Skip to main content
CredNet

South Dakota Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements

South Dakota pharmacists must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy (South Dakota Department of Health).

A pharmacist license renews every year. The renewal application and fee must reach the board on or before September 30, and the board's pharmacist page states renewals are due annually before September 30. A pharmacist who does not apply and pay lets the license expire, and reinstatement requires all delinquent fees plus a fifty dollar late fee.

Renewal cycle
Annual
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
12
contact hours every two years
Mandated topics
2
required subjects
Last verified
September 10, 2026
12 days ago

Summary

South Dakota pharmacists must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy (South Dakota Department of Health). A pharmacist license renews every year. The renewal application and fee must reach the board on or before September 30, and the board's pharmacist page states renewals are due annually before September 30. A pharmacist who does not apply and pay lets the license expire, and reinstatement requires all delinquent fees plus a fifty dollar late fee. South Dakota also mandates specific subjects. Continuing education related to immunizations: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding board authorization to administer immunizations). Certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding board authorization to administer immunizations).

South Dakota Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleAnnual (12 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 09/30 each cycleFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle12 contact hoursCounted over a two-year window, separate from the renewal cycle.
Self-study or online capNo cap stated
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptNo

The license renews every year but the continuing education window is longer than the renewal period. ARSD 20:51:19:03 requires twelve hours of approved continuing education for each yearly renewal and says those twelve hours must be completed within the twenty-four months before the license expires, so continuing_education.cycle_months is 24 while the license cycle stays 12. The board's continuing education page states the same thing. SDCL 36-11-23.2 caps any single continuing education program at twelve hours in length in one year. Newly licensed pharmacists are not exempt: ARSD 20:51:19:07 prorates them at one hour of continuing education credit per month from the date of registration until the license expires. The board may extend the time to complete hours for good cause under ARSD 20:51:19:03.01. The rules read here set no live hour minimum, no cap on home study, and no carryover provision, so those fields are null. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; registered pharmacy technicians are covered separately in ARSD 20:51:29 and that number was not used here.

Required CE topics for South Dakota pharmacists

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Continuing education related to immunizationsARSD 20:51:19:03 states that a pharmacist with a certification to administer immunizations must complete one hour of continuing education related to immunizations, which may be one of the required twelve hours, so it is not an addition to the total. ARSD 20:51:28:07 repeats it as an attestation for renewing the immunization authorization, which is itself renewed on or before September 30.1 contact hourEvery renewalpharmacists holding board authorization to administer immunizationsARSD 20:51:19:03; ARSD 20:51:28:07
Certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitationA certification rather than an hour count. Attested to when renewing the authorization to administer immunizations; the rule sets no hour value.Not statedEvery renewalpharmacists holding board authorization to administer immunizationsARSD 20:51:28:07(1); ARSD 20:51:28:02(3)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for3 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersHours must come from an approved provider, defined in ARSD 20:51:19:03 as an association, corporation, educational institution, organization, or person accredited by the Accreditation Council on Pharmaceutical Education, or a sponsor approved by the board under ARSD 20:51:19:09. Pharmacists keep their own records of continuing education hours for three years from the program completion date (ARSD 20:51:19:05), and the board audits at least five percent of licensed pharmacists at random each year to verify them (ARSD 20:51:19:05.01). The rules read here do not require NABP CPE Monitor reporting.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a South Dakota RPh/PharmD need to renew?
South Dakota pharmacists must complete 12 contact hours of continuing education every two years to renew their license with the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy (South Dakota Department of Health). The license renews every year but the continuing education window is longer than the renewal period. ARSD 20:51:19:03 requires twelve hours of approved continuing education for each yearly renewal and says those twelve hours must be completed within the twenty-four months before the license expires, so continuing_education.cycle_months is 24 while the license cycle stays 12. The board's continuing education page states the same thing. SDCL 36-11-23.2 caps any single continuing education program at twelve hours in length in one year. Newly licensed pharmacists are not exempt: ARSD 20:51:19:07 prorates them at one hour of continuing education credit per month from the date of registration until the license expires. The board may extend the time to complete hours for good cause under ARSD 20:51:19:03.01. The rules read here set no live hour minimum, no cap on home study, and no carryover provision, so those fields are null. These figures are the pharmacist requirement; registered pharmacy technicians are covered separately in ARSD 20:51:29 and that number was not used here.
How often does a South Dakota RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
Pharmacist licenses in South Dakota renew every year. A pharmacist license renews every year. The renewal application and fee must reach the board on or before September 30, and the board's pharmacist page states renewals are due annually before September 30. A pharmacist who does not apply and pay lets the license expire, and reinstatement requires all delinquent fees plus a fifty dollar late fee.
What specific CE topics are required for South Dakota pharmacists?
Continuing education related to immunizations: 1 contact hour every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding board authorization to administer immunizations). Certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation: required every renewal cycle (pharmacists holding board authorization to administer immunizations). Citations: continuing education related to immunizations (ARSD 20:51:19:03; ARSD 20:51:28:07) and certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (ARSD 20:51:28:07(1); ARSD 20:51:28:02(3)).
Do South Dakota pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 3 years. Hours must come from an approved provider, defined in ARSD 20:51:19:03 as an association, corporation, educational institution, organization, or person accredited by the Accreditation Council on Pharmaceutical Education, or a sponsor approved by the board under ARSD 20:51:19:09. Pharmacists keep their own records of continuing education hours for three years from the program completion date (ARSD 20:51:19:05), and the board audits at least five percent of licensed pharmacists at random each year to verify them (ARSD 20:51:19:05.01). The rules read here do not require NABP CPE Monitor reporting.
Is the first South Dakota RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
No. South Dakota applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.

Sources

Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The September 30 annual renewal deadline is SDCL 36-11-23 and is repeated on the board's pharmacist page. The twelve hour total, the twenty-four month completion window, the immunization hour, and the definitions of approved continuing education and approved provider are ARSD 20:51:19:03 as amended effective September 15, 2025, and the board's continuing education page states the same twelve hours and two year window. Three year record retention is ARSD 20:51:19:05 and the five percent annual random audit is ARSD 20:51:19:05.01. The South Dakota legislature site renders through JavaScript, so the rule and statute text was read through its api/Rules and api/Statutes HTML endpoints, which return the rule text directly; those endpoints are the URLs cited. No jurisprudence, opioid, human trafficking, or other subject mandate for pharmacists appears in ARSD article 20:51, and no carryover provision appears in chapter 20:51:19, so those are left null or empty.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the South Dakota Board of Pharmacy (South Dakota Department of Health) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.