Mississippi Physical Therapist license renewal and CE requirements
Mississippi physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy.
The licensing period is two years running July 1 to June 30. The board issues separate renewal notices for licensees with surnames A-L (licenses expiring in odd-numbered years, such as 2025) and M-Z (expiring in even-numbered years, such as 2024 and 2026). Online renewal is mandatory, opens May 1, and must be processed by June 30 or a late fee and/or reinstatement fee is assessed.
Summary
Mississippi physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy. The licensing period is two years running July 1 to June 30. The board issues separate renewal notices for licensees with surnames A-L (licenses expiring in odd-numbered years, such as 2025) and M-Z (expiring in even-numbered years, such as 2024 and 2026). Online renewal is mandatory, opens May 1, and must be processed by June 30 or a late fee and/or reinstatement fee is assessed. Mississippi also mandates specific subjects. Ethics, professionalism, or jurisprudence: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Hours do not carry over between cycles.
Mississippi Physical Therapist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Same date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 30 contact hours |
| Category 1 minimum | 15 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | No |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Graduate academic coursework (11 CCUs per semester credit hour with grade C or better); APTA-credentialed residency or fellowship (may be exempt from CC hours while enrolled); Exams and assessments such as ABPTS certification or recertification and the FSBPT Practice Review Tool (minimum 15 CCUs applied); Self-study by correspondence, video, or internet from non-certified providers (1 CCU per study topic); In-service education programs (1 CCU each); Presentations to physical therapists or other health professionals (3 CCUs per presentation topic); Research as principal or co-principal investigator (10 CCUs); Professional publications (8 CCUs peer-reviewed, 4 CCUs non-peer-reviewed); Clinical instruction (1 CCU per 40 hours; maximum 6 CCUs per period); Board and committee work (3 to 5 CCUs); Structured interactive study such as journal club (3 CCUs per period); Formal mentorship as mentor or protege (5 CCUs per period) |
Part 3103 Chapter 5, Rule 5.2 sets 30 continuing competence units (CCUs) per two-year licensing period (July 1 to June 30). The board uses CCU and hour interchangeably for course credit (certified activities are credited as awarded; the ethics requirement is stated as three hours), so CCUs are recorded here as contact hours. At least 15 of the 30 CCUs must come from Certified Activities (Rule 5.4.1: FSBPT-standard activities, APTA/MPTA and other APTA components, accredited universities, board-approved programs, graduate coursework, residencies, exams); Approved Activities (Rule 5.4.2, including self-study, in-services, presentations, publications) are limited to 15 CCUs per period. At least 25 percent (7.5 CCUs) must be directly related to clinical practice. No carryover is allowed. Individuals licensed within a licensing period accrue hours on a prorated scale set in writing at licensure. Online courses may be used. Licensees who fall short receive a probationary license for one period.
Required CE topics for Mississippi physical therapists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ethics, professionalism, or jurisprudenceAll licensees must take three hours of study in ethics, professionalism, or jurisprudence per licensing period as part of the 30 CCU total; the board's Continuing Competence page describes these as board-approved hours. | 3 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | Part 3103 Chapter 5, Rule 5.2(3) |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Licensees enter each course and upload the corresponding certificate to CE Broker, then report total hours in the board's licensee portal before the renewal button appears (2024 renewal notice; Rule 5.5 references the FSBPT aPTitude system, which the board has since replaced with CE Broker). The Board randomly selects licensees for audit each licensure period and verifies compliance through CE Broker; no paper certificates are required. Licensees must retain evidence of compliance for the preceding licensure period. Certified Activities include FSBPT-standard courses, APTA and Mississippi PTA courses, accredited university programs, and programs approved by the Board, which publishes an annual list of certified courses. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a Mississippi PT need to renew?
- Mississippi physical therapists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy. Part 3103 Chapter 5, Rule 5.2 sets 30 continuing competence units (CCUs) per two-year licensing period (July 1 to June 30). The board uses CCU and hour interchangeably for course credit (certified activities are credited as awarded; the ethics requirement is stated as three hours), so CCUs are recorded here as contact hours. At least 15 of the 30 CCUs must come from Certified Activities (Rule 5.4.1: FSBPT-standard activities, APTA/MPTA and other APTA components, accredited universities, board-approved programs, graduate coursework, residencies, exams); Approved Activities (Rule 5.4.2, including self-study, in-services, presentations, publications) are limited to 15 CCUs per period. At least 25 percent (7.5 CCUs) must be directly related to clinical practice. No carryover is allowed. Individuals licensed within a licensing period accrue hours on a prorated scale set in writing at licensure. Online courses may be used. Licensees who fall short receive a probationary license for one period.
- How often does a Mississippi PT license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist licenses in Mississippi renew every two years. The licensing period is two years running July 1 to June 30. The board issues separate renewal notices for licensees with surnames A-L (licenses expiring in odd-numbered years, such as 2025) and M-Z (expiring in even-numbered years, such as 2024 and 2026). Online renewal is mandatory, opens May 1, and must be processed by June 30 or a late fee and/or reinstatement fee is assessed.
- What specific CE topics are required for Mississippi physical therapists?
- Ethics, professionalism, or jurisprudence: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Citations: ethics, professionalism, or jurisprudence (Part 3103 Chapter 5, Rule 5.2(3)).
- Do Mississippi physical therapists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal and the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation. Licensees enter each course and upload the corresponding certificate to CE Broker, then report total hours in the board's licensee portal before the renewal button appears (2024 renewal notice; Rule 5.5 references the FSBPT aPTitude system, which the board has since replaced with CE Broker). The Board randomly selects licensees for audit each licensure period and verifies compliance through CE Broker; no paper certificates are required. Licensees must retain evidence of compliance for the preceding licensure period. Certified Activities include FSBPT-standard courses, APTA and Mississippi PTA courses, accredited university programs, and programs approved by the Board, which publishes an annual list of certified courses.
- Is the first Mississippi PT renewal exempt from CE?
- No. Mississippi applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Part 3103 Chapter 5: Continuing Competence, Rules 5.1 to 5.6, Mississippi State Board of Physical TherapyStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 7, 2026
- Continuing Competence, Mississippi State Board of Physical TherapyState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- License Renewal, Mississippi State Board of Physical TherapyState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- 2024-2026 Online Renewal Notice/Instructions (Surname M-Z or expires 6/30/24), Mississippi State Board of Physical TherapyState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
- Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy homepageState board page, accessed September 7, 2026
CCU total, July 1 to June 30 period, ethics hours, certified activity minimum, clinical percentage, no carryover, proration for new licensees, and random audit were read in the board's Chapter 5 rule PDF and match the board's Continuing Competence page. The surname split (A-L expiring in odd years, M-Z in even years) is taken from the board's renewal notice titles and the 2024 notice memo; the renewal chapter (Part 3103 Chapter 4) itself was not readable in the copies fetched. Rule 5.5 still names FSBPT aPTitude for reporting while the board's current page and 2024 notice require CE Broker; the current board instruction is recorded. Retention is stated only as the preceding licensure period, not in years.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the Mississippi State Board of Physical Therapy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.