Skip to main content
CredNet

Mississippi Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

Mississippi pharmacists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy.

Pharmacist licenses renew every year. The licensure period runs January 1 through December 31, and the renewal application must be postmarked or submitted online by December 31. A renewal postmarked or filed after December 31 is rejected and carries a $50 late fee, and a license not renewed by January 1 is invalid, so the pharmacist may not provide pharmacy services until it is renewed. Online renewal also requires the pharmacist to be a registered user of the Mississippi Prescription Monitoring Program.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
15
contact hours
Mandated topics
1
required subject
Last verified
September 11, 2026
11 days ago

Summary

Mississippi pharmacists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy. Pharmacist licenses renew every year. The licensure period runs January 1 through December 31, and the renewal application must be postmarked or submitted online by December 31. A renewal postmarked or filed after December 31 is rejected and carries a $50 late fee, and a license not renewed by January 1 is invalid, so the pharmacist may not provide pharmacy services until it is renewed. Online renewal also requires the pharmacist to be a registered user of the Mississippi Prescription Monitoring Program. Mississippi also mandates specific subjects. Opioid abuse and prevention or another drug of abuse or addiction related issue: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle.

Mississippi Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 12/31 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle15 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum2 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesFull-time enrollment in a recognized school of the healing arts, on proof of enrollment; Continuing education approved by another health care regulatory agency that also licenses the pharmacist

The board states the requirement in hours, not CEUs: fifteen hours of continuing education for each licensure period, and the licensure period is one year. At least two of those hours each year must be a live seminar, and live webcasts count. The continuing education must be obtained in the licensure period preceding the renewal date. The rule sets no cap on home study or online hours and states no carryover provision. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; pharmacy technicians are licensed separately by the same board and are not covered by this record.

Required CE topics for Mississippi pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Opioid abuse and prevention or another drug of abuse or addiction related issueAt least two of the fifteen hours received each year must cover opioid abuse and prevention or some other drug of abuse or addiction related issue. It counts toward the fifteen hour total rather than adding to it.2 contact hoursEvery renewalAll licenseesMiss. Admin. Code tit. 30, pt. 3001, art. IV(1)(B)(ii)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersAll continuing education hours must come from programs approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) or approved by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy before the program is presented. The board will not approve a program after it has been presented, a program attendance at which is expected or required as part of employment, or a program not made available to all pharmacists who wish to attend. Continuing education earned in another state is accepted if it is acceptable to that state's board of pharmacy.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a Mississippi RPh/PharmD need to renew?
Mississippi pharmacists must complete 15 contact hours of continuing education every year to renew their license with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy. The board states the requirement in hours, not CEUs: fifteen hours of continuing education for each licensure period, and the licensure period is one year. At least two of those hours each year must be a live seminar, and live webcasts count. The continuing education must be obtained in the licensure period preceding the renewal date. The rule sets no cap on home study or online hours and states no carryover provision. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; pharmacy technicians are licensed separately by the same board and are not covered by this record.
How often does a Mississippi RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in Mississippi renew every year. Pharmacist licenses renew every year. The licensure period runs January 1 through December 31, and the renewal application must be postmarked or submitted online by December 31. A renewal postmarked or filed after December 31 is rejected and carries a $50 late fee, and a license not renewed by January 1 is invalid, so the pharmacist may not provide pharmacy services until it is renewed. Online renewal also requires the pharmacist to be a registered user of the Mississippi Prescription Monitoring Program.
What specific CE topics are required for Mississippi pharmacists?
Opioid abuse and prevention or another drug of abuse or addiction related issue: 2 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: opioid abuse and prevention or another drug of abuse or addiction related issue (Miss. Admin. Code tit. 30, pt. 3001, art. IV(1)(B)(ii)).
Do Mississippi pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. All continuing education hours must come from programs approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) or approved by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy before the program is presented. The board will not approve a program after it has been presented, a program attendance at which is expected or required as part of employment, or a program not made available to all pharmacists who wish to attend. Continuing education earned in another state is accepted if it is acceptable to that state's board of pharmacy.

Sources

Last verified September 11, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The fifteen hour total, the two hour opioid or drug of abuse requirement and the two hour live seminar minimum appear on the board's own continuing education and pharmacist licensing pages, so the substantive values are on an official host. The full text of Article IV (annual renewal, the December 31 deadline, the $50 late fee, ACPE or board approval, and the five working day deadline to produce evidence on request) was read on the Cornell LII mirror because the board publishes the article only as a PDF, which was not opened. The board does not state a record retention period, a home study cap, carryover, or a first renewal exemption, and it does not mention NABP CPE Monitor anywhere on the pages read, so those fields are null. Registration with the Mississippi Prescription Monitoring Program is a condition of online renewal but is not continuing education, so it is recorded in the renewal description only. NAPLEX and MPJE appear on the board's pages as entry examinations for initial licensure and licensure transfer, not as renewal requirements.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.