Skip to main content
CredNet

New York Nurse Practitioner license renewal and CE requirements

New York does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every three years.

New York certifies rather than separately licenses the nurse practitioner: the NP certification is layered on a registered professional nurse license, and the registration certificate that authorizes practice as an NP runs for three years. You must renew both the NP registration and the RN registration to keep practicing. The Office of the Professions mails renewal information to your address on file about four months before the registration expires, and online renewal opens in the final five months of the current period and remains available for up to four months after it ends. The Office of the Professions sets the registration period to the licensee's month of birth: the second registration after licensure is a pro-rated transitional period that ends with the month prior to the date of birth, which the Department states is what allows it to adjust the triennial registration cycle to coincide with the month of date of birth. Renewal is therefore due in the licensee's birth month every three years.

Renewal cycle
Three-year
Tied to the licensee's birth month
CE per cycle
None
no CE requirement
Mandated topics
3
required subjects
Last verified
September 8, 2026
14 days ago

Summary

New York does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every three years. New York certifies rather than separately licenses the nurse practitioner: the NP certification is layered on a registered professional nurse license, and the registration certificate that authorizes practice as an NP runs for three years. You must renew both the NP registration and the RN registration to keep practicing. The Office of the Professions mails renewal information to your address on file about four months before the registration expires, and online renewal opens in the final five months of the current period and remains available for up to four months after it ends. The Office of the Professions sets the registration period to the licensee's month of birth: the second registration after licensure is a pro-rated transitional period that ends with the month prior to the date of birth, which the Department states is what allows it to adjust the triennial registration cycle to coincide with the month of date of birth. Renewal is therefore due in the licensee's birth month every three years. New York also mandates specific subjects. Coursework or training in infection control and barrier precautions to prevent transmission of HIV and hepatitis B: required on a periodic schedule set by the board. Coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment: a one-time requirement of 2 hours (registered nurses at initial licensure; graduates of New York registered licensure-qualifying programs after September 1, 1990 are treated as having met it). Mandatory prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addiction: 3 hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (only prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law to treat humans who hold a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances).

New York Nurse Practitioner renewal and continuing education rules

"Not stated" means the board's pages and rules we read do not address it. We do not fill in typical values.

Renewal cycleThree-year (36 months)
Renewal deadlineTied to the licensee's birth month
Continuing education requiredNo

New York sets no continuing education hour count for nurse practitioners, and none for registered professional nurses either, so there is no layered hour requirement to add up here. The Office of the Professions page that lists the professions with mandatory continuing education names 31 professions and neither nurse practitioner, registered professional nursing nor physician assistant is among them. What New York does impose is specific mandated coursework rather than an hour total: infection control and barrier precautions training every four years, child abuse identification and reporting coursework once before the underlying RN license is issued, and, for a nurse practitioner who holds a DEA registration to prescribe controlled substances, three hours of prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addiction every three years under Public Health Law 3309-a(3). Those are recorded in mandatory_topics. Current national certification from a certifying organization acceptable to the department is required to hold the NP certificate, so a nurse practitioner still meets the certifying body's own recertification requirements; the department accepts certification from bodies including the American Academy of Nurse Practitioner Certification Board, the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the National Certification Corporation, the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation and the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board.

Required CE topics for New York nurse practitioners

State-specific subject mandates. Where a mandate applies only to some licensees, the scope is listed.

TopicHoursFrequencyApplies toCitation
Coursework or training in infection control and barrier precautions to prevent transmission of HIV and hepatitis BRegistered nurses, licensed practical nurses, dentists, dental hygienists, optometrists, podiatrists and (effective December 22, 2025) athletic trainers must complete approved infection control coursework every four years. A nurse practitioner meets it through the registered professional nurse license. No hour count is stated; the requirement is completion of approved coursework.Not statedPeriodicAll licenseesEducation Law 6505-b
Coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatmentTwo hours of coursework, a one time requirement for registered nurses rather than a recurring one. Amendments in 2021 and 2024 added content on implicit bias, adverse childhood experiences, virtual interaction protocols, and identifying abuse of children with intellectual or developmental disabilities, with updated curricula required by April 1, 2025 and November 17, 2026.2 hoursOne timeRegistered nurses at initial licensure; graduates of New York registered licensure-qualifying programs after September 1, 1990 are treated as having met itSocial Services Law 413
Mandatory prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addictionAt least three hours of course work or training once every three years. Administered by the Department of Health rather than by the Education Department. Frequency is recorded as periodic because the three year interval is set independently of the registration period even though the two happen to match.3 hoursPeriodicOnly prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law to treat humans who hold a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substancesPublic Health Law 3309-a(3)

Documentation and audit

Proof submitted at renewalNot stated
Keep records forNot stated
Board audits complianceNot stated

Common questions

How many CE hours does a New York NP need to renew?
New York does not require continuing education for NP license renewal, which happens every three years. New York sets no continuing education hour count for nurse practitioners, and none for registered professional nurses either, so there is no layered hour requirement to add up here. The Office of the Professions page that lists the professions with mandatory continuing education names 31 professions and neither nurse practitioner, registered professional nursing nor physician assistant is among them. What New York does impose is specific mandated coursework rather than an hour total: infection control and barrier precautions training every four years, child abuse identification and reporting coursework once before the underlying RN license is issued, and, for a nurse practitioner who holds a DEA registration to prescribe controlled substances, three hours of prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addiction every three years under Public Health Law 3309-a(3). Those are recorded in mandatory_topics. Current national certification from a certifying organization acceptable to the department is required to hold the NP certificate, so a nurse practitioner still meets the certifying body's own recertification requirements; the department accepts certification from bodies including the American Academy of Nurse Practitioner Certification Board, the American Association of Critical Care Nurses, the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the National Certification Corporation, the Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation and the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board.
How often does a New York NP license need to be renewed?
Nurse Practitioner licenses in New York renew every three years. New York certifies rather than separately licenses the nurse practitioner: the NP certification is layered on a registered professional nurse license, and the registration certificate that authorizes practice as an NP runs for three years. You must renew both the NP registration and the RN registration to keep practicing. The Office of the Professions mails renewal information to your address on file about four months before the registration expires, and online renewal opens in the final five months of the current period and remains available for up to four months after it ends. The Office of the Professions sets the registration period to the licensee's month of birth: the second registration after licensure is a pro-rated transitional period that ends with the month prior to the date of birth, which the Department states is what allows it to adjust the triennial registration cycle to coincide with the month of date of birth. Renewal is therefore due in the licensee's birth month every three years.
What specific CE topics are required for New York nurse practitioners?
Coursework or training in infection control and barrier precautions to prevent transmission of HIV and hepatitis B: required on a periodic schedule set by the board. Coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment: a one-time requirement of 2 hours (registered nurses at initial licensure; graduates of New York registered licensure-qualifying programs after September 1, 1990 are treated as having met it). Mandatory prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addiction: 3 hours on a periodic schedule set by the board (only prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law to treat humans who hold a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances). Citations: coursework or training in infection control and barrier precautions to prevent transmission of HIV and hepatitis B (Education Law 6505-b), coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment (Social Services Law 413), and mandatory prescriber education in pain management, palliative care and addiction (Public Health Law 3309-a(3)).

Sources

Last verified September 8, 2026. Every value above was read from one of these.

The three year NP registration and the requirement to renew the RN registration alongside it were read on the department's nurse practitioner requirements page. The absence of a continuing education hour requirement was confirmed positively rather than by silence: the Office of the Professions page listing every profession with mandatory continuing education names 31 professions and nurse practitioner, registered professional nursing and physician assistant are all absent from it. Each mandated training was read on its own department page. The prescriber education page discusses physicians by name but states its scope as prescribers licensed under Title 8 of the Education Law who hold a DEA registration, which reaches nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority; the page does not enumerate the professions, so the applies_to field repeats the statutory scope rather than naming nurse practitioners. The child abuse page states the requirement is one time for registered nurses; it does not separately address the nurse practitioner certificate. Basis is recorded as other because New York registration periods are keyed to the registration cycle the department assigns rather than to a birth date or a common statewide date. Renewal basis corrected 2026-09-10 from other to birth_month. NYSED's online registration renewal page states that the transitional second registration period ends with the month prior to the licensee's date of birth and that this allows the Department to adjust the triennial registration cycle to coincide with the month of date of birth. That machinery is department-wide, and the New York records for physical therapy, occupational therapy, dentistry, nurse anesthesia and nurse-midwifery already recorded birth_month on the same basis. This record previously said other, which was an inconsistency in our data rather than a difference between the professions.

Provided for general reference. Requirements change through legislative sessions and rulemaking, so confirm with the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Nursing before relying on them for a renewal. Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.