South Dakota Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist license renewal and CE requirements
South Dakota does not require continuing education for CRNA license renewal, which happens every two years.
Licensure as a nurse anesthetist is renewed at the same time as the registered nurse license. An initial license expires on the licensee's birth date in the second calendar year following issuance, and biennially on the licensee's birth date after that. At renewal the nurse anesthetist must show evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. A renewal fee delivered in person or postmarked after the filing date in the board's notice is not accepted and the license lapses.
Summary
South Dakota does not require continuing education for CRNA license renewal, which happens every two years. Licensure as a nurse anesthetist is renewed at the same time as the registered nurse license. An initial license expires on the licensee's birth date in the second calendar year following issuance, and biennially on the licensee's birth date after that. At renewal the nurse anesthetist must show evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. A renewal fee delivered in person or postmarked after the filing date in the board's notice is not accepted and the license lapses.
South Dakota Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Two-year (24 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth date |
| Continuing education required | No |
South Dakota sets no state continuing education hour count for nurse anesthetists. What it requires instead is national recertification, and it names the body: ARSD 20:48:05:06 states that licensure as a nurse anesthetist shall be renewed at the same time as the renewal of the registered nurse license as provided by 20:48:03:09 and 20:48:03:10, and that the applicant for renewal shall show evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. That is a renewal condition, not a state hour count, and the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification program runs on its own four year clock that does not line up with the state's two year birth date cycle. Nothing in the state's chapters converts NBCRNA credits into a South Dakota hour requirement, so no number is recorded here. South Dakota is unusual in that it issues a distinct nurse anesthetist license rather than a single advanced practice registered nurse license with a role designation: ARSD chapter 20:48:05 is titled Licensure of Nurse Anesthetists and stands beside chapter 20:48:03.01 for clinical nurse specialists and chapter 20:48:62 for nurse practitioners. Under 20:48:05:01 an applicant files evidence of completing an accredited advanced practice nurse anesthesia program, evidence of having passed a board approved nationally recognized certification examination specific to nurse anesthesia and of maintaining current certification, evidence of an unencumbered South Dakota registered nurse license or privilege to practice, and fingerprints for a criminal background check. There is no continuing education chapter in force for nurses in ARSD article 20:48.
Required CE topics for South Dakota certified registered nurse anesthetists
The South Dakota Board of Nursing pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | Yes |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | Not stated |
| Board audits compliance | Not stated |
| Approved providers | The board sets no continuing education provider requirement because it sets no hour count. At renewal the licensee shows evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a South Dakota CRNA need to renew?
- South Dakota does not require continuing education for CRNA license renewal, which happens every two years. South Dakota sets no state continuing education hour count for nurse anesthetists. What it requires instead is national recertification, and it names the body: ARSD 20:48:05:06 states that licensure as a nurse anesthetist shall be renewed at the same time as the renewal of the registered nurse license as provided by 20:48:03:09 and 20:48:03:10, and that the applicant for renewal shall show evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. That is a renewal condition, not a state hour count, and the NBCRNA Continued Professional Certification program runs on its own four year clock that does not line up with the state's two year birth date cycle. Nothing in the state's chapters converts NBCRNA credits into a South Dakota hour requirement, so no number is recorded here. South Dakota is unusual in that it issues a distinct nurse anesthetist license rather than a single advanced practice registered nurse license with a role designation: ARSD chapter 20:48:05 is titled Licensure of Nurse Anesthetists and stands beside chapter 20:48:03.01 for clinical nurse specialists and chapter 20:48:62 for nurse practitioners. Under 20:48:05:01 an applicant files evidence of completing an accredited advanced practice nurse anesthesia program, evidence of having passed a board approved nationally recognized certification examination specific to nurse anesthesia and of maintaining current certification, evidence of an unencumbered South Dakota registered nurse license or privilege to practice, and fingerprints for a criminal background check. There is no continuing education chapter in force for nurses in ARSD article 20:48.
- How often does a South Dakota CRNA license need to be renewed?
- Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist licenses in South Dakota renew every two years. Licensure as a nurse anesthetist is renewed at the same time as the registered nurse license. An initial license expires on the licensee's birth date in the second calendar year following issuance, and biennially on the licensee's birth date after that. At renewal the nurse anesthetist must show evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. A renewal fee delivered in person or postmarked after the filing date in the board's notice is not accepted and the license lapses.
- Do South Dakota nurse anesthetists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Proof of completion must be submitted with the renewal. The board sets no continuing education provider requirement because it sets no hour count. At renewal the licensee shows evidence of meeting the recertification requirements of the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- ARSD chapter 20:48:05, Licensure of Nurse Anesthetists, South Dakota LegislatureStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- ARSD chapter 20:48:03, Licensing and Licenses, South Dakota LegislatureStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Renewal Application, South Dakota Board of NursingState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
Both core values were read in the Administrative Rules of South Dakota on the state legislature's own site. The renewal cycle comes from 20:48:03:10, which sets biennial expiration on the licensee's birth date, reached through the cross reference in 20:48:05:06; the absence of a state hour count and the substitution of NBCRNA recertification come from 20:48:05:06 itself. This is the cleanest example in the assignment of a state that requires national certification instead of state hours, and the brief's rule was followed: the NBCRNA credit totals are not imported into hours_per_cycle, because South Dakota does not adopt them as its own requirement. Note that 20:48:05:06 still carries a 1981 reference to the Council on Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists, the NBCRNA's predecessor, while the operative sentence names the National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists. Section 20:48:05:07 pulls in 20:48:03:11 to 20:48:03:14.01 and 20:48:03:18, which cover inactive status and reactivation, lapse and reinstatement, replacement, name change, licensure reporting and emergency suspension. The sdlegislature.gov rule pages could not be read by an automated fetch client, which returned only a browser compatibility notice; the text was read in a real browser at the URLs cited, and both URLs return HTTP 200. The board's own renewal application page was read and states only that RN, LPN and APRN licenses are renewed through the SDBON Nurse Portal, so it carries no figures and none were taken from it.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the South Dakota Board of Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.