Mississippi Dental Hygienist license renewal and CE requirements
Mississippi dental hygienists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.
Dental hygienists renew for a two-year cycle in every even-numbered year, one year off from the dentist cycle. The board's online renewal portal opens September 1 and the license must be renewed by October 31. Renewals filed from November 1 through December 31 are assessed a penalty with no exceptions, and any license not renewed by December 31 is voided on January 1 for failure to re-register. Renewal is online only, and the board emails notice that the portal is open no later than August 31. The board's notice for the 2026 to 2028 hygiene cycle confirms renewal opened September 1, 2026 and that licenses not renewed by December 31, 2026 void.
Summary
Mississippi dental hygienists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. Dental hygienists renew for a two-year cycle in every even-numbered year, one year off from the dentist cycle. The board's online renewal portal opens September 1 and the license must be renewed by October 31. Renewals filed from November 1 through December 31 are assessed a penalty with no exceptions, and any license not renewed by December 31 is voided on January 1 for failure to re-register. Renewal is online only, and the board emails notice that the portal is open no later than August 31. The board's notice for the 2026 to 2028 hygiene cycle confirms renewal opened September 1, 2026 and that licenses not renewed by December 31, 2026 void. Mississippi also mandates specific subjects. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification: required every renewal cycle. The first renewal is exempt.
Mississippi Dental Hygienist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 10/31 each cycle |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 20 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Attendance at official meetings of the approved dental and dental hygiene organizations; Attendance at official meetings of the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners or its committees, up to 4 hours per meeting; CPR, ACLS and PALS certification, capped at 8, 16 and 16 hours respectively per biennium; Administering ADEX dental hygiene clinical licensure examinations, up to 6 hours per day and 3 hours per half day; Calibrating ADEX dental hygiene examination components, up to 3 hours; Instructing board-approved continuing dental education, same credit as participants, once per biennium per course; Other courses or activities approved by the board case by case |
Board Regulation 41 sets the hygienist figure in its own subsection: licensed dental hygienists must complete 20 hours of board-approved continuing dental education per biennial renewal period, while dentists must complete 40. The board's continuing education FAQ states both numbers the same way. The hygienist biennial period runs on the calendar from January 1 of an odd year through December 31 of the following even year, one year offset from the dentist period, and it is also offset from the September to October renewal window. Hours may be earned in person or through virtual, correspondence or other non-in-person formats; the current regulation requires a post-study examination for non-in-person courses but sets no percentage cap on them. Older third party summaries still describe a 25 percent cap on computer-based, video, audio, reading and correspondence work; that language is not in the regulation as amended November 10, 2024, and the board's FAQ does not state a cap, so no cap is recorded. CPR does count here: the board requires every actively licensed hygienist to hold current CPR certification under Board Regulation 45, and it determined at its April 17, 2026 meeting that a licensee with continuous BLS, ACLS or PALS certification may count all the hours allowed under Regulation 41 toward the total, subject to caps of 8 hours for CPR and 16 each for ACLS and PALS. The three hour opioid prescribing requirement in Regulation 41 is written for dentists who prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances and does not reach hygienists. The first biennial renewal period is exempt from continuing education, as are licensees in full-time postgraduate specialty training and licensees whose license was inactive for the period. A hygienist moving from inactive to active status, or reinstating a voided or revoked license, must instead obtain 10 hours in the preceding 12 months and pass the board's jurisprudence examination, and CPR hours may not be used for that.
Required CE topics for Mississippi dental hygienists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certificationEvery dental hygienist holding an active Mississippi license must be currently certified in CPR, and the course must include a hands-on mannequin component. Approved courses include ACLS, PALS, American Heart Association and American Red Cross programs. Mississippi lets the certification count toward the 20 hour CE total, capped at 8 hours for CPR and 16 hours each for ACLS and PALS per biennium. The regulation states no fixed number of required CPR hours, only these ceilings on what may be claimed. Hours earned for CPR may not be used toward the separate CDE needed to move from inactive to active status or to reinstate a license. | Not stated | Every renewal | All licensees | 30 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 2301, R. 1.45, Board Regulation 45; Board Regulation 41, section 4.D |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 3 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses must be board approved. Board Regulation 41 recognizes dental and dental hygiene courses approved by the American Dental Association, Academy of General Dentistry, Mississippi Dental Association, Mississippi Dental Society, National Dental Association, National Dental Hygienists' Association, Mississippi Dental Hygienists' Association, American Dental Hygienists' Association, American Association of Dental Boards, and the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure, plus courses the board approves individually. A course delivered at an accredited dental hygiene teaching institution still needs approval from one of those organizations or from the board. Board approval status must be printed on brochures and completion certificates. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Mississippi RDH need to renew?
- Mississippi dental hygienists must complete 20 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners. Board Regulation 41 sets the hygienist figure in its own subsection: licensed dental hygienists must complete 20 hours of board-approved continuing dental education per biennial renewal period, while dentists must complete 40. The board's continuing education FAQ states both numbers the same way. The hygienist biennial period runs on the calendar from January 1 of an odd year through December 31 of the following even year, one year offset from the dentist period, and it is also offset from the September to October renewal window. Hours may be earned in person or through virtual, correspondence or other non-in-person formats; the current regulation requires a post-study examination for non-in-person courses but sets no percentage cap on them. Older third party summaries still describe a 25 percent cap on computer-based, video, audio, reading and correspondence work; that language is not in the regulation as amended November 10, 2024, and the board's FAQ does not state a cap, so no cap is recorded. CPR does count here: the board requires every actively licensed hygienist to hold current CPR certification under Board Regulation 45, and it determined at its April 17, 2026 meeting that a licensee with continuous BLS, ACLS or PALS certification may count all the hours allowed under Regulation 41 toward the total, subject to caps of 8 hours for CPR and 16 each for ACLS and PALS. The three hour opioid prescribing requirement in Regulation 41 is written for dentists who prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances and does not reach hygienists. The first biennial renewal period is exempt from continuing education, as are licensees in full-time postgraduate specialty training and licensees whose license was inactive for the period. A hygienist moving from inactive to active status, or reinstating a voided or revoked license, must instead obtain 10 hours in the preceding 12 months and pass the board's jurisprudence examination, and CPR hours may not be used for that.
- How often does a Mississippi RDH license need to be renewed?
- Dental Hygienist licenses in Mississippi renew every two years. Dental hygienists renew for a two-year cycle in every even-numbered year, one year off from the dentist cycle. The board's online renewal portal opens September 1 and the license must be renewed by October 31. Renewals filed from November 1 through December 31 are assessed a penalty with no exceptions, and any license not renewed by December 31 is voided on January 1 for failure to re-register. Renewal is online only, and the board emails notice that the portal is open no later than August 31. The board's notice for the 2026 to 2028 hygiene cycle confirms renewal opened September 1, 2026 and that licenses not renewed by December 31, 2026 void.
- What specific CE topics are required for Mississippi dental hygienists?
- Cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification: required every renewal cycle. Citations: cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (30 Miss. Admin. Code Pt. 2301, R. 1.45, Board Regulation 45; Board Regulation 41, section 4.D).
- Do Mississippi dental hygienists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Courses must be board approved. Board Regulation 41 recognizes dental and dental hygiene courses approved by the American Dental Association, Academy of General Dentistry, Mississippi Dental Association, Mississippi Dental Society, National Dental Association, National Dental Hygienists' Association, Mississippi Dental Hygienists' Association, American Dental Hygienists' Association, American Association of Dental Boards, and the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure, plus courses the board approves individually. A course delivered at an accredited dental hygiene teaching institution still needs approval from one of those organizations or from the board. Board approval status must be printed on brochures and completion certificates.
- Is the first Mississippi RDH renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. Mississippi does not require continuing education for a RDH's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Continuing Education Frequently Asked Questions, Mississippi State Board of Dental ExaminersState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- License Renewal Frequently Asked Questions, Mississippi State Board of Dental ExaminersState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Frequently Asked Questions, Mississippi State Board of Dental ExaminersState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- 2026-2028 Dental Hygiene License and Radiology Permit Renewal Information, Mississippi State Board of Dental ExaminersState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- 30 Miss. Code R. 2301-1.41, Board Regulation Number 41, Continuing Education (Cornell LII mirror)Third-party summary, accessed September 8, 2026
Mississippi licenses dental hygienists and regulates them through the same body as dentists, the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners; there is no separate hygiene board or committee. The 20 hour figure was read as the hygienist figure on the board's own continuing education FAQ, which states the dentist and hygienist totals in the same sentence, and again in Board Regulation 41 section 2.C. It was not scaled from the 40 hour dentist total. Hygienists renew in even-numbered years and dentists in odd-numbered years, confirmed on the board's license renewal FAQ and again in the board's own notice for the 2026 to 2028 hygiene renewal cycle. Board Regulation 41 itself is published by the board only as a PDF, which was not fetched; the full rule text was read on the Cornell LII mirror and is cited as a supporting third party source for the exemptions, the CPR caps and the alternative activities. The board does not state a carryover rule, a live or interactive minimum, or a category 1 minimum. Proof at renewal is recorded as true because Regulation 41 makes each licensee responsible for submitting proof of completion of each approved course to the board's continuing education tracking system, in addition to certifying compliance on the renewal itself; records must also be kept three years. The mandatory topic key cpr_certification is not on the canonical topic list in the brief, so a short snake_case key was used.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.