Texas Registered Nurse license renewal and CE requirements
Texas registered nurses must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Nursing.
A Texas RN license always expires on the last day of the nurse's birth month, in odd-numbered years if the nurse was born in an odd-numbered year and in even-numbered years if the nurse was born in an even-numbered year. Renewal is filed in the Texas Nurse Portal, and the renewal application opens on the first day of the month before the expiration month.
Summary
Texas registered nurses must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Nursing. A Texas RN license always expires on the last day of the nurse's birth month, in odd-numbered years if the nurse was born in an odd-numbered year and in even-numbered years if the nurse was born in an even-numbered year. Renewal is filed in the Texas Nurse Portal, and the renewal application opens on the first day of the month before the expiration month. Texas also mandates specific subjects. Nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (all nurses). Human trafficking prevention: required every renewal cycle (any nurse who provides direct patient care). Older adult or geriatric care: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (any nurse whose practice includes older adult or geriatric populations). Forensic evidence collection: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (any nurse employed in an emergency room setting, including nurses who could float to or be scheduled in an ER and contract, temporary, per diem, agency, or travel nurses whose duties include ER work). Hours do not carry over between cycles and the first renewal is exempt.
Texas Registered Nurse renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Achieving, maintaining, or renewing a Board-approved national nursing certification in the nurse's area of practice, in lieu of the 20 contact hours; Academic courses in nursing or directly relevant to the nurse's area of practice (1 semester hour = 15 contact hours, 1 quarter hour = 10 contact hours); Developing and/or presenting a program approved by a Board-recognized credentialing agency (one-to-one credit); Authorship of a published nursing or health care manuscript (1 distinct publication = 1 contact hour) |
Board Rule 216.3 requires every nurse, for each licensure renewal, to complete 20 contact hours of continuing nursing education (CNE) in the nurse's area of practice within the licensing period, or to achieve, maintain, or renew a Board-approved national nursing certification in that area of practice. Targeted continuing education requirements apply on top of that choice, and certification cannot substitute for the nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics hours. Hours must be earned inside the two-year licensing period and additional hours may not be carried over. The board waives the continuing competency requirements, including targeted CE, for the first renewal after initial licensure when the renewal is timely, with the single exception of the forensic evidence collection requirement. Basic Life Support and CPR courses do not count. Volunteer Retired nurses need 10 contact hours instead of 20 and are exempt from targeted CE.
Required CE topics for Texas registered nurses
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethicsAt least 2 contact hours before the end of every third two-year licensing period, so roughly once every six years. Content must cover the Texas Nursing Practice Act, the board's rules including 22 TAC 217.11 Standards of Nursing Practice, board position statements, principles of nursing ethics, and professional boundaries. Counts toward the 20 contact hours. National certification may not be used to satisfy it. | 2 contact hours | Periodic | All nurses | Board Rule 216.3(g) |
| Human trafficking preventionThe course must be approved by the Executive Director of the Texas Health and Human Services Commission and appear on the HHSC approved course list. The board does not state an hour count; contact hours earned may count toward the 20. Applies to renewals on or after September 1, 2020. HHSC revised its training standards in March 2025 and is re-reviewing previously approved courses. | Not stated | Every renewal | Any nurse who provides direct patient care | Board Rule 216.3(i); Texas Occupations Code Chapter 116 (HB 2059) |
| Older adult or geriatric careAt least 2 contact hours before the end of every licensing period, for licensing periods that began on or after January 1, 2014. May cover elder abuse, age-related memory changes and disease processes, end of life issues, health maintenance, and health promotion. Counts toward the 20 contact hours, and a board-approved certification related to older adult care may be used instead. | 2 contact hours | Every renewal | Any nurse whose practice includes older adult or geriatric populations | Board Rule 216.3(h) |
| Forensic evidence collectionAt least 2 contact hours within two years of the initial date of ER employment. Separately, any nurse who performs a forensic examination on a sexual assault survivor must complete basic forensic evidence collection training before performing the exam. This is the only targeted requirement not waived at first renewal. Records of completion must be kept indefinitely. Counts toward the 20 contact hours. | 2 contact hours | One time | Any nurse employed in an emergency room setting, including nurses who could float to or be scheduled in an ER and contract, temporary, per diem, agency, or travel nurses whose duties include ER work | Board Rule 216.3(d); Texas Government Code 420.031 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | CNE must be approved by a credentialing agency or provider recognized by the board, including ANCC, AACN, AANA, AANP, ACNM, ENA, NLN, NAPNES, NALPN, NAPNAP, LVNAT, TLVN, other state boards of nursing, and United States colleges and universities. Human trafficking prevention courses must be on the HHSC approved list. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Texas RN need to renew?
- Texas registered nurses must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Nursing. Board Rule 216.3 requires every nurse, for each licensure renewal, to complete 20 contact hours of continuing nursing education (CNE) in the nurse's area of practice within the licensing period, or to achieve, maintain, or renew a Board-approved national nursing certification in that area of practice. Targeted continuing education requirements apply on top of that choice, and certification cannot substitute for the nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics hours. Hours must be earned inside the two-year licensing period and additional hours may not be carried over. The board waives the continuing competency requirements, including targeted CE, for the first renewal after initial licensure when the renewal is timely, with the single exception of the forensic evidence collection requirement. Basic Life Support and CPR courses do not count. Volunteer Retired nurses need 10 contact hours instead of 20 and are exempt from targeted CE.
- How often does a Texas RN license need to be renewed?
- Registered Nurse licenses in Texas renew every two years. A Texas RN license always expires on the last day of the nurse's birth month, in odd-numbered years if the nurse was born in an odd-numbered year and in even-numbered years if the nurse was born in an even-numbered year. Renewal is filed in the Texas Nurse Portal, and the renewal application opens on the first day of the month before the expiration month.
- What specific CE topics are required for Texas registered nurses?
- Nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics: 2 contact hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (all nurses). Human trafficking prevention: required every renewal cycle (any nurse who provides direct patient care). Older adult or geriatric care: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle (any nurse whose practice includes older adult or geriatric populations). Forensic evidence collection: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (any nurse employed in an emergency room setting, including nurses who could float to or be scheduled in an ER and contract, temporary, per diem, agency, or travel nurses whose duties include ER work). Citations: nursing jurisprudence and nursing ethics (Board Rule 216.3(g)), human trafficking prevention (Board Rule 216.3(i); Texas Occupations Code Chapter 116 (HB 2059)), older adult or geriatric care (Board Rule 216.3(h)), and forensic evidence collection (Board Rule 216.3(d); Texas Government Code 420.031).
- Do Texas registered nurses have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. CNE must be approved by a credentialing agency or provider recognized by the board, including ANCC, AACN, AANA, AANP, ACNM, ENA, NLN, NAPNES, NALPN, NAPNAP, LVNAT, TLVN, other state boards of nursing, and United States colleges and universities. Human trafficking prevention courses must be on the HHSC approved list.
- Is the first Texas RN renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Texas does not require continuing education for a RN's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Nursing Education & Competency, Texas Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Licensure, Renewal Information, Texas Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Continuing Education & Competency FAQ, Texas Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
Hours, cycle, and every targeted CE topic were read on the board's own Continuing Nursing Education and Competency page, which cites Board Rule 216 throughout. The board's page states the same 20 contact hour requirement for LVNs and RNs in a single section titled Requirements for LVNs and RNs, so the RN and LPN records share that source. The Secretary of State administrative code viewer (texreg.sos.state.tx.us) has moved and would not serve the text of 22 TAC 216.3, so the rule is cited by number from the board page rather than linked. proof_at_renewal is set true because the renewal page states that beginning September 1, 2026 nurses must document compliance through the CE Module in the Texas Nurse Portal before submitting a renewal application; the older CE page still says certificates themselves are submitted only on audit. Record retention is six years, stated as three consecutive licensing periods or six years, except forensic evidence collection records which must be kept indefinitely. Requirements listed only for APRNs (pharmacotherapeutics, controlled substances, opioid pain management, Prescription Monitoring Program, tick-borne disease) are excluded because they do not reach RNs without advanced practice licensure.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Texas Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.