Skip to main content
CredNet

South Dakota Osteopathic Physician (DO) license renewal and CE requirements

South Dakota does not require continuing education for DO license renewal, which happens every two years.

Physician licenses renew every two years. A licensee who does not renew on or before March 1 of an odd numbered year forfeits the license. Renewal opens in the licensee's MySD account 90 days before the license expiration date, and the board treats renewal as entirely the licensee's responsibility whether or not a courtesy reminder arrives.

Renewal cycle
Two-year
Same date for every licensee
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 7, 2026
15 days ago

Summary

South Dakota does not require continuing education for DO license renewal, which happens every two years. Physician licenses renew every two years. A licensee who does not renew on or before March 1 of an odd numbered year forfeits the license. Renewal opens in the licensee's MySD account 90 days before the license expiration date, and the board treats renewal as entirely the licensee's responsibility whether or not a courtesy reminder arrives.

South Dakota Osteopathic Physician (DO) renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleTwo-year (24 months)
Renewal deadlineSame date for every licensee, 03/01 each cycle
Continuing education requiredNo

South Dakota does not impose a continuing medical education requirement on physicians as a condition of renewal. SDCL chapter 36-4 (Physicians and Surgeons) sets renewal only in terms of the application form and the biennial fee, and the board's rules for physicians and surgeons (ARSD article 20:47) and its application and renewal procedure rules (ARSD chapter 20:78:03) state no CME hours. The only continuing education language in SDCL 36-4 concerns board member participation and the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, which requires a compact physician to meet the CME rules of the state that issued the license.

Required CE topics for South Dakota osteopathic physician (do)s

The South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a South Dakota DO need to renew?
South Dakota does not require continuing education for DO license renewal, which happens every two years. South Dakota does not impose a continuing medical education requirement on physicians as a condition of renewal. SDCL chapter 36-4 (Physicians and Surgeons) sets renewal only in terms of the application form and the biennial fee, and the board's rules for physicians and surgeons (ARSD article 20:47) and its application and renewal procedure rules (ARSD chapter 20:78:03) state no CME hours. The only continuing education language in SDCL 36-4 concerns board member participation and the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact, which requires a compact physician to meet the CME rules of the state that issued the license.
How often does a South Dakota DO license need to be renewed?
Osteopathic Physician (DO) licenses in South Dakota renew every two years. Physician licenses renew every two years. A licensee who does not renew on or before March 1 of an odd numbered year forfeits the license. Renewal opens in the licensee's MySD account 90 days before the license expiration date, and the board treats renewal as entirely the licensee's responsibility whether or not a courtesy reminder arrives.

Sources

Last verified September 7, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

MDs and DOs are licensed by the same board in South Dakota, the Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners, under one statute (SDCL chapter 36-4, which covers allopathic and osteopathic physicians) and one rules article (ARSD 20:47). The MD and DO records therefore cite the same sources and carry the same values. The two year cycle comes from SDCL 36-4-24.1 (biennial fee) and ARSD 20:47:06:01(2) (biennial renewal of the license, $400); the March 1 odd year deadline comes from SDCL 36-4-24.2; the 90 day renewal window comes from ARSD 20:47:03:13. No CME requirement appears anywhere in SDCL chapter 36-4 or in ARSD 20:47 or 20:78, so continuing education is recorded as not required. The sdlegislature.gov statute and rule pages are a JavaScript application that serves no text to an automated client; the text was read from the same site's JSON endpoints (https://sdlegislature.gov/api/Statutes/Statute/36-4-24.1 and https://sdlegislature.gov/api/Rules/20:47), and the human URLs cited above resolve. The board's physician pages do not state audit practice, record retention, or an approved provider rule, so those fields are null.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the South Dakota Board of Medical and Osteopathic Examiners before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.