New York Pharmacist license renewal and CE requirements
New York pharmacists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Pharmacy).
Pharmacists register with the State Education Department every three years. After initial licensure the Department runs a transitional period of two to three years that ends in the month before the licensee's birth month, so that every registration after that falls in the month of the licensee's birth. Continuing education is counted over the same three year registration period.
Summary
New York pharmacists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Pharmacy). Pharmacists register with the State Education Department every three years. After initial licensure the Department runs a transitional period of two to three years that ends in the month before the licensee's birth month, so that every registration after that falls in the month of the licensee's birth. Continuing education is counted over the same three year registration period. New York also mandates specific subjects. Processes and strategies that may be used to reduce medication and prescription errors: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Pharmaceutical compounding: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Continuing education in areas of practice related to collaborative drug therapy management protocols: 5 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists participating in collaborative drug therapy management). No more than 22 contact hours may be self-study or online.
New York Pharmacist renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Three-year (36 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth month |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 45 contact hours |
| Live or interactive minimum | 23 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | At most 22 contact hours |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | No |
| Other accepted activities | Teaching a continuing education course, countable once during a registration period; The American Pharmacists Association Pharmacy-Based Immunization Delivery certificate program, 20 credits |
New York counts contact hours, not CEUs, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. Section 63.7 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education requires at least 45 hours of formal continuing education acceptable to the department in each three year registration period, of which no more than 22 hours may be self study, which is why at least 23 hours must be live. Newly licensed pharmacists are not exempt in their first triennial registration period: the Department's continuing education page says they owe the full 45 hours with 23 live, and a registration period shorter than three years is prorated at 1.25 hours per month. The regulation states no carryover provision, so that field is null. These are pharmacist figures; pharmacy technicians are a separate credential in New York and their rules were not used. The Department prorates a registration period shorter than three years at 1.25 hours per month, but it does not treat the first registration period as prorated by default, so renewal.first_renewal_prorated is left null.
Required CE topics for New York pharmacists
State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.
| Topic | Hours | Frequency | Applies to | Citation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Processes and strategies that may be used to reduce medication and prescription errorsAt least three of the 45 hours, live or home study. | 3 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | 8 NYCRR 63.7 |
| Pharmaceutical compoundingApplies to registration periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023. At least three of the 45 hours, live or home study. The canonical topic list has no compounding key, so a short snake_case key is used here. | 3 contact hours | Every renewal | All licensees | 8 NYCRR 63.7 |
| Continuing education in areas of practice related to collaborative drug therapy management protocolsAt least five hours, and these hours may not be completed as self study. | 5 contact hours | Every renewal | pharmacists participating in collaborative drug therapy management | 8 NYCRR 63.7 |
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Acceptable sponsors are providers accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, postsecondary institutions offering a registered or accredited pharmacy program, and sponsors approved directly by the Department. Licensees keep their own records for at least six years from the date each program was completed, with the five documentation elements the rule lists, and the Department conducts random audits of those records. Part 63 does not mention NABP CPE Monitor. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a New York RPh/PharmD need to renew?
- New York pharmacists must complete 45 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Pharmacy). New York counts contact hours, not CEUs, so contact_hour_equivalent is null. Section 63.7 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education requires at least 45 hours of formal continuing education acceptable to the department in each three year registration period, of which no more than 22 hours may be self study, which is why at least 23 hours must be live. Newly licensed pharmacists are not exempt in their first triennial registration period: the Department's continuing education page says they owe the full 45 hours with 23 live, and a registration period shorter than three years is prorated at 1.25 hours per month. The regulation states no carryover provision, so that field is null. These are pharmacist figures; pharmacy technicians are a separate credential in New York and their rules were not used. The Department prorates a registration period shorter than three years at 1.25 hours per month, but it does not treat the first registration period as prorated by default, so renewal.first_renewal_prorated is left null.
- How often does a New York RPh/PharmD license need to be renewed?
- Pharmacist licenses in New York renew every three years. Pharmacists register with the State Education Department every three years. After initial licensure the Department runs a transitional period of two to three years that ends in the month before the licensee's birth month, so that every registration after that falls in the month of the licensee's birth. Continuing education is counted over the same three year registration period.
- What specific CE topics are required for New York pharmacists?
- Processes and strategies that may be used to reduce medication and prescription errors: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Pharmaceutical compounding: 3 contact hours every renewal cycle. Continuing education in areas of practice related to collaborative drug therapy management protocols: 5 contact hours every renewal cycle (pharmacists participating in collaborative drug therapy management). Citations: processes and strategies that may be used to reduce medication and prescription errors (8 NYCRR 63.7), pharmaceutical compounding (8 NYCRR 63.7), and continuing education in areas of practice related to collaborative drug therapy management protocols (8 NYCRR 63.7).
- Do New York pharmacists have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. Acceptable sponsors are providers accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, postsecondary institutions offering a registered or accredited pharmacy program, and sponsors approved directly by the Department. Licensees keep their own records for at least six years from the date each program was completed, with the five documentation elements the rule lists, and the Department conducts random audits of those records. Part 63 does not mention NABP CPE Monitor.
- Is the first New York RPh/PharmD renewal exempt from CE?
- No. New York applies the continuing education requirement to the first renewal as well.
Sources
Last verified September 10, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Part 63, Regulations of the Commissioner of Education, Pharmacy, section 63.7 mandatory continuing educationStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 10, 2026
- Pharmacy Continuing Education, New York State Education Department Office of the ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
- Online Registration Renewal, New York State Education Department Office of the ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 10, 2026
Pharmacy is a Title 8 profession under the same New York State Education Department machinery as the other professions in this dataset, and it is on the standard three year registration clock, not a different one. The 45 hour total, the 22 hour self study cap, the medication error and compounding subjects, the collaborative drug therapy management hours, the six year record retention and the acceptable sponsors are read from section 63.7 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education on the Office of the Professions site. The 23 live hour figure, the absence of a first period exemption, the 1.25 hours per month proration and the random audits come from the Department's pharmacist continuing education page. The birth month alignment comes from the Department's online registration renewal page, which says the transitional first period lets the Department adjust the triennial cycle to coincide with the month of the licensee's date of birth. Part 63 sets no separate continuing education requirement for pharmacists certified to administer immunizations, and New York mandates no jurisprudence exam, human trafficking, implicit bias or opioid subject for pharmacist registration renewal.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Pharmacy) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.