Skip to main content
CredNet

Maryland Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements

Maryland osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 50 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Maryland Board of Physicians.

A licensee must renew the license every two years. Renewal is online only and closes at 11:59 p.m. Eastern on September 30 of the licensee's renewal year; there is no grace period and no late renewal, and after the expiration date the physician is no longer licensed to practice. The board splits physicians alphabetically across the two years of the cycle: the renewal period that opened July 15, 2026 and closes September 30, 2026 covers physicians whose last name begins with A through L and whose license expires September 30, 2026. By statute the term of a license issued by the board may not exceed three years and the license expires on a date set by the board.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
50
CME credits
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

Maryland osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 50 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Maryland Board of Physicians. A licensee must renew the license every two years. Renewal is online only and closes at 11:59 p.m. Eastern on September 30 of the licensee's renewal year; there is no grace period and no late renewal, and after the expiration date the physician is no longer licensed to practice. The board splits physicians alphabetically across the two years of the cycle: the renewal period that opened July 15, 2026 and closes September 30, 2026 covers physicians whose last name begins with A through L and whose license expires September 30, 2026. By statute the term of a license issued by the board may not exceed three years and the license expires on a date set by the board. Maryland also mandates specific subjects. New Physician Orientation (NPO): required at the first renewal only. Implicit bias and structural racism training: a one-time requirement (applies only to an applicant's first license renewal after April 1, 2026). The first renewal is exempt.

Maryland Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 09/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle50 CME credits
Category 1 minimum25 CME credits
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesAn active time limited certification from an ABMS member board, an AOA certifying board, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the College of Family Physicians of Canada, with proof of maintenance dated no more than five years before the renewal date, is treated as meeting the 50 credit requirement; An accredited training program attended within the two year period: one year of full time service earns 50 CME credit hours and a portion of a year earns 1 credit hour per week; Medical record review performed for the board by a board designee without compensation, up to 10 credit hours per two year period; Up to 5 continuing education credits per renewal period for providing uncompensated, voluntary medical services (Md. Health Occ. 14-316(d)(3))

In the two years preceding the license expiration date an applicant must earn at least 50 credit hours of Category I or II CME, with at least 25 of those being Category I. Activities qualify if they are accredited as Category I or II by the ACCME, or sponsored by an international, national, or state medical society and meeting ACCME standards, or fall within the training program and record review equivalencies listed in alternatives_accepted. The board applies the CME requirement to all renewal and reinstatement applications after the first renewal, so the first renewal after initial licensure or reinstatement is exempt. Carryover of unused credits is not addressed in the regulation and is left null.

Required CE topics for Maryland osteopathic physician (do)s

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
New Physician Orientation (NPO)A licensee applying for the first renewal must have completed a board approved orientation program. The board may defer the requirement for physicians practicing out of state or in cases of individual hardship. No credit hour value is stated.Not statedFirst renewal onlyAll licenseesCOMAR 10.32.01.08M
Implicit bias and structural racism trainingAn applicant for renewal must attest that he or she has completed an implicit bias and structural racism training program approved by the Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Professional Competency Program under Md. Health-General 20-1306. Each health occupations board may allow continuing education credit for the program. No hour value is set in the statute. The board's detailed notice on this requirement is published only as a PDF, which was not read.Not statedOne timeApplies only to an applicant's first license renewal after April 1, 2026Md. Health Occ. 1-225

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for6 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCME must be accredited as Category I or II by the ACCME, or sponsored by an international, national, or state medical society meeting ACCME standards, or come from the accredited training program and board record review equivalencies in COMAR 10.32.01.10C(2). The applicant attests to completion on the renewal form and does not send documents to the board unless selected for audit, but has an affirmative obligation to obtain and keep documentation for the succeeding six years for possible board inspection. Certificates must show the program title, sponsor's name, physician's name, dates and location, the CME category and number of credit hours, and verification of completion. A disciplinary panel may impose a civil penalty of up to $100 per CME credit for failure to obtain the required credits.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Maryland DO need to renew?
Maryland osteopathic physicians (DO) must complete 50 CME credits of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Maryland Board of Physicians. In the two years preceding the license expiration date an applicant must earn at least 50 credit hours of Category I or II CME, with at least 25 of those being Category I. Activities qualify if they are accredited as Category I or II by the ACCME, or sponsored by an international, national, or state medical society and meeting ACCME standards, or fall within the training program and record review equivalencies listed in alternatives_accepted. The board applies the CME requirement to all renewal and reinstatement applications after the first renewal, so the first renewal after initial licensure or reinstatement is exempt. Carryover of unused credits is not addressed in the regulation and is left null.
How often does a Maryland DO license need to be renewed?
Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in Maryland renew every two years. A licensee must renew the license every two years. Renewal is online only and closes at 11:59 p.m. Eastern on September 30 of the licensee's renewal year; there is no grace period and no late renewal, and after the expiration date the physician is no longer licensed to practice. The board splits physicians alphabetically across the two years of the cycle: the renewal period that opened July 15, 2026 and closes September 30, 2026 covers physicians whose last name begins with A through L and whose license expires September 30, 2026. By statute the term of a license issued by the board may not exceed three years and the license expires on a date set by the board.
What specific CE topics are required for Maryland osteopathic physicians (DO)?
New Physician Orientation (NPO): required at the first renewal only. Implicit bias and structural racism training: a one-time requirement (applies only to an applicant's first license renewal after April 1, 2026). Citations: New Physician Orientation (NPO) (COMAR 10.32.01.08M) and implicit bias and structural racism training (Md. Health Occ. 1-225).
Do Maryland osteopathic physicians (DO) have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. CME must be accredited as Category I or II by the ACCME, or sponsored by an international, national, or state medical society meeting ACCME standards, or come from the accredited training program and board record review equivalencies in COMAR 10.32.01.10C(2). The applicant attests to completion on the renewal form and does not send documents to the board unless selected for audit, but has an affirmative obligation to obtain and keep documentation for the succeeding six years for possible board inspection. Certificates must show the program title, sponsor's name, physician's name, dates and location, the CME category and number of credit hours, and verification of completion. A disciplinary panel may impose a civil penalty of up to $100 per CME credit for failure to obtain the required credits.
Is the first Maryland DO renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. Maryland does not require continuing education for a DO's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

Maryland regulates MDs and DOs through one board, the Maryland Board of Physicians, under Md. Health Occ. Title 14. The board's renewal page states the fee applies to medical doctors (MDs) and doctors of osteopathic medicine (DOs) alike, and COMAR 10.32.01 draws no distinction between them, so the MD and DO records carry identical values and cite the same sources. The one narrow exception noted in COMAR 10.32.01.08L is a holder of a restricted license to practice osteopathy, which renews every year rather than every two; that is a separate restricted credential, not the ordinary DO license. The 50 credit total with a 25 credit Category I minimum and the first renewal exemption were read on the board's renewal page and in COMAR 10.32.01.10; the two year cycle and September 30 close were read on the board's renewal page and COMAR 10.32.01.08. Md. Health Occ. 14-316(d)(5) forbids the board from requiring every licensee to complete a specific course as a condition of renewal, which is why the only subject requirements are the statutory implicit bias training and the board's first renewal orientation. The board page names the 2026 window for last names A through L; the alternating half of the alphabet was not stated on the page read, so a licensee whose last name begins with M through Z should confirm the expiration year. The board's implicit bias notice and its annual renewal information sheets are PDFs and were not read. Whether the board prorates a first renewal, and whether unused CME carries over, were not stated in the sources read.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Maryland Board of Physicians before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.