Maryland Licensed Practical Nurse license renewal and CE requirements
Maryland licensed practical nurses must complete 30 CEUs, which is 30 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Maryland Board of Nursing.
Licenses renew every two years no later than the 28th day of the licensee's birth month. Nurses born in an odd-numbered year always renew in odd-numbered years; nurses born in an even-numbered year always renew in even-numbered years. Online renewal opens 90 days before expiration and stays open 30 days after.
Summary
Maryland licensed practical nurses must complete 30 CEUs, which is 30 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Maryland Board of Nursing. Licenses renew every two years no later than the 28th day of the licensee's birth month. Nurses born in an odd-numbered year always renew in odd-numbered years; nurses born in an even-numbered year always renew in even-numbered years. Online renewal opens 90 days before expiration and stays open 30 days after. Maryland also mandates specific subjects. Implicit bias and structural racism training: a one-time requirement (all applicants renewing a health occupation license; due at the first renewal after April 1, 2026 (nurses who already completed implicit bias training for an earlier renewal attest only to the structural racism component)). Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Maryland Licensed Practical Nurse renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 CEUs |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | 1,000 hours of active nursing practice within the 5 years immediately preceding the renewal application; Completion of a diploma or degree from a Board-approved nursing education program within the 5 years immediately preceding the renewal application; Qualifying college or university coursework related to the applicant's nursing practice with a grade of C or higher (15 CEUs per semester hour) |
COMAR 10.27.01.13 names licensed practical nurses alongside registered nurses in both the renewal schedule (13.B) and the active renewal requirement (13.G), so the LPN requirement is stated in the same text: 1,000 hours of active nursing practice in the preceding 5 years, completion of a Board-approved nursing program in the preceding 5 years, or 30 continuing education units (CEUs) earned within the 2 years immediately preceding the renewal application. Maryland literally counts CEUs, and COMAR 10.27.01.01.B(8) defines one CEU as 1 contact hour of 50 to 60 minutes, so 30 CEUs equals 30 contact hours. Most working nurses satisfy the requirement through practice hours rather than CE. CEUs may not be carried forward into the next renewal period (10.27.01.13.H(6)). A nurse who meets none of the options must complete a Board-approved refresher or preceptorship program before renewal (10.27.01.13.I).
Required CE topics for Maryland licensed practical nurses
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Implicit bias and structural racism trainingThe Board's notice says applicants must attest to completing approved implicit bias training and structural racism training; the courses are required only once. Approved programs are listed by the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. Hours are not stated in the Board notice. | Not stated | One time | All applicants renewing a health occupation license; due at the first renewal after April 1, 2026 (nurses who already completed implicit bias training for an earlier renewal attest only to the structural racism component) | Health Occupations Article Section 1-225; Health-General Article Section 20-1306 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | CEUs must be awarded or approved by an entity listed in COMAR 10.27.01.13.H(5): Area Health Education Centers, ANA, ANCC, professional organizations offering CEUs for APRN certification renewal, a local, state, or national professional nursing association, the Maryland Nurses Association, NCSBN, or the National League for Nursing |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Maryland LPN/LVN need to renew?
- Maryland licensed practical nurses must complete 30 CEUs, which is 30 contact hours, every two years to renew their license with the Maryland Board of Nursing. COMAR 10.27.01.13 names licensed practical nurses alongside registered nurses in both the renewal schedule (13.B) and the active renewal requirement (13.G), so the LPN requirement is stated in the same text: 1,000 hours of active nursing practice in the preceding 5 years, completion of a Board-approved nursing program in the preceding 5 years, or 30 continuing education units (CEUs) earned within the 2 years immediately preceding the renewal application. Maryland literally counts CEUs, and COMAR 10.27.01.01.B(8) defines one CEU as 1 contact hour of 50 to 60 minutes, so 30 CEUs equals 30 contact hours. Most working nurses satisfy the requirement through practice hours rather than CE. CEUs may not be carried forward into the next renewal period (10.27.01.13.H(6)). A nurse who meets none of the options must complete a Board-approved refresher or preceptorship program before renewal (10.27.01.13.I).
- How often does a Maryland LPN/LVN license need to be renewed?
- Licensed Practical Nurse licenses in Maryland renew every two years. Licenses renew every two years no later than the 28th day of the licensee's birth month. Nurses born in an odd-numbered year always renew in odd-numbered years; nurses born in an even-numbered year always renew in even-numbered years. Online renewal opens 90 days before expiration and stays open 30 days after.
- What specific CE topics are required for Maryland licensed practical nurses?
- Implicit bias and structural racism training: a one-time requirement (all applicants renewing a health occupation license; due at the first renewal after April 1, 2026 (nurses who already completed implicit bias training for an earlier renewal attest only to the structural racism component)). Citations: implicit bias and structural racism training (Health Occupations Article Section 1-225; Health-General Article Section 20-1306).
- Do Maryland licensed practical nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. CEUs must be awarded or approved by an entity listed in COMAR 10.27.01.13.H(5): Area Health Education Centers, ANA, ANCC, professional organizations offering CEUs for APRN certification renewal, a local, state, or national professional nursing association, the Maryland Nurses Association, NCSBN, or the National League for Nursing
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- COMAR 10.27.01.13 Renewal of LicenseStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- COMAR 10.27.01.01 DefinitionsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Information Regarding Registered and Licensed Practical Nurses Licensure, Maryland Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- License or Certification Renewal, Maryland Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Implicit Bias and Structural Racism Training Notice, Maryland Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Maryland Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Cycle (biennial, 28th day of birth month, odd/even birth year) and the 30 CEU option confirmed for LPNs in COMAR 10.27.01.13, which names licensed practical nurses expressly, and on the Board's licensure information page, which covers RNs and LPNs together. The Board's renewal page itself carries only process notes and the implicit bias link. The regulation does not state a first-renewal exemption or online caps, so those are null. Renewal is by attestation with random audits; licensees keep CEU evidence for 6 years and must produce it within 30 days of a request. The implicit bias and structural racism mandate applies to all renewing health occupation licensees per the Board's notice page, which does not give hours; third-party sites cite 2 hours but that figure was not read on a Board page. The Board's older mbon.maryland.gov URLs redirect to health.maryland.gov/mbon and are not cited.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Maryland Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.