New York Physical Therapist Assistant license renewal and CE requirements
New York physical therapist assistants must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Physical Therapy).
A New York license is good for life, but a physical therapist assistant must hold a current registration to practice, and registration is renewed every three years. The first registration runs three years from licensure; the Department then sets a transitional second period of two to three years that ends the month before the licensee's month of birth, so later renewals fall in the birth month. A renewal application is mailed about four months before the registration expires.
Summary
New York physical therapist assistants must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Physical Therapy). A New York license is good for life, but a physical therapist assistant must hold a current registration to practice, and registration is renewed every three years. The first registration runs three years from licensure; the Department then sets a transitional second period of two to three years that ends the month before the licensee's month of birth, so later renewals fall in the birth month. A renewal application is mailed about four months before the registration expires. The first renewal is exempt.
New York Physical Therapist Assistant renewal and continuing education rules
"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.
| Renewal cycle | Three-year (36 months) |
|---|---|
| Renewal deadline | Tied to the licensee's birth monthFirst renewal is prorated. |
| Continuing education required | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 36 contact hours |
| Self-study or online cap | No cap stated |
| Carryover to next cycle | Not stated |
| First renewal exempt | Yes |
| Other accepted activities | Preparing and teaching a course offered by an approved sponsor (instructional time plus up to two preparation hours per hour of presentation); Preparing and teaching a course relating to physical therapy at a higher education institution; Making a technical presentation at a conference sponsored by an approved sponsor; Achieving a specialty certification or recertification from an entity acceptable to the department; Completing a self-study program from an approved sponsor; Authoring an article in a peer-reviewed journal or a published book; Passing a department-approved examination on New York laws, rules, and regulations relating to physical therapy practice (2 hours) |
Section 77.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner is titled continuing education for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants and applies the same requirement to both: during each triennial registration period an applicant for registration completes at least 36 hours of continuing education acceptable to the department, so the physical therapist assistant requirement matches the physical therapist requirement. The Office of the Professions page for physical therapist assistants states the same figure and traces it to Chapter 207 of the Laws of 2008. A licensee is exempt for the triennial registration period during which they are first licensed, and a licensee not registered to practice is exempt while unregistered. Any registration period shorter than three years is prorated at one hour of continuing education per month. A minimum of 50 minutes equals one continuing education hour for courses. Self-study from an approved sponsor is acceptable with no stated cap. A mandatory continuing education fee of $45 is collected at the beginning of each registration period from licensees engaged in practice.
Required CE topics for New York physical therapist assistants
The New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Physical Therapy) pages and rules we read do not mandate specific subject areas for this license type. Hours may be in any approved subject.
Documentation and audit
| Proof submitted at renewal | No, attestation only |
|---|---|
| Keep records for | 6 years |
| Board audits compliance | Yes |
| Approved providers | Courses of learning and self-study programs must come from a sponsor approved by the department. Section 77.10(i) deems approved a national physical therapy organization, a New York State physical therapy organization acceptable to the department, a national organization of jurisdictional physical therapy boards, an entity, hospital, or health facility defined in section 2801 of the Public Health Law, and a higher education institution; other organizations apply for a three-year approval. At re-registration the licensee certifies compliance rather than sending certificates. Each licensee keeps a record of completed continuing education, including titles, subjects, hours, sponsor names, and attendance or participation verification, for at least six years from the date of completion and makes it available for review by the department. |
Common questions
- How many CE hours does a New York PTA need to renew?
- New York physical therapist assistants must complete 36 contact hours of continuing education every three years to renew their license with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Physical Therapy). Section 77.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner is titled continuing education for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants and applies the same requirement to both: during each triennial registration period an applicant for registration completes at least 36 hours of continuing education acceptable to the department, so the physical therapist assistant requirement matches the physical therapist requirement. The Office of the Professions page for physical therapist assistants states the same figure and traces it to Chapter 207 of the Laws of 2008. A licensee is exempt for the triennial registration period during which they are first licensed, and a licensee not registered to practice is exempt while unregistered. Any registration period shorter than three years is prorated at one hour of continuing education per month. A minimum of 50 minutes equals one continuing education hour for courses. Self-study from an approved sponsor is acceptable with no stated cap. A mandatory continuing education fee of $45 is collected at the beginning of each registration period from licensees engaged in practice.
- How often does a New York PTA license need to be renewed?
- Physical Therapist Assistant licenses in New York renew every three years. A New York license is good for life, but a physical therapist assistant must hold a current registration to practice, and registration is renewed every three years. The first registration runs three years from licensure; the Department then sets a transitional second period of two to three years that ends the month before the licensee's month of birth, so later renewals fall in the birth month. A renewal application is mailed about four months before the registration expires.
- Does New York require specific CE topics for physical therapist assistants?
- The New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Physical Therapy) does not list mandated subject areas for PTA renewal on the pages we verified; the 36 contact hours may be in any approved subject.
- Do New York physical therapist assistants have to submit CE certificates at renewal?
- Licensees attest to completion at renewal rather than submitting certificates, the board audits a sample of renewals and asks for documentation, and records must be kept for 6 years. Courses of learning and self-study programs must come from a sponsor approved by the department. Section 77.10(i) deems approved a national physical therapy organization, a New York State physical therapy organization acceptable to the department, a national organization of jurisdictional physical therapy boards, an entity, hospital, or health facility defined in section 2801 of the Public Health Law, and a higher education institution; other organizations apply for a three-year approval. At re-registration the licensee certifies compliance rather than sending certificates. Each licensee keeps a record of completed continuing education, including titles, subjects, hours, sponsor names, and attendance or participation verification, for at least six years from the date of completion and makes it available for review by the department.
- Is the first New York PTA renewal exempt from CE?
- Yes. New York does not require continuing education for a PTA's first renewal.
Sources
Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.
- Regulations of the Commissioner, Part 77 Physical Therapy, section 77.10 Continuing education for physical therapists and physical therapist assistantsStatute or administrative rule, accessed September 8, 2026
- Continuing Education for Physical Therapist Assistants, NYSED Office of the ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
- Online Registration Renewal, NYSED Office of the ProfessionsState board page, accessed September 8, 2026
New York applies one continuing education rule to both credentials, and section 77.10 says so in its title and in its applicability paragraph, which names each licensed physical therapist and licensed physical therapist assistant. The Office of the Professions maintains a separate physical therapist assistant continuing education page that states the same 36 hours per three-year registration period. The triennial cycle and the birth-month alignment through a transitional second registration period were read on the Office of the Professions registration renewal page. New York states no subject mandates for physical therapist assistants in section 77.10; the New York laws and rules examination is an optional activity worth 2 hours, not a requirement, so mandatory_topics is empty. Section 77.10 sets no cap on self-study and does not address carryover, so those fields are null. Part 77 uses the word certification in the sections on professional study for assistants, but Article 136 and section 77.10 refer to licensed physical therapist assistants and registration, so the credential is recorded as a license.
Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions (State Board for Physical Therapy) before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.