitted after April 30 are subject to reinstatement requirements and additional fees, and the online portal closes May 31 after which a paper reinstatement application with a new background check is required. Hours do not carry over between cycles.

South Carolina Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 04/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesMaintenance of certification or recertification by a national certifying body recognized by the Board, awarded during or maintained throughout the licensure period; Completion of an academic program of study in nursing or a related field recognized by the Board (advanced nursing degree, or a degree in health care management or administration, public health, gerontology, informatics, health education, or genetics) during the licensure period; Verification of competency and hours practiced as evidenced by employer certification on a Board-approved form (the Board sets no minimum number of practice hours); Nursing (NUR) courses required for an advanced nursing degree equivalent to at least 30 contact hours (one semester hour equals 15 contact hours) with a grade of C or better

S.C. Code Section 40-33-40 and the Board's Competency Requirements document state one requirement for biennial renewal of an active license without distinguishing RN from LPN, so they are the source for both the RN and LPN records. The LPN must document at least one of four options during the licensure period: the CE path is thirty contact hours from a continuing education provider recognized by the Board; the other three options are in alternatives_accepted. One contact hour is 60 minutes and one CEU equals ten contact hours. There is no limit on hours obtained online or by correspondence, an approved offering counts only once per period, and contact hours may not be carried over to the next licensure period. Repeat courses such as BLS, ACLS, PALS, NRP, TNCC and in-service programs count if approved by a listed organization. No subject is mandated for renewal; the Board-approved legal aspects in nursing course is required only for reinstatement of a license lapsed or inactive five years or less. Failure to comply results in nonrenewal.

Required CE topics for South Carolina licensed practical nurses

The South Carolina Board of Nursing (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersContact hours must be approved by a provider or organization on the Board's list (ACCME, ANCC and ANA accredited providers, AANP, AAFP, any state board of nursing, NAPNES, NFLPN, NLN, CDC, APIC, Joint Commission Resources and others); courses from unlisted providers may be submitted for Board review

Common questions

How many CE hours does a South Carolina LPN/LVN need to renew?
South Carolina licensed practical nurses must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the South Carolina Board of Nursing (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation). S.C. Code Section 40-33-40 and the Board's Competency Requirements document state one requirement for biennial renewal of an active license without distinguishing RN from LPN, so they are the source for both the RN and LPN records. The LPN must document at least one of four options during the licensure period: the CE path is thirty contact hours from a continuing education provider recognized by the Board; the other three options are in alternatives_accepted. One contact hour is 60 minutes and one CEU equals ten contact hours. There is no limit on hours obtained online or by correspondence, an approved offering counts only once per period, and contact hours may not be carried over to the next licensure period. Repeat courses such as BLS, ACLS, PALS, NRP, TNCC and in-service programs count if approved by a listed organization. No subject is mandated for renewal; the Board-approved legal aspects in nursing course is required only for reinstatement of a license lapsed or inactive five years or less. Failure to comply results in nonrenewal.
How often does a South Carolina LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in South Carolina renew every two years. RN and LPN licenses renew biennially on a fixed statewide schedule: the current cycle opened February 1, 2026, with a deadline of April 30, 2026, and licenses renewed then expire April 30, 2028 (Board renewals page), so renewal falls on April 30 of even-numbered years. Renewals submitted after April 30 are subject to reinstatement requirements and additional fees, and the online portal closes May 31 after which a paper reinstatement application with a new background check is required.
Does South Carolina require specific CE topics for licensed practical nurses?
The South Carolina Board of Nursing (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) does not list mandated subject areas for LPN/LVN renewal on the pages we verified; the 30 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do South Carolina licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Contact hours must be approved by a provider or organization on the Board's list (ACCME, ANCC and ANA accredited providers, AANP, AAFP, any state board of nursing, NAPNES, NFLPN, NLN, CDC, APIC, Joint Commission Resources and others); courses from unlisted providers may be submitted for Board review

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Thirty contact hours and the alternatives confirmed in S.C. Code Section 40-33-40 (statehouse site) and the Board's Competency Requirements PDF; the April 30 even-year cycle confirmed on the Board's renewals page (deadline April 30, 2026, expiration April 30, 2028, listed for RN and LPN license types). The Board's CE page carries only links, with placeholder text, so the PDF it links is the operative source. Four-year retention and random audit with a five-business-day response window are stated in the Competency Requirements document. Neither source addresses a first-renewal exemption or prorating. mandatory_topics is empty because no subject is required for renewal.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the South Carolina Board of Nursing (Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.