Texas Occupational Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Texas occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners.
Section 370.1(a) of the OT Rules states that licensees renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month, and a licensee may not provide occupational therapy services without a current license. A license may be renewed up to three months before the expiration date, and may still be renewed while it has been expired less than one year, with late fees. Once a license has been expired one year or more it cannot be renewed and the licensee must apply for restoration under section 370.3.
Summary
Texas occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners. Section 370.1(a) of the OT Rules states that licensees renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month, and a licensee may not provide occupational therapy services without a current license. A license may be renewed up to three months before the expiration date, and may still be renewed while it has been expired less than one year, with late fees. Once a license has been expired one year or more it cannot be renewed and the licensee must apply for restoration under section 370.3. Texas also mandates specific subjects. Training course on human trafficking approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission: required every renewal cycle. Online Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam): required every renewal cycle.
Texas Occupational Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 24 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Not stated |
| Other accepted activities | Supervision of students completing an accredited educational program or re-entry course, for example Level I or Level II fieldwork students; NBCOT Navigator activities, where 1 NBCOT CAU equals 1 contact hour with no maximum (self-reflections, self-assessments, reading list and research portal activities and professional development plans are excluded); Professional or community and service organization presentations by the licensee; Mentorship; Independent studies |
Texas occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants both need at least 24 contact hours of continuing education each renewal period, and unless Chapter 367 says otherwise 1 hour of continuing education equals 1 contact hour. The current Chapter 367 took effect June 1, 2024, and the 24 hour figure took effect September 1, 2019. Activities are either pre-approved (an HHSC approved human trafficking course, or activities approved or offered by AOTA or the Texas Occupational Therapy Association) or must meet the content and category tests in section 367.2. Documentation showing AOTA CEUs is converted by multiplying by ten, so .1 AOTA CEU is 1 contact hour. There is no maximum on contact hours earned from in-service programs, training programs, institutes, seminars, workshops, facility-based courses, internet-based courses, conference sessions and home-study courses with specified learning objectives, so no single self-study or online cap applies, although other categories such as supervision, presentations, mentorship and independent studies do carry their own limits in section 367.2. Section 367.1(b)(4) lets a licensee who submits a complete renewal before the month the license expires count continuing education completed during that expiration month toward the next renewal period. The board lists categories of unacceptable activities, including CPR, first aid, HIPAA, patient privacy, hazardous waste disposal, business meetings, exhibit hall attendance and work-setting orientation.
Required CE topics for Texas occupational therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Training course on human trafficking approved by the Texas Health and Human Services CommissionRequired as part of the minimum hours of continuing education for each renewal period, not once only, since September 1, 2020 under HB 2059. Only a course approved by HHSC counts; an AOTA or TOTA human trafficking course does not unless HHSC has also approved it. The rules set no minimum length: completion of one training course per renewal period is pre-approved for continuing education credit up to a maximum of 2 contact hours, and any hours beyond 2 must independently meet Chapter 367. HHSC must approve at least one course available free of charge. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | 40 TAC 367.1(b) |
| Online Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam)The board lists a passing score on the online Jurisprudence Examination as general renewal requirement 5. It is an open book, 20 question test based on the OT Act and Rules, taken inside the online renewal after the continuing education submission form. The board does not state that the JP Exam earns continuing education contact hours, unlike the physical therapy board's jurisprudence module, so it is recorded here with null hours. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | Not stated |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 4 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Except for the human trafficking course, which must be approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, licensees are not required to take a course approved by any specific entity or pre-approved by the board. Activities approved or offered by AOTA or the Texas Occupational Therapy Association are pre-approved; everything else must meet the content, category and documentation tests in sections 367.1 and 367.2, and the licensee is solely responsible for judging that. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Texas OT need to renew?
- Texas occupational therapists must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners. Texas occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants both need at least 24 contact hours of continuing education each renewal period, and unless Chapter 367 says otherwise 1 hour of continuing education equals 1 contact hour. The current Chapter 367 took effect June 1, 2024, and the 24 hour figure took effect September 1, 2019. Activities are either pre-approved (an HHSC approved human trafficking course, or activities approved or offered by AOTA or the Texas Occupational Therapy Association) or must meet the content and category tests in section 367.2. Documentation showing AOTA CEUs is converted by multiplying by ten, so .1 AOTA CEU is 1 contact hour. There is no maximum on contact hours earned from in-service programs, training programs, institutes, seminars, workshops, facility-based courses, internet-based courses, conference sessions and home-study courses with specified learning objectives, so no single self-study or online cap applies, although other categories such as supervision, presentations, mentorship and independent studies do carry their own limits in section 367.2. Section 367.1(b)(4) lets a licensee who submits a complete renewal before the month the license expires count continuing education completed during that expiration month toward the next renewal period. The board lists categories of unacceptable activities, including CPR, first aid, HIPAA, patient privacy, hazardous waste disposal, business meetings, exhibit hall attendance and work-setting orientation.
- How often does a Texas OT license need to be renewed?
- Occupational Therapist licenses in Texas renew every two years. Section 370.1(a) of the OT Rules states that licensees renew their licenses every two years by the end of their birth month, and a licensee may not provide occupational therapy services without a current license. A license may be renewed up to three months before the expiration date, and may still be renewed while it has been expired less than one year, with late fees. Once a license has been expired one year or more it cannot be renewed and the licensee must apply for restoration under section 370.3.
- What specific CE topics are required for Texas occupational therapists?
- Training course on human trafficking approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission: required every renewal cycle. Online Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam): required every renewal cycle. Citations: training course on human trafficking approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (40 TAC 367.1(b)).
- Do Texas occupational therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Except for the human trafficking course, which must be approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, licensees are not required to take a course approved by any specific entity or pre-approved by the board. Activities approved or offered by AOTA or the Texas Occupational Therapy Association are pre-approved; everything else must meet the content, category and documentation tests in sections 367.1 and 367.2, and the licensee is solely responsible for judging that.
Sources
Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- OT Continuing Education, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy ExaminersState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- OT License Renewal, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy ExaminersState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- Texas Board of OT Examiners, Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy ExaminersState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
- OT Acts and Rules, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy ExaminersState board page, accessed September 9, 2026
Occupational therapy in Texas is regulated by the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, which sits alongside the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners under the Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners and shares the ptot.texas.gov site with it. The two boards have separate rules: occupational therapy is in Title 40, Part 12 of the Texas Administrative Code, and physical therapy is in Title 22, Chapter 341. None of the physical therapy figures were reused: physical therapists need 30 continuing competence units and physical therapist assistants 20, while occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants both need 24 contact hours. Every figure here was read on the board's own pages, which quote the rule text directly, including section 370.1(a) for the two year birth month cycle, section 367.1(b) and (b)(3)(A) for the human trafficking requirement and its 2 contact hour pre-approved credit, section 367.1(b)(4) for the early renewal timing rule, and section 367.3(c) for the four year documentation retention period. The Secretary of State's Texas Administrative Code viewer has moved to an Appian portal at texas-sos.appianportalsgov.com that renders rule text inside a cross-origin frame and did not yield readable text, and the Texas Register archive pages on sos.texas.gov returned HTTP 403, so the rule text itself was read only as quoted by the board. The rules state no ethics continuing education mandate, no category minimum, no first renewal exemption and no carryover of excess hours. Fingerprinting is a one time renewal condition and, from September 1, 2026, a Social Security number is required for issuance, renewal and restoration; neither is continuing education.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.