Skip to main content
CredNet

New York Occupational Therapy Assistant license renewal and CE requirements

New York occupational therapy assistants must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Occupational Therapy).

A New York license is good for life, but the registration that allows practice must be renewed. Registration periods are three years and are aligned to the month of the licensee's date of birth. The Department mails a renewal application about four months before the registration expires, and online renewal opens in the final five months of the period. The second registration after licensure is a transitional period of between two and three years that ends the month before the birth month, with both the fee and the continuing competency hours prorated for that shorter period.

Renewal cycle
Three-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
36
contact hours
Mandated topics
0
required subjects
Last verified
September 9, 2026
13 days ago

Summary

New York occupational therapy assistants must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Occupational Therapy). A New York license is good for life, but the registration that allows practice must be renewed. Registration periods are three years and are aligned to the month of the licensee's date of birth. The Department mails a renewal application about four months before the registration expires, and online renewal opens in the final five months of the period. The second registration after licensure is a transitional period of between two and three years that ends the month before the birth month, with both the fee and the continuing competency hours prorated for that shorter period. No more than 24 contact hours may be self-study or online and the first renewal is exempt.

New York Occupational Therapy Assistant renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleThree-year (36 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated.
Continuing education requiredYes
Hours per cycle36 contact hours
Category 1 minimum24 contact hours
Live or interactive minimum12 contact hours
Self-study or online capAt most 24 contact hours
Carryover to next cycleNot stated
First renewal exemptYes
Other accepted activitiesIndependent study with a written narrative account and evaluation (3 clock hours equal 1 hour, no more than one third of the requirement); Study in conjunction with supervision of fieldwork education or supervised experience, credited as independent study; Mentorship as mentor or mentee (up to 10 hours per relationship, no more than one half of the requirement, not for activity that is part of professional employment); Publishing a peer reviewed journal article or a textbook chapter on a professional subject (up to 10 hours); Publishing an article in a non peer reviewed or non professional journal (up to 5 hours); Serving as primary or co-primary investigator in research at a registered or accredited program (up to 10 hours); Developing instructional materials such as training manuals, multimedia or software (up to 5 hours); Peer review of a professional journal article or textbook chapter (up to 5 hours, no more than one half of the requirement); Presenting at a professional conference (up to 5 hours in total, no more than one sixth of the requirement); Chairing a professional practice committee of a professional association for at least a year (up to 5 hours, no more than one sixth, counted as a related subject); Participation in a professional study group (2 clock hours equal 1 hour, no more than one half of the requirement); Formal academic study in a registered or accredited program (1 semester hour equals 15 hours, 1 quarter hour equals 10 hours); Employer offered in-service training from an approved sponsor

8 NYCRR 76.10(c)(1)(i) requires at least 36 continuing competency hours during each triennial registration period. The assistant figure was read as its own value: the rule is titled continuing competency for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, names both credentials throughout, and sets no smaller assistant total. New York calls these continuing competency hours. At least 24 of the 36 must have a professional subject as their primary focus, meaning subjects that contribute to competent occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant practice, and the remaining 12 must have a related subject as their primary focus, meaning legal, regulatory, reimbursement, supervision, business practice, pedagogical or other topics contributing to competence or to the health and welfare of the public. No more than two thirds of the requirement, 24 hours, may be completed through self-study from an approved sponsor, so at least 12 hours must be in-person, live online or synchronous online study from an approved sponsor or one of the other listed learning activities. Independent study is separately capped at one third of the requirement and is credited at one hour for every three clock hours. A minimum of 50 minutes equals one continuing competency hour. Registration periods shorter than three years, including the transitional second registration, are prorated at one hour per month. Licensees are exempt for the triennial registration period in which they are first licensed in New York, unless they were previously licensed or authorized in another state or jurisdiction. The Department can adjust the requirement for documented good cause such as poor health, disability, or extended active duty. NBCOT certification plays no part in the New York requirement: Subpart 76 and the Office of the Professions continuing education page never mention it as a substitute, a credit or a renewal condition. One rule is specific to dual registrants: a licensee registered both in occupational therapy and as an occupational therapy assistant completes the occupational therapy requirement once, and that satisfies both registrations.

Required CE topics for New York occupational therapy assistants

The New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Occupational Therapy) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNo, attestation only
Keep records for6 years
Board audits complianceYes
Approved providersCoursework and training must come from a sponsor approved by the Department under 8 NYCRR 76.10(i); the Office of the Professions publishes the approved sponsor list. Independent study, mentorship, study groups, publication, research, peer review, conference presentations and committee chairing are credited without a sponsor but carry the caps listed above. A minimum of 50 minutes of a formal continuing education course or workshop equals one continuing competency hour, one semester hour of credit bearing college study equals 15 hours, one quarter hour equals 10, and one tenth of a CEU equals one continuing competency hour. At renewal the licensee certifies compliance rather than filing certificates. Every licensee must keep a written learning plan recording current and anticipated goals plus a comprehensive list of activities with sponsor name and identifying number, written verification of attendance where attendance was required, date and location, and hours earned. Records are kept at least six years from completion and must be available for the Department to review; independent study, mentorship and study group activities carry extra record requirements of their own.

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New York OTA need to renew?
New York occupational therapy assistants must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Occupational Therapy). 8 NYCRR 76.10(c)(1)(i) requires at least 36 continuing competency hours during each triennial registration period. The assistant figure was read as its own value: the rule is titled continuing competency for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, names both credentials throughout, and sets no smaller assistant total. New York calls these continuing competency hours. At least 24 of the 36 must have a professional subject as their primary focus, meaning subjects that contribute to competent occupational therapy or occupational therapy assistant practice, and the remaining 12 must have a related subject as their primary focus, meaning legal, regulatory, reimbursement, supervision, business practice, pedagogical or other topics contributing to competence or to the health and welfare of the public. No more than two thirds of the requirement, 24 hours, may be completed through self-study from an approved sponsor, so at least 12 hours must be in-person, live online or synchronous online study from an approved sponsor or one of the other listed learning activities. Independent study is separately capped at one third of the requirement and is credited at one hour for every three clock hours. A minimum of 50 minutes equals one continuing competency hour. Registration periods shorter than three years, including the transitional second registration, are prorated at one hour per month. Licensees are exempt for the triennial registration period in which they are first licensed in New York, unless they were previously licensed or authorized in another state or jurisdiction. The Department can adjust the requirement for documented good cause such as poor health, disability, or extended active duty. NBCOT certification plays no part in the New York requirement: Subpart 76 and the Office of the Professions continuing education page never mention it as a substitute, a credit or a renewal condition. One rule is specific to dual registrants: a licensee registered both in occupational therapy and as an occupational therapy assistant completes the occupational therapy requirement once, and that satisfies both registrations.
How often does a New York OTA license need to be renewed?
Occupational Therapy Assistant licenses in New York renew every three years. A New York license is good for life, but the registration that allows practice must be renewed. Registration periods are three years and are aligned to the month of the licensee's date of birth. The Department mails a renewal application about four months before the registration expires, and online renewal opens in the final five months of the period. The second registration after licensure is a transitional period of between two and three years that ends the month before the birth month, with both the fee and the continuing competency hours prorated for that shorter period.
Does New York require specific CE topics for occupational therapy assistants?
The New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Occupational Therapy) does not list mandated subject areas for OTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 36 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
Do New York occupational therapy assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. Coursework and training must come from a sponsor approved by the Department under 8 NYCRR 76.10(i); the Office of the Professions publishes the approved sponsor list. Independent study, mentorship, study groups, publication, research, peer review, conference presentations and committee chairing are credited without a sponsor but carry the caps listed above. A minimum of 50 minutes of a formal continuing education course or workshop equals one continuing competency hour, one semester hour of credit bearing college study equals 15 hours, one quarter hour equals 10, and one tenth of a CEU equals one continuing competency hour. At renewal the licensee certifies compliance rather than filing certificates. Every licensee must keep a written learning plan recording current and anticipated goals plus a comprehensive list of activities with sponsor name and identifying number, written verification of attendance where attendance was required, date and location, and hours earned. Records are kept at least six years from completion and must be available for the Department to review; independent study, mentorship and study group activities carry extra record requirements of their own.
Is the first New York OTA renewal exempt from CE?
Yes. New York does not require continuing education for a OTA's first renewal.

Sources

Last verified September 9, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

New York regulates occupational therapy through the State Education Department Office of the Professions and the State Board for Occupational Therapy, the same agency that handles physical therapy, medicine and nursing. Unlike New York medicine and nursing, which carry no continuing education requirement in this dataset, occupational therapy assistants do have one, so this record was read rather than assumed from the New York pattern. The assistant total was confirmed separately: 8 NYCRR 76.10 is headed continuing competency for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, its definitions of professional and related subjects each spell out the occupational therapy assistant case, and every hour figure in subdivision (c) applies to both credentials with no assistant specific reduction. The Office of the Professions continuing education page likewise addresses occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants together at 36 hours. Where the rules do treat assistants differently is elsewhere in Subpart 76: section 76.8 sets supervision of occupational therapy assistants, which is a practice requirement and not continuing education. Registration renewal for both credentials is triennial and aligned to the licensee's birth month per the Office's online registration renewal page. Occupational therapy is not on the Office's list of professions that must complete mandated child abuse identification and reporting training, so mandatory_topics is empty. The regulation states no carryover provision.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Occupational Therapy) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.