Skip to main content
CredNet

West Virginia Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

West Virginia pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy.

A pharmacist license expires on June 30 and is renewed every two years. The renewal period opens May 1 and runs through June 30. A renewal received after June 30 costs a one hundred dollar late fee on top of the fee, and a license not renewed by August 31 lapses and requires reinstatement. West Virginia staggers the licensee population: the board renews half of all pharmacist licenses for one year and the other half for two years, and everyone is biennial from then on.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
30
contact hours
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

West Virginia pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy. A pharmacist license expires on June 30 and is renewed every two years. The renewal period opens May 1 and runs through June 30. A renewal received after June 30 costs a one hundred dollar late fee on top of the fee, and a license not renewed by August 31 lapses and requires reinstatement. West Virginia staggers the licensee population: the board renews half of all pharmacist licenses for one year and the other half for two years, and everyone is biennial from then on. West Virginia also mandates specific subjects. Drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every pharmacist, within one year of initial West Virginia licensure). Continuing pharmacy education related to immunizations: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists registered with the board to administer immunizations). Current basic life support certification including CPR: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists registered with the board to administer immunizations). Hours do not carry over between cycles.

West Virginia Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 06/30 each cycle
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle30 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum6 contact hours
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNo
First renewal exemptNot stated
Other accepted activitiesPost-graduate courses in pharmaceutical sciences or other pharmacy practice courses from a United States accredited college, school, or university; Continuing pharmacy education activities granted credit by other states, where that state also accepts West Virginia hours; Developing or presenting an approved CPE activity, credited for the hours of the activity at first presentation; Documented enrollment in a graduate program in a health related field or a health related residency, in place of CPE documentation

Rule 15-3-4.1 requires a minimum of thirty CPE hours every two years, and 15-3-2.10 defines the reporting period as the two year licensure period from July 1 of a given year through June 30 two years later, which coincides with the renewal period, so the continuing education window and the license cycle line up. Six of the thirty must come from a live presentation requiring the pharmacist's direct presence at the activity; the rule sets no cap on home study for the remaining hours. The thirty hours are inclusive of the CPE required for consultant pharmacist registration, pharmacist immunization registration, and the drug diversion training, so those add ons come out of the same thirty rather than on top. Excess hours do not transfer to a future reporting period, and the same activity can only be claimed once per period. A pharmacist may request a waiver for illness, injury, incapacity, retirement, or other extenuating circumstances. A West Virginia licensed pharmacist who lives in another state that requires continuing education and does not practice in West Virginia may renew by certifying to a current valid license in the state of residence instead of reporting the thirty hours. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; pharmacy technicians are covered in series 15-07.

Required CE topics for West Virginia pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substancesAt least two CPE hours, due within one year of receiving the initial license from the board, and part of the thirty hours rather than in addition to them. The course must cover drug diversion, best practice prescribing of controlled substances, and prescribing and administration of an opioid antagonist, and must be on the board's approved drug diversion list; the board requires the WV approval number at renewal. The board's renewal page states the requirement does not apply to a pharmacist who has not administered or dispensed a controlled substance during the entire previous reporting period.2 contact hoursOne timeevery pharmacist, within one year of initial West Virginia licensureW. Va. Code R. 15-3-4.4
Continuing pharmacy education related to immunizationsStated as a minimum of two hours each licensing year for a total of four hours each renewal period, from an ACPE approved provider. Counted inside the thirty hour total under 15-3-4.1, not added to it.4 contact hoursEvery renewalpharmacists registered with the board to administer immunizationsW. Va. Code R. 15-12-3.1.d
Current basic life support certification including CPRA certification, not an hour count. Must be from the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, or another board approved course; the board requires a hands-on component and publishes the approved course list.Not statedEvery renewalpharmacists registered with the board to administer immunizationsW. Va. Code R. 15-12-3.1.c

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalYes
Keep records for4 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersActivities must be from an ACPE approved provider or otherwise approved by the board's Continuing Pharmacy Education Committee. A pharmacist files a list of accredited CPE activities completed in the preceding reporting period on a board form with the renewal application, and the board notifies a pharmacist who fails to file that disciplinary action will follow. Records, receipts, and certifications must be kept for four years and produced to the board on request, and they may be kept in whole or in part in the pharmacist's personal CPE Monitor account, which the rule defines but does not mandate. Fraudulent statements or certificates about CPE are grounds for discipline. The board also requires all licensees to be registered with and maintain access to the West Virginia Controlled Substance Monitoring Program unless a waiver is signed.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a West Virginia RPh/PharmD need to renew?
West Virginia pharmacists must complete 30 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy. Rule 15-3-4.1 requires a minimum of thirty CPE hours every two years, and 15-3-2.10 defines the reporting period as the two year licensure period from July 1 of a given year through June 30 two years later, which coincides with the renewal period, so the continuing education window and the license cycle line up. Six of the thirty must come from a live presentation requiring the pharmacist's direct presence at the activity; the rule sets no cap on home study for the remaining hours. The thirty hours are inclusive of the CPE required for consultant pharmacist registration, pharmacist immunization registration, and the drug diversion training, so those add ons come out of the same thirty rather than on top. Excess hours do not transfer to a future reporting period, and the same activity can only be claimed once per period. A pharmacist may request a waiver for illness, injury, incapacity, retirement, or other extenuating circumstances. A West Virginia licensed pharmacist who lives in another state that requires continuing education and does not practice in West Virginia may renew by certifying to a current valid license in the state of residence instead of reporting the thirty hours. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; pharmacy technicians are covered in series 15-07.
How often does a West Virginia RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in West Virginia renew every two years. A pharmacist license expires on June 30 and is renewed every two years. The renewal period opens May 1 and runs through June 30. A renewal received after June 30 costs a one hundred dollar late fee on top of the fee, and a license not renewed by August 31 lapses and requires reinstatement. West Virginia staggers the licensee population: the board renews half of all pharmacist licenses for one year and the other half for two years, and everyone is biennial from then on.
What specific CE topics are required for West Virginia pharmacists?
Drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances: a one-time requirement of 2 contact hours (every pharmacist, within one year of initial West Virginia licensure). Continuing pharmacy education related to immunizations: 4 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists registered with the board to administer immunizations). Current basic life support certification including CPR: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists registered with the board to administer immunizations). Citations: drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances (W. Va. Code R. 15-3-4.4), continuing pharmacy education related to immunizations (W. Va. Code R. 15-12-3.1.d), and current basic life support certification including CPR (W. Va. Code R. 15-12-3.1.c).
Do West Virginia pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 4 years. Activities must be from an ACPE approved provider or otherwise approved by the board's Continuing Pharmacy Education Committee. A pharmacist files a list of accredited CPE activities completed in the preceding reporting period on a board form with the renewal application, and the board notifies a pharmacist who fails to file that disciplinary action will follow. Records, receipts, and certifications must be kept for four years and produced to the board on request, and they may be kept in whole or in part in the pharmacist's personal CPE Monitor account, which the rule defines but does not mandate. Fraudulent statements or certificates about CPE are grounds for discipline. The board also requires all licensees to be registered with and maintain access to the West Virginia Controlled Substance Monitoring Program unless a waiver is signed.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The board's own continuing education page reproduces W. Va. Code R. 15-3-4 in full, so the thirty hour total, the six live hours, and the two hour drug diversion training are confirmed on an official host, and the board's pharmacist renewal page repeats them and adds the May 1 to June 30 renewal window, the August 31 lapse, and the controlled substance monitoring program registration. The West Virginia Secretary of State's Code of State Rules site serves rule text only as PDF and Word files, which were not opened, so the rest of the rule text was read on Cornell LII and cited as third_party_summary: the definition of reporting period in 15-3-2.10, the methods of acquiring hours in 15-3-5, the four year retention and reporting duties in 15-3-9 and 15-3-12, the immunization hours in 15-12-3, and the June 30 biennial renewal in 15-16-5. Two figures on the board's own pages are inconsistent with each other and with the rule: the renewal page quotes a $120 renewal fee in one place and a $100 renewal fee in the reinstatement text, and 15-16-5.1.1 sets the biennial renewal fee at $100. Fees are not recorded in this dataset, so nothing turns on it, but it is a sign the renewal page text is partly stale. The Secretary of State also shows an In Progress version of rule 15-03 with a modified file filed August 26, 2026; its contents are only in PDF and Word, so what is changing could not be read and no advisory was written. No consultant pharmacist CPE hour figure was found: 15-3-4.1 says the thirty hours are inclusive of consultant registration CPE, but 15-1-19, the consultant rule reproduced on the board's own consultant page, states no hour count.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.