Skip to main content
CredNet

Texas Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

Texas physical therapist assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.

PT and PTA licenses expire every two years by the end of the licensee's birth month (22 TAC 341.1). A license may be renewed at any time in the three months prior to its expiration date, or late renewed if it has been expired less than one year with no change in expiration date. The renewal application, fees, a passing score on the jurisprudence examination, and an HHSC approved human trafficking prevention course must be submitted before the expiration date.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
20
contact hours
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

Texas physical therapist assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. PT and PTA licenses expire every two years by the end of the licensee's birth month (22 TAC 341.1). A license may be renewed at any time in the three months prior to its expiration date, or late renewed if it has been expired less than one year with no change in expiration date. The renewal application, fees, a passing score on the jurisprudence examination, and an HHSC approved human trafficking prevention course must be submitted before the expiration date. Texas also mandates specific subjects. Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM): required every renewal cycle. Human trafficking prevention training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle.

Texas Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle20 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesManuscript review (PTAs may submit no more than 2 manuscript reviews, 6 CCUs); Grant proposal (maximum 1 per renewal, 10 CCUs); Teaching (PTA cap 8 CCUs); Clinical instruction (PTA cap 8 CCUs); College or university coursework (1 completed credit hour equals 10 CCUs)

Texas counts continuing competence units (CCUs). 22 TAC 341.2(c) states that for each biennial renewal physical therapists must complete a total of 30 continuing competence units and physical therapist assistants must complete a total of 20 CCUs, and the board's continuing competence page repeats the figure as 20 units for PTAs. For live continuing education one contact hour equals one CCU (22 TAC 341.3), which is why this record uses contact hours. All activities must be completed within the 24 months prior to the license expiration date and must be board approved by an organization selected by the board. Several activity caps are lower for PTAs than for PTs: teaching 8 versus 10 CCUs, clinical instruction 8 versus 10 CCUs, and manuscript review 2 reviews or 6 CCUs versus 3 reviews or 9 CCUs. Chapter 341 states no self-study cap, no carryover provision, and no first-renewal exemption.

Required CE topics for Texas physical therapist assistants

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM)A passing score on the board approved jurisprudence assessment module is required for every PT and PTA renewal, and the board states it is part of the total continuing competence requirement. The number of CCUs the board assigns to the TX JAM is not stated in 22 TAC 341.1, 341.2, or 341.3, or on the board's continuing competence and renewal pages; it appears only on the board's renewal form PDF, which was not read, so hours is null.Not statedEvery renewalAll licensees22 TAC 341.1; 22 TAC 341.2(f)
Human trafficking prevention trainingRenewal requires successful completion of a human trafficking prevention course approved by the executive commissioner of the Health and Human Services Commission, with a minimum of one contact hour. The board lists it on the PT and PTA renewal checklist as part of the total continuing competence requirement.1 contact hourEvery renewalAll licensees22 TAC 341.1

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersAll continuing competence activities submitted to satisfy renewal requirements must be board approved by an organization selected by the board (22 TAC 341.2(b)). Licensees must maintain original continuing competence activity completion documents for four years after the license expiration date (22 TAC 341.2(e)). The Board performs a quarterly continuing competence audit of licenses renewed in the last quarter, and randomly selected licensees must provide documentation; renewing without the required CCUs exposes the licensee to discipline up to suspension or revocation.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Texas PTA need to renew?
Texas physical therapist assistants must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Texas counts continuing competence units (CCUs). 22 TAC 341.2(c) states that for each biennial renewal physical therapists must complete a total of 30 continuing competence units and physical therapist assistants must complete a total of 20 CCUs, and the board's continuing competence page repeats the figure as 20 units for PTAs. For live continuing education one contact hour equals one CCU (22 TAC 341.3), which is why this record uses contact hours. All activities must be completed within the 24 months prior to the license expiration date and must be board approved by an organization selected by the board. Several activity caps are lower for PTAs than for PTs: teaching 8 versus 10 CCUs, clinical instruction 8 versus 10 CCUs, and manuscript review 2 reviews or 6 CCUs versus 3 reviews or 9 CCUs. Chapter 341 states no self-study cap, no carryover provision, and no first-renewal exemption.
How often does a Texas PTA license need to be renewed?
Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in Texas renew every two years. PT and PTA licenses expire every two years by the end of the licensee's birth month (22 TAC 341.1). A license may be renewed at any time in the three months prior to its expiration date, or late renewed if it has been expired less than one year with no change in expiration date. The renewal application, fees, a passing score on the jurisprudence examination, and an HHSC approved human trafficking prevention course must be submitted before the expiration date.
What specific CE topics are required for Texas physical therapist assistants?
Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM): required every renewal cycle. Human trafficking prevention training: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle. Citations: Texas Jurisprudence Assessment Module (TX JAM) (22 TAC 341.1; 22 TAC 341.2(f)) and human trafficking prevention training (22 TAC 341.1).
Do Texas physical therapist assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. All continuing competence activities submitted to satisfy renewal requirements must be board approved by an organization selected by the board (22 TAC 341.2(b)). Licensees must maintain original continuing competence activity completion documents for four years after the license expiration date (22 TAC 341.2(e)). The Board performs a quarterly continuing competence audit of licenses renewed in the last quarter, and randomly selected licensees must provide documentation; renewing without the required CCUs exposes the licensee to discipline up to suspension or revocation.

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The 20 CCU figure was read as a PTA figure twice: in 22 TAC 341.2(c), which names physical therapist assistants explicitly, and on the board's own continuing competence page, which states 20 units for PTAs against 30 for PTs. The birth month expiration and the jurisprudence and human trafficking requirements in 22 TAC 341.1 apply to PT and PTA licensees alike. The board's rules compilation is published only as a PDF at https://ptot.texas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/PTrules_2026.05.pdf and was not fetched under the no-download rule, so the rule text was read on the Cornell LII mirrors of 341.1, 341.2, and 341.3. The Texas Secretary of State administrative code viewer at texreg.sos.state.tx.us now returns a redirect notice pointing to a new portal and served no rule text. The CCU value the board assigns to the TX JAM appears only on the board's renewal form PDF, which was not read, so that value is null here.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.